We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in westport”
Review of Clew Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clew Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Friendly helpful staff who provide excellent service. Food excellent and the packed lunches laid on for our hike were lovely. Would highly recommend everyone to stay here and avail of the tasty breakfasts in the morning.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear C B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of your recent stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your walking activities, with our renowned breakfast!

Looking forward to having you stay with us again soon.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

I booked this hotel for myself,hubby and 2 kids aged 2 and 5,it was just brilliant,the staff are so nice and friendly,each and every one of them.
The food aws gorgeous and such quick service,room was spacious and very comfortable,it is located in the middle of Westport town,everything about it was fab.
We all absolutely loved it,will definately be back and would highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Breda25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Breda 25,

Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review of your recent stay with us. We are proud of our friendly yet professional staff team, and well-known for the range and quality of our food offering and service.

As you may know Westport was voted the Best Town to Live in Ireland in 2012 by readers of the Irish Sunday Times newspaper.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay at our hotel again soon.

With best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I booked this for a golf party of 8. We have used it before and happily came back.
The hotel is right in the town centre within restaurants and pubs a minute or 2 away.
Rooms quite roomy and very clean with large comfortable beds.
The staff are extremely courteous and very helpful and cater for all out needs with bookings, minibus etc.
Overall, a really good hotel in the heart of Westport with great and helpful staff.
I would happily recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Westport (and not just for golf)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisWatfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear ChrisWatfordUK,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review of your recent golfing stay with us.
We are so glad you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

As you rightly pointed out our hotel is located in the heart of the town centre within a very easy walk of all facilities.

We are glad you booked your golfing trip with us, and we very much look forward to having you join us again the next time around.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Clew Bay Hotel staff were both warm and accommodating from the first point of contact, when I enquired to book rooms for 12 of my friends until the day we left after a fantastic weekend in Westport!! The rooms we're clean and spacious, the food was superb (breakfast, lunch and dinner), the bar was cosy with atmosphere and all at a reasonable price! Couldn't have asked for more for a weekend away!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear GarretM,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of your recent stay with us. We especially liked your praise of our wonderful staff team, and I will make sure your feedback is made known across the team.

We pride ourselves on offering a professional yet friendly and welcoming atmosphere in the hotel, and strive to make all our guests comfortable and well-looked after.

We very much welcome you back to stay at the Clew Bay Hotel.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at the Clew Bay Hotel on the 11th May and really enjoyed our stay. We were on a driving holiday of Ireland and unfortunately the hotel doesn't have a carpark of it's own but there is a public car park at the back of the property, we stayed on a Sunday so didn't have to pay for parking but it's very cheap (I think we paid 1 euro for 2 hours on Monday morning). The hotel is a little dated, but the staff are fantastic and Westport is a lovely town. We didn't eat in the hotel or in the town that evening, but we did go to a fantastic pub: M.J Hoban at the octogan, which we would definately recommend. Breakfast was included in the rate and we both had the full Irish, there was also a buffett with pastries, cereal, yogurt and juice. The hotel also has wi-fi, which was included in our rate.
From Westport we drove around the Corraun Peninsual, following the Atlantic Drive. the secenery is stunning, would recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateLouiseMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear KateLouiseMac,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for choosing the Clew Bay Hotel on your driving tour of Ireland.

Yes all our guests can avail of the public car park to the side of the hotel for a permit of 3 Euro per day (available from reception at check-in). The car park is free on Sundays & Bank Holidays.

We pride ourselves on our famous breakfast buffet with all hot dishes freshly cooked to order. Our staff team is warm and accommodating, and always strive to go that little bit extra for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Westport!

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. Great welcome on arrival, immediate assistance with luggage. Spacious, clean and well equipped rooms. Great food and service in the bar. Breakfast had something for everyone and looked out nicely on the river. All round a very enjoyable stay. Will certainly go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomGKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear TomGKelly,

Thank you for taking the time to write a short review of your recent stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, especially the warm welcome you received from our staff team, and our famous cooked buffet breakfasts!

Westport is a wonderful place for a holiday, and we do hope you will choose to stay with us here again in the most centrally-located hotel in Westport.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Centrally located in Westport, the Clew Bay offers affordable accomodations with comfortable rooms and excellent service. A spacious room with attractive view and traditional Irish breakfasts.

Pleasant bar and bistro. Good pours and decent food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woodfyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Woodfyr,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your recent stay here in Westport. We do pride ourselves on the quality and range of our Bistro food and drink range. Many have enjoyed their meal with us.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Clew Bay Hotel again very soon.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
926 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
989 reviews
0.7 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clew Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Address: Clew Bay Hotel James Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#2 Spa Hotel in Westport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#7 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range: £48 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing