We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clew Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westport Country Lodge Hotel(Westport)(Great Value!)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$231
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Westport(Westport)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wyatt Hotel(Westport)(Great Value!)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,173)
Filter reviews
1,173 results
Traveller rating
656
378
87
36
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
656
378
87
36
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclew baymaddens bistroleisure centre next doorpublic car parkgreat hotelper daycentre of towncentral locationdouble bedwould stay againone night stayvery pleasant staytwo nightsroom was spaciousfamily roomfull irishwould highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
796 - 801 of 1,173 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The reception area is nice, the receptionist was top notch she knew we had a dog in the car organized a room where we could see the it, very thoughtful and created a good impression. Place was busy with a writers festival but service in bar and bistro was very pleasant. This hotel is superbly located in the centre of town, very safe, cheap public car park right next door out bar entrance. As an old style AA 3 star hotel it hits well above that, well worth a visit if only for the charm of the staff. Excellent Breakfast Porridge and Kippers two of my favourites which many 5 stars can't do.

Room Tip: The room we had overlooked the Car Park there was certainly no issues with it There are probably a number of different options and types which arn't shown on website I would ask if you have a preference i dont think any of the staff i met would mislead you.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Terry H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review of your recent stay with us.

I personally thank you too for the kind words you wrote in your email!

It's good to read that our reception colleagues were able to accommodate your rooming requests, and that you found your room pleasant and comfortable.

As you mention for a town centre location hotel we have the use of an adjoining public car park which represents excellent value for a day's car parking.

The quality and range of our breakfast service is well known, and we are glad you enjoyed your tasty kippers!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Clew Bay Hotel again very soon.

Yours,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

very cosy.. central to town, walking distance to Westport harbour / house / clew bay bike hire. bike hire is cheaper done through hotel!!..friendly staff ...good food...requested quiet room away from traffic and request was granted..cant rem exactly but I think double room cost same as single room, so maybe hotels (in general) should scrap the single supplement...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Caroline M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review of your recent stay with us here at the Clew Bay Hotel. And most of all that you had a great time!

We were glad we could fulfil your room request. Regarding your comment on single room prices: often on busy nights and Saturday's we do not have any single room occupancy, so we sell a double or twin. The cost for a single occupancy of a double or twin room is very similar due to the fact that the room service costs are little different, and of course you are getting a more spacious room too. We are a popular hotel, and our rates are very competitively priced.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Clew Bay Hotel again in the near future.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed here for three nights in November and really enjoyed it. The price was fantastic for the quality of the hotel. The staff were very friendly and so helpful. Having a pint in the bar and listening to the conversation between Donna(she was brilliant) and some of the locals especially Ivan, was like listening to a play. John B Keane or Billy Roche would have found it hard to write the script for that conversation.... Priceless. I thought the hotel was a little hard to find and passed it twice before seeing the small sign with the name on it and the sign in the car park needs to be repainted but that is the only negative I could say about this hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richie_Wex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Titch1955,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us: especially the craic in the bar! I have passed on your kind words to my colleague Donna.

We note your points about the signage into the hotel car park and the signage to the rear of the building in the car park itself.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant experience at the Clew Bay in the near future!

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were on honeymoon last week around Ireland but hadn't booked accommodation everywhere as we were seeing what the weather was like. We decided to head to Westport so the day before we went, we booked a room at the Clew Bay Hotel, a bargain at only £41!!

When we got there, the staff were very welcoming and as we had told them it was our honeymoon, they had put some chocolates in our room.

Our room was very spacious, clean and well decorated. Definitely worth more than the £41 we paid! Breakfast was lovely also.

We were right in the centre of Westport but it wasn't noisy at all.

We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aimee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Aimee B,

Thank you for your glowing review of your recent stay with us here at the Clew Bay Hotel. We are very glad we were able to make your honeymoon very special for you, and that you enjoyed your special stay with us!

As you appreciated, our best rates are to be found staying midweek and we do have some excellent offers currently being advertised on our website.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Clew Bay Hotel again in the near future.

With very best wishes to the happy couple,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Our stay in The Clew Bay Hotel was great, our room(209) was very spacious and had a great view of the running river below. The service was great there, I requested a vacuum because I had to pack my clothes in space bags, the bags that compress all your clothing by sucking out all the air (Have to do this since the airlines charge you for a 2nd bag nowadays) The vacuum was delievered to my room within minutes (5).
The only things I have an issue was with: The WiFi (Only available in the Lobby area, they are currently upgrading their system where it will be available in all the rooms. The Hallway to our room was quite narrow and allot of 90 Degree turns, Bumping the walls with our luggage. Our Bathroom room was nice and large, but the tiled shower (very nice and spacious) didn't have a door/screen/curtain which led to some water from the shower been sprayed on the floor.
Even though I found little faults with this hotel, I would book again if I ever stayed in Westport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Derek K,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel in your recent stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a happy holiday. We note your comments about the corridor approaching your room, and the bathroom/shower arrangement. We are glad that these points did not infringe on your enjoyment of your stay with us,

Our staff are always very warm & friendly, and we strive to be welcoming & offer good hospitality and service to all our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you to the Clew Bay Hotel again in the future.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews