We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Westport”
Review of Clew Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clew Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Ratoath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend in Westport”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I stayed in the Clewbay Hotel in Westport last weekend and had a lovely time. The staff were very good, most obliging and friendly. Rooms were clean and bright. Breakfast was very good but the dinner on Saturday evening was second to none. I would recommend this hotel to anybody visiting the general area of Westport.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dommo1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    318
    70
    31
    14
See reviews for
164
464
40
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

stayed 2nights in Clew Bay & at 50euro a night you couldnt ask for anymore,the room was a grand size,clean,warm & comfie beds,the staff were great & were always on hand if you needed anything,they dont have a car park but theres a public car park right next door & the hotel will give you a premit,2 nights parking was 6euro which was great,for your 50euro you get breakfast which was lovely the menu had every thing you could want,the food at the bar was well priced & was lovely as was the beer,the night life was walking distance from the hotel so there was no need to be getting taxis,there was a leisure centre available to us but we didnt use it,next time im heading to Westport this hotel will be the 1st place ill try & book,thanks to all the staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MILLER1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, staff were excellent, so helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable and warm with all the amenities. Food was lovely and again service was excellent, would highly recommend and will stay again soon

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CNDemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This hotel was great such pleasent staff on arrival and so helpfull the room was lovely and no fear of being cold heating was on majority of time had to turn down setting a little as it was a little to warm the hotel was quiet and provided entertainment at night we got use of the leisure centre at the corner of hotel used sauna and heat room lovely people very chatty would definatly stay there again breakfast in the morning included in room price was lovely and good variety to choose from

Room Tip: side room let in the sun was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 66rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Rachel,

We are so glad that you & your partner enjoyed your stay with us over Valentines, and that you got the most out of the complimentary use of the adjacent Westport Leisure Park to the hotel. Our full Irish breakfast and buffet options are highly prized by guests: we are so glad you enjoyed the food.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Very best wishes,

Neil
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballyshannon, Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

im from the city of dublin and now liveing 14 years in donegal at the weekend i was taken for a treet to westport i stayed at the clew bay hotel we got there just after 1 and were allowed to book in the staff was next to none there manner and a lovely smile it was a great start to the weekend told where to go what we coould do the lot that evening we had a meal there witch was fab tea coffee milk and sugars in the room and when wanting more it was brought up to us the town was stoplist more than i can say about some well it was my frist but it wont be my last i will recomment it to a lot of friends who want to fly went we have it all at home take a trip to west port you will go back keep up the good work a million thanks to you all at the clew bay hotel PS DONT FORGET THE RESCIPE FOR THERE BROWN BREAD ITS IN THE DINNING ROOM

Room Tip: all rooms aer fab dont worry what one you are givein
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniewatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Hi Jenni,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Hope that your version of our brown bread receipe turned out as well as ours does!

Looking forward to having you back with us again very soon.

Very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2013

stayed 2 nights, Thurs to Sat, we were 8 in all, active seniors,staff most welcoming and Karen took care of our needs superbly, she organised a Treasure Hunt of the town and environs which was a load of fun, we were required to interact with the Locals(coveys)and met very friendly and interesting people on our journey.On Friday we hired bikes( already booked for us by the Hotel)we had a superb day on the Greenway from Achill to Westport, electric bikes which were easy to navigate, definitely a winner! our wait staff excellent and the Bistro served really good local food.Will certainly be back and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ursula Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Ursula,

Thank you for your warm comments about our hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will pass on your special note of thanks to my colleague Karen, who organised your treasure hunt activities around Westport town.

The Greenway and the cycling opportunities that it affords are one of the 'jewels in the crown' of the town.

We are glad you enjoyed the food in the bistro restaurant, and that the waiting staff were prompt and courteous. I will pass on your thanks to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Yours,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
1,429 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
895 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,043 reviews
0.7 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clew Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Property: Clew Bay Hotel
Address: Clew Bay Hotel James Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#1 Best Value Hotel in Westport
#1 Spa Hotel in Westport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#7 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing