We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“may 2014”
Review of Clew Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clew Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

every thing was wonderful we enjoyed our stay very much meals lovely staff very helpful only one complaint the breakfast tea wasnt very nice told the boss man (darren?) he is very easy on the eye hope they have changed the brand of tea by the time we call again. good price and location..... SHEILA SELBY NOTTINGHAM ENGLAND

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresadunleavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Shelia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of your recent stay with us.

I shall certainly pass your compliments onto Darren for you!

I will pass on your comment about the breakfast tea to our Food & Beverage Manager.

We are glad you enjoyed your time in Westport, and we very much look forward to having you join us again soon.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,097)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

The staff on the front desk were very polite and extremely helpful. We were checked in to a room over looking a stream by 10:00am as we had arrived earlier than expected. The location was superb very close to the best bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Room over looking stream at the rear of the hotel, lovely setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barneymeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Barneymeboy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review of your recent stay with us, and for posting up such a lovely picture of the view from your room!

We are glad we could accommodate your early arrival with us, and more so, we look forward to having you join us again the next time you head for Westport.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Not a very "fancy" hotel but really lovely and homely. Staff wonderful and friendly. Very high standard of bar food. Hearty breakfast offered to set you up for the day. Perfect location. Look forward to staying there again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 800Unay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear 800Unay,

Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review of your recent stay with us.

We are so glad you picked up on our homely feel, friendly staff, and our amazing breakfasts and fine food offering!

It was great to read you had a fine stay here in Westport, and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Friendly helpful staff who provide excellent service. Food excellent and the packed lunches laid on for our hike were lovely. Would highly recommend everyone to stay here and avail of the tasty breakfasts in the morning.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear C B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of your recent stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your walking activities, with our renowned breakfast!

Looking forward to having you stay with us again soon.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I booked this hotel for myself,hubby and 2 kids aged 2 and 5,it was just brilliant,the staff are so nice and friendly,each and every one of them.
The food aws gorgeous and such quick service,room was spacious and very comfortable,it is located in the middle of Westport town,everything about it was fab.
We all absolutely loved it,will definately be back and would highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Breda25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Breda 25,

Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review of your recent stay with us. We are proud of our friendly yet professional staff team, and well-known for the range and quality of our food offering and service.

As you may know Westport was voted the Best Town to Live in Ireland in 2012 by readers of the Irish Sunday Times newspaper.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay at our hotel again soon.

With best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I booked this for a golf party of 8. We have used it before and happily came back.
The hotel is right in the town centre within restaurants and pubs a minute or 2 away.
Rooms quite roomy and very clean with large comfortable beds.
The staff are extremely courteous and very helpful and cater for all out needs with bookings, minibus etc.
Overall, a really good hotel in the heart of Westport with great and helpful staff.
I would happily recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Westport (and not just for golf)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisWatfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear ChrisWatfordUK,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review of your recent golfing stay with us.
We are so glad you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

As you rightly pointed out our hotel is located in the heart of the town centre within a very easy walk of all facilities.

We are glad you booked your golfing trip with us, and we very much look forward to having you join us again the next time around.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Clew Bay Hotel staff were both warm and accommodating from the first point of contact, when I enquired to book rooms for 12 of my friends until the day we left after a fantastic weekend in Westport!! The rooms we're clean and spacious, the food was superb (breakfast, lunch and dinner), the bar was cosy with atmosphere and all at a reasonable price! Couldn't have asked for more for a weekend away!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear GarretM,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of your recent stay with us. We especially liked your praise of our wonderful staff team, and I will make sure your feedback is made known across the team.

We pride ourselves on offering a professional yet friendly and welcoming atmosphere in the hotel, and strive to make all our guests comfortable and well-looked after.

We very much welcome you back to stay at the Clew Bay Hotel.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
964 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#5 of 13 in Westport
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 13 in Westport
1,106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Westport
2,127 reviews
2.7 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clew Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Address: Clew Bay Hotel James Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#2 Spa Hotel in Westport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#7 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range: £45 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing