We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of Clew Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clew Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Stayed in Clew Bay on Sunday and Monday night check in staff very good rooms were good cle
an and comfortable bed has dinner in the bistro on Sunday found food to be good and prices not bad would stay in hotel again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Sam R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a good all round review of your recent stay with us.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    325
    70
    32
    15
See reviews for
168
478
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiltimagh, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

we just stayed had a short stay in Westport and it was amazing, the hotel staff were all so friendly and helpful throughout the stay, the room as immaculate clean and spacious. we had lunch in Maddens and the food was delightful I would definitely recommend the clew bay when your staying in Westport, which is a great town for an evening away from the children.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank narr0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Narr0w,

Thank you for writing such a great review of your recent stay with us.

We are glad you found the accommodation comfortable, and that you greatly enjoyed the food and our professional yet friendly service.

We very much look forward to your next stay at the Clew Bay Hotel.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed from 21st August to 25th August. Very pleased with our stay at Clew Bay Hotel. Great location, an lovely breakfast. Staff friendly an helpful. Bed a little hard but that is a personal choice. Quiet at night, would not realise you are staying so near the street.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariemcw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Mariemcw26,

Thank you for taking the time to write an outstanding review of your recent stay with us!

We are so glad you had a great stay in Westport at the Clew Bay Hotel.

We are particularly glad you enjoyed our trademark high quality breakfast service, and that you had a pleasant quiet room for your stay.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Clew Bay Hotel again very soon.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathangan, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Spent the August bank holiday here and was good value for Money. Breakfast was excellent and really good cheerful service. Was nice to have the use of the swimming pool and spa - hot tub was especially welcome after a long bike ride.
The only shame was the bed on the first night - couldn't sleep because it was so soft and sank in the middle - was two twin beds pushed together and eventually fell asleep on the ridge between the two beds! We asked to be moved the second night as both were suffering with bad backs by then. They were very good and did manage to accommodate us and moved us to the rooms on the 2nd floor - which were much better and got a good nights sleep then that night.
Couldn't have been in a better location - right in the centre of town.

Room Tip: avoid the first floor by the lifts - bed was soft and was noisy at night. Second floor was the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Jane S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

It was pleasing to read that you we were able to find you an alternative room regarding the mattress in your first room. We have invested in mattress toppers on all our hotel beds, so on this occasion I am sorry that you found the bed in your first room uncomfortable.

I am glad this did not spoil the rest of your stay with us, and that you enjoyed your short break in Westport.

We very much look forward to having you join us again at the Clew Bay Hotel in the near future.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great location, friendly staff good Irish breakfast. All in all a very pleasant 2 night stay. Rooms were average and clean, connecting door to adjoining room not good. price was comparable for a 3 Star Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask about adjoining door to next room avoid if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aiden663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Aiden 663,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your two night break with us.

With reference to our bedrooms which adjoin each other with interconnecting doors: we only have a few of these in our property. We always encourage all guests to contact reception if they are not happy with their first choice of room. Should an alternative room be available we will endeavour to switch rooms for our guests (subject to availability).

All our bedrooms are finished to the same standards, with full size bathrooms and comfortable modern furnishings. Yet are all individually decorated and styled.

We do hope you will consider staying with us again for your next visit to Westport.

With very best best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I had the pleasure of spending the 5th & 6th August in this wonderfully run family friendly hotel. We arrived about 1pm, earlier than expected. Check in was a breeze and it was no hassle that we had been early, a quick call from the receptionist to accommodation to make sure our room was ready and up we went. Upon arrival both the room and bathroom were spotless and were kept this way throughout our stay. Everyone of the staff and management were kind and courteous to us at every moment throughout our stay, be it for breakfast, the bar or just passing in and out through reception.
Trying not to name names I really think people in reviews DO deserve a mention. In saying that; the barman/night mgr very helpful for every awkward query, Pawel in the restaurant a very valuable asset to the hotel, A young waiter in the restaurant on the wed night was extremely welcoming and professional, hold onto him! A mention to the chefs who rarely see any recognition, both breakfast and dinner were of excellent quality. Finally the front office team Shona & Mary (I think) always friendly and full of chat.
As a destination Westport is hard to beat and as a hotel choice it has to be The Clew Bay!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Nigel0127,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of your recent stay with us with your family.

I think you covered just about every aspect of our hotel's service in your review!

We are glad you enjoyed your family time in Wesport, and I shall pass on your kind words to Pawel, Mary, & Shona in particular, but also across the staff team.

We very much look forward to having you join us again for your next family break to Westport.

Thank you once again.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson

Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossmaglen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with my wife and 3 kids. The hotel is perfectly located in town centre, rooms are spacious and clean and the staff couldn't do enough for us! The food in the restaurant and bar was top quality and the breakfast catered for just about anything you wished for! The owner was welcoming and friendly throughout our stay and even kept us in craic on a few occasions! Thanks Darren and staff, we will definately return. Just not sure if I can face gaelforce west again but never say never!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conorjmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Condorjmartin,

Thank you for taking the time to write an 'excellent' review of your recent stay with us.

We are pleased you met our owner Darren, and the rest of the staff team. Most of all congratulations on completing the gruelling Gaelforce!

We value all our guest's contributions, and I shall pass on your kind words to the rest of the team.

We look forward to having you join us for your next visit to Westport.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson

Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
848 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
918 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,636 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,056 reviews
0.7 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clew Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Property: Clew Bay Hotel
Address: Clew Bay Hotel James Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#1 Best Value Hotel in Westport
#1 Spa Hotel in Westport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#7 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing