We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit for a funeral”
Review of Clew Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clew Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Visit for a funeral”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Starting with the receptionist Mary was very helpful as were the rest of the staff,we had a meal in Bistro which was excellent,as was breakfast next morning.
.Brilliant all round would both of our opinion

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windowman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    318
    70
    31
    14
See reviews for
164
465
40
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin 18
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived to a key that would not work ,the tv broken and the door handle came off and a broken hair drier with exposed wires.The carpet was badly stained and wet under windows .A handy man came to fix door.After I went for a bath which lasted two mins as as I lay in bath I saw human POO down the side of the toilet ,the bath outlet was black with dirt and so was the plug hole .I jumped out of bath went down to frount desk to complain and was told the owner Darren would be up (the caretaker who fixed door).I showed him the dirt and he said it was not good housekeeping and changed our room .It was cleaner but my valentines night was wrecked .We were given a free drink but I felt it was not good customer service .

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Owner at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Patricia
Following our telephone conversation this afternoon, I apologise again for any inconvience caused during your stay.
I do however have to clarify one issue, regarding the stain you saw in the bathroom. It was confirmed as a coffee stain by our head housekeeper. We noted you had brought your own coffee machine and maybe it came from this.
We are glad the room we changed you to, was to your satisfaction. If you wish to discuss anything further, please do not hesitate in contacting me.
Kind regards
Darren Madden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Staff very helpful, room very comfortable, breakfast delicious with lots of choice, used the guest pass for the spa too, Missed having a kettle in the room (nothing like a cuppa to settle yourself) :o)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed at the Clew Bay recently with a group and got a fantastic deal including dinner. Assumed the dinner would be the basic standard , it being included in our package, but no. We got great service from Pavo and everyone was very impressed with their food. Rooms were nice, was a little disappointed that our room wasnt cleaned on our first morning there after first night's stay but it's not a big deal. Something to watch out for though, noticed a few cobwebs as well - would expect better attention to detail in the rooms. The staff on reception along with Pavo were all great - couldn't do enough for us (didn't get the guy's name on reception but he really couldn't do enough). They gave us a room as we needed a space for a couple of hours to use - they didn't have to. Breakfast was lovely although the service at breakfast was slightly poor from the ladies, sorry.
Overall though - brilliant value considering how expensive other places in Westport are, also EXTREMELY central to everything.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicman30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The hotel was in a great location and the lady that checked us in was more than helpful. The room was lovely but far far too warm and even when we turned the radiators off it remained uncomfortably warm for the duration of our stay but it would not put me off returning again. We asked for a room with wifi and were told at check in that it had but the only place in the hotel we could access it was the breakfast room. Breakfast was lovely as were all the waitresses. The lady while checking out barely managed to speak to us but as the only member of staff that was not beyond friendly and helpful I could not complain. Overall great location, rooms and service. I will return. Also I originally booked through booking.com but on contacting the hotel to amend my booking they were able to offer me a lower price, very happy.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank looann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We based ourselves here for a friends birthday party and was all we could ask for. We were allocated Room 121, a street front room. It was small but comfortable and the bed was very comfortable. There was double glazed windows inside the wooden exterior ones which made for very little street noise. The room to room noise level was a bit louder though as was atested to by the amourous adventures of the couple in Room 120!! We had a seafood chowder on arrival... I recommend it!! It was full of seafood, warm and very tasty. The residents bar was very accomodating and stayed open until about 5:30am. When we shuffled off to bed though, the room was like a furnace. The radiator was on full belt, which made the room a bit uncomfortable. That aside though it was presented in a very clean manner as was the hotel in general. The staff were very friendly and helpful particularly the waitress at breakfast who had a very genuinely pleasant manner about her. Over all a very nice stay and I would have no problem giving it repeat business. We booked online with the hotel and got an immediate and detailed response.

Room Tip: Be exact in what you look for, i.e. if you want a big room say so. Our double was small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

the staff was very good ,and made our stay more the experiences to come back again soon.the food from the bistro was superb love it,the break feast was out standing and the catering personal was very homely indeed.rooms were just average but for the price is right.its right centre in the town,so you cant go wrong,you will enjoy.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny,no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bossyderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
1,430 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
895 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,616 reviews
0.7 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clew Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Property: Clew Bay Hotel
Address: Clew Bay Hotel James Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Westport
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#1 Best Value Hotel in Westport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#7 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing