We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Clew Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clew Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed at the Clew Bay hotel 2 weeks ago for one night. The lady on reception could not be more helpful .Our room was fab ,the décor was lovely. The room was lovely and warm. We had a meal in the restaurant, the food was excellent there was a great choice. The staff in the restaurant were so nice the beds were lovely and comfortable and breakfast next morning there was a wide choice of food.
I would have no problem to stay at this hotel again in fact it would be a pleasure

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    328
    70
    32
    15
See reviews for
168
481
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful, including organising our cycle trip and providing advice. Our twin turned out to be a mini-suite; pleasant surprise, all the more so considering the bargain price. Great breakfast and a great bar, and another pleasantly surprising contrast to Dublin bar prices.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lockyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Our choir group stayed at the Clew Bay Hotel last weekend for 2 nights. From check in to check out, we experienced outstanding service from all the staff. They were polite, friendly, and very helpful to all 26 of us. Check in was seamless, and there were hand written welcome notes for us in our rooms on arrival, together with hand made chocolates. The rooms and beds are very comfortable. Our room had a shower rather than bath in the en suite but that suited our needs. Maria and her team had booked a restaruant for us on the first night, and had also booked some of us on the Greenway cycle. Others took a guided walking tour of Westport, also arranged by the hotel. We had an excellent dinner in the hotel bistro on our second night. We were performing at a concert that night and ate early, and the hotel were very flexible in arranging a time to suit us. The breakfast buffet was extensive, and all hot food cooked perfectly to order. A thoughtful touch was the provision of a leaflet with the recipes for the hotels brown bread and granola at the buffet table... I definitely have never seen that before! I would highly recommend this hotel (in particular for the high standard of service) to anyone visiting Westport.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014


I stayed at the Clew Bay Hotel as part of a large group & was just massively impressed. The staff on reception were very helpful in making our group booking simple & stress free. The staff throughout the hotel were very welcoming & friendly. They went out of their way to make sure everything was to our satisfaction & on hand with lots of great local information from good bars & restaurants, to different activities available, directions etc. I will definitely make a point of staying in the Clew Bay Hotel anytime I am in Westport in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanaDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel in the town centre convenient to bars and restaurants.Was on a couples break and we used the pass for the leisure centre which was a great bonus.Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was lovely with lots of choice.Would really recommend this hotel and will be back.Thanks:)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Starting with the receptionist Mary was very helpful as were the rest of the staff,we had a meal in Bistro which was excellent,as was breakfast next morning.
.Brilliant all round would both of our opinion

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windowman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin 18
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived to a key that would not work ,the tv broken and the door handle came off and a broken hair drier with exposed wires.The carpet was badly stained and wet under windows .A handy man came to fix door.After I went for a bath which lasted two mins as as I lay in bath I saw human POO down the side of the toilet ,the bath outlet was black with dirt and so was the plug hole .I jumped out of bath went down to frount desk to complain and was told the owner Darren would be up (the caretaker who fixed door).I showed him the dirt and he said it was not good housekeeping and changed our room .It was cleaner but my valentines night was wrecked .We were given a free drink but I felt it was not good customer service .

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Owner at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Patricia
Following our telephone conversation this afternoon, I apologise again for any inconvience caused during your stay.
I do however have to clarify one issue, regarding the stain you saw in the bathroom. It was confirmed as a coffee stain by our head housekeeper. We noted you had brought your own coffee machine and maybe it came from this.
We are glad the room we changed you to, was to your satisfaction. If you wish to discuss anything further, please do not hesitate in contacting me.
Kind regards
Darren Madden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
855 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
923 reviews
0.7 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,058 reviews
2.7 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
0.6 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clew Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Property: Clew Bay Hotel
Address: Clew Bay Hotel James Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#1 Best Value Hotel in Westport
#1 Spa Hotel in Westport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#7 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing