We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to stay again!”
Review of Clew Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clew Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Would love to stay again!”
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Everything about this hotel is wondeful! The service, food and room were all wonderful. The town was a wonderful stop over just wish we had spent more time there since it was so nice. This is a family run hotel and the staff were very warm and inviting!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapeterson25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    334
    72
    33
    15
See reviews for
171
491
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Myself and a friend stayed in the Clew Bay for 3 nights last week. They had a great special offer of 3 nights B & B plus 3 dinners (1 in hotel and 2 in restaurants in the town). The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast each morning included a great selection of fruits, cereals, as well as the good choice of hot foods. Our dinners were all booked for us upon arrival. The first night was in An Port Mor and this was a very enjoyable experience with an excellent menu of fresh home made food and friendly staff, the second night was in Mangos and again another very enjoyable experience and wonderful food. The final night was in the hotel restaurant and once again the food selection was good and very tasty. There is a leisure center beside the hotel which residents have use of, as well as a free car park..Westport is a lovely town with nice shops, pubs, as well as tourist attractions such as Westport House and Park, Croagh Patrick is only a short drive away. All in all myself and my friend enjoyed our break at the Clew Bay Hotel so a big thanks to all the friendly staff especially the lovely receptionists...Cheers Maureen

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mausi-1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Friendly and helpful staff. Room clean, tidy and had all the amenities needed. Food good and atmosphere in hotel was good. Located in the heart of this charming and vibrant town. The views across the bay are stunning and night life is varied with great traditional pubs. We had a very pleasant stay and will return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 144penns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2010

A good hotel in a great location with friendly and helpful management and staff

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Shared a room with two others, paid €70 each - €210 for a room in a 3 star hotel - rip off!
room smelled like old peoples home and iron board broke in half, surely with room prices like this they can afford to fix things in the rooms. Most of the staff are very nice and the food in the bistro was excellent. Ive stayed in quite a few hotels and this is the worst one i've ever stayed in. oh and for any stags and hens - residence bar shuts way to early!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chasiof, Manager at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. While we are delighted that you enjoyed the food and service in the hotel, we were dissappointed that our accommodation did not come up to standard.

Having spoke to our night team, our residents bar, which normally closes at 3.30am, stayed open until 4.30am on this occasion.

We hope that you received our Winter Warmer voucher on check out. If you did not, please contact the hotel and we will send you one, as we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Clew Bay Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed in Clew Bay, Westport for 2 nights. The hotel was lovely and the service great, but what made the trip stand out for us was the Surf/Kayak package that we took. For €40 pp, we were picked up outside the hotel, driven for about 45 mintues to the beautiful Keel Beach on Achill Island where we had a 2 hour surfing lesson in the morning followed by an afternoon kayaking with the Achill Surf Company.

Achill Sur dropped us up to a pub for lunch and dropped us home in the evening - a wonderful day out for an absolute bargain price !!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C14r4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2010

From the moment we arrived all was wonderful. Fab location ,right in the centre of Westport. Hotel spotless ,bed rooms lovely and spacious with a coffee making facility. Complementory tea or coffe on arrival. All Staff so friendly and helpful all the time , couldnt do much more for their guests. Breakfast was super , lots of choices and local produce used. Use of leisure centre right next door . Fre car parking..Hotel has arrangements with local resturants and will recommend one to you depending what you fancy ,lots and lots of tastes catered for .Westport a lovely place to stay and the Clewbay Hotel is a little hidden gem and ticked all the boxes for us at a very reasonable price tag . We will be back !!!!!!! Micky and Joan . Dublin

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollydolly88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
874 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
949 reviews
0.7 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,073 reviews
0.6 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clew Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Property: Clew Bay Hotel
Address: Clew Bay Hotel James Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#2 Spa Hotel in Westport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#7 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing