We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfully friendly and helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clew Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clew Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderfully friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just back from an over night stay at this hotel. The staff are lovely and very helpful. Our bikes were accommodated as we were cycling the Greenway today as was a late checkout. The late checkout was very important, as we needed showers after the fabulous cycle. We were impressed and grateful that the hotel staff were so accommodating. There was one problem with very noisy girls shouting in the corridor very late/early. When desperation and sleep disturbance wanted a call to reception the problem was promptly dealt with.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Patricia F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review of your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to serve you, and to give you the option of the late check-out so you could fully enjoy our wonderful Greenway by bicycle.

We were sorry that your sleep was disturbed, but glad that we quietened down the late night revellers.

We sincerely hope you will come back again next time for a longer stay with us. I will pass on your compliments to our staff team.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    303
    68
    31
    14
See reviews for
150
431
37
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

A group of us friends stayed in Clewbay Hotel for a special reunion. From the minute we arrived the staff were so friendly. This is a smallish Hotel in the middle of the town in a great location.
The beds were very comfortable and the food in Maddens Restaurant which is part of the hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmrIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear MMRIreland,

Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review of your recent stay with us.

We are so glad you enjoyed all parts of the hotel, and had a fun yet relaxing stay. We are well renowned for the quality of our hotel food and dining offer in Madden's Bistro. Thank you for the endorsement!

We look forward to having you join us again in the near future at the Clew Bay Hotel.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed a few days at Clew Bay Hotel, at the beginning of July, the hotel is smart without being over the top' comfortable surroundings, good staff, nice room for breakfast and a very good adjoining bistro. Also nice to have the opportunity to view the artwork in the reception area. This is our second stay at this hotel, and we set out to book it for this trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Anne H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of your recent stay with us. We are glad you had an enjoyable mini-break on this your second visit to us, and we do hope you will come back for more third time around!

Our hotel art gallery is our distinctive feature: we show different art exhibitions most months, particularly promoting up-and-coming artists and art groups in the west of Ireland. It's a stylish and attractive feature of the hotel, and one where we receive many compliments.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had a great stay at The Clew Bay hotel in July, the Hotel rooms were modern, Comfy beds, very clean, great showers and bright rooms, The staff were all so nice and accommodating and I found them quite helpful. The area is perfect for a Westport stay you are in the think of everything, The food at the hotel is great and the cocktails also went down a treat!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear AmieM,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of your recent stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel, especially our gorgeous new cocktail menu!

We look forward to having you join us again in the near future for your next stay at the Clew Bay Hotel.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed in Clew Bay for the weekend of the Westport Festival, so the town and the hotel were busy. The hotel was exactly what you would expect, its a good clean hotel, rooms were very nice. Had a delay at breakfast, but I know that was very busy at the last minute.
However, I do believe that its when someone steps in to help you with a problem, that they didn't create, that real Customer Service is shown. In our case, the girls on reception went out of their way to help us, and ensured afterwards that our problem had been solved.
I couldn't have been more grateful, and will take every chance of have to stay again.
Many thanks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay1312014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Jay1312014,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us.

We always seek to try our best at making our guests feel comfortable in their stay with us: we were glad to be of assistance to you.

Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel to others, and we do look forward to you joining us for your next stay in Westport.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
175 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here as our based for our cycling trip on the Great Western Greenway, and for our tour around Westport. The hotel is convenient, just down the block from the town square, so close to the action but not right on top of it. The front desk staff is helpful and warm; they showed us all the places we needed to know on the map straightaway and were generous with their time. The breakfast (included) is also generous. Delicious scrambled eggs with luscious salmon, as well as warm croissants and good brown bread. The coffee leaves something to be desired, but that's true in much of Ireland, and we found a coffee shop down the street that brewed a stronger cup. The rooms are well-sized here. We asked for a room at the back, which had a view of the stream and was quieter than the front rooms are, apparently. The Clew Bay is a true three-star hotel: it's clean but a bit worn; the corridors are narrow and the floorboards uneven; the decor is plain. On our first day, the bathroom fan seemed to be bringing someone's cigarette smoke into the room. But the bathroom seemed renovated. We were surprised to have two sinks. All in all, we'd stay again, as it was a good value, a good location, and good service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back by the stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSD57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear JSD57,

Thank you for your comprehensive review of your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful town, and your cycling on the Great Western Greenway.

We appreciate your comments about your room, your breakfast, and our highly efficient, yet very friendly staff team. We always encourage guests to feedback to their server at breakfast or reception if anything should be amiss or not quite right.

We are sorry that you felt the air in your room was poor. We do encourage all guests to contact reception should anything arise so that we can improve your experience with us.

All in all, we do hope you will consider coming to spend your holidays again at the Clew Bay Hotel.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Hotel sounded great and is in a good central location to the town. I went to Clew Bay in early July, and was placed in a family room that had one small window overlooking the roof, meaning it was dark and not a pleasant sight. I was then moved to another room, but could hear maintainence work all day above the room. The walls are paper thin and I could hear people talking at 8 a.m outside the door. Breakfast was very lacking, 'Full Irish' was not very filling, and food was served cold on one occassion. Shampoo and conditioner were not supplied, and the fan didn't work in the bathroom, which meant after showering it was like a steamtoom! I was left disappointed and unimpressed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Caroline C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We were sorry to read that you had a disappointing experience with us, and that we were not able to resolve any of your issues during your stay.

We would encourage you to ring our hotel on 098 28088, and to speak to our friendly team (our hotel proprietors) who will be interested to help you further.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson

Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 15 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#6 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clew Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Property: Clew Bay Hotel
Address: Clew Bay Hotel James Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#2 Spa Hotel in Westport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#8 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing