We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden Gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Dine Alfresco on the sunlit patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dine Alfresco on the sunlit patio
Through the gates of Teach Mo Chroi' Drive through the canopy of trees on Cartronbower Boreen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Dine Alfresco on the sunlit patio
Through the gates of Teach Mo Chroi'
Drive through the canopy of trees on Cartronbower Boreen
Welcoming wide hallway entrance
Living Room solid fuel stove
Open plan Living Area
Living Room with Reading Library
Comfortable seating for 6 adults
Hearth Fireplace in the kitchen gathering space
Seating for 10 at the Table & Breakfast Bar
Master Bedroom w/Ensuite Bathroom & Walk-in Closet
Bedroom with Queen Bed & Single Bed sleeps 3
Large Bedroom with 2 Queen Beds, TV, DVD, & VCR
Whimsical Butterfly Bedroom with a Queen Bed & Single Pull Out Trundle Bed
Friends drop by for a Snack
Donkey Soccer - Game On!!
Our Summer Window Boxes
Inside Ballintubber Abbey, Home to Celebrity Weddings like Pierce Brosnan of '007' Fame!
Historical 12th Century Ballintubber Abbey our parish church
Close up view of Croagh Patrick from our Patio
Snow blanketed Croagh Patrick
Climbing the Holy Mountain Croagh Patrick
A view from the top of Croagh Patrick of Clew Bay & the mouth of the Atlantic
Descending Croagh Patrick
Breathtakingly Beautiful Kylemore Abbey
Keem Strand  One of the many beautiful beaches of  Achill Island
Surfing on Achill Island
Strolling in Galway City
A Typical intersection in Clifden Town
Roundstone Pier, Co Galway
Map of the West of Ireland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Westport, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Springer7...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Charming and delightful house with all the amenities of home. Clean and well maintained with fabulous view of Croagh Patrick. Easy to drive to nearby areas. Nice patio, lots of space both externally for kids to play and run around and spacious rooms interior. Has games, movies etc. for a rainy. Great for a large family but quaint enough for a two travelers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonopase
Dublin Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed in this house with extended family to cycle the Green Way which I've reviewed separately. The house was beautifully decorated with a wonderful kitchen and plenty of room for our group of 8. Great communication from the owner since the booking including great directions which brought us to the front door of the house and the very friendly Maura who told us all we needed to know about staying In this lovely home. First night we used the barbecue and had a lovely dinner on the patio watching the sun set over Croagh Patrick. Saturday we cycled the Green Way and spent the early evening in Westport. The house was great, giant bed in the master bedroom, at 5'2" I nearly needed a boost to get in the bed but all in all it was very enjoyable and our group aged 18 to 81 had a great time. Will definitely come back some day to climb Croagh Patrick and chill out in the quiet countryside of western Ireland. There was a pub at the end of the lane way to the house and it was a pity it was closed for renovation at the time of our visit but I assume it opened shortly after July 2014 and looking forward to a pint in a country pub next time.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H
Wrightstown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This house exceeded our expectations. The house was very clean upon arrival. Little notes though out the house explained everything we needed to know about the operation of things in the house. The kitchen was equipped with everything need to prepare as simple or complex a meal as needed. The view from the kitchen was something we could not get enough of. Satellite TV and internet allowed us to keep in touch with home. Phone was available to receive calls or make calls with a calling card which can be purchased in one of the towns. We were so comfortable we hated to leave. Shopping and restaurants were not far away. We were amazed how every thing was well thought out in the house to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We would recommend to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean
Liked least: We had to leave.=
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JayR122
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location to tour Mayo”
Reviewed 5 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Very nice home, well kept, terrific space for 7 adults. Very quiet and peaceful yet, 20 minutes from Castlebar, 30 minutes from Westport, 1 hour to Gallway and only 3 minutes from a nice local pub, Corley's, which is next to Balintubber Abbey. Close to Croagh Patrick, which is a must-do.

We were greeted by Karla's friendly care-taker and the house met all expectations. They even checked in mid-week to ensure everything was ok. Also, highly recommend you have a Garmin (or any GPS). The house is even on it, and it makes getting around Ireland so much easier.

Karla was very responsive pre-trip with great ideas and tips and the house is everything we expected from the descriptions and pictures on the internet.

I would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean, quiet property located centrally for our activities
Liked least: We only had a few challenges with the hot water heater, but I think it was operator error
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay. I just want to make one correction, even as an inexperienced driver and at a slower pace the drive into Castlebar is only 15 mins and into Westport 20 mins. Both towns are an easy route on one main road, and unless you end up behind a tractor or other slow moving vehicle it is a smooth easy ride.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam C
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 3 nights in this lovely, comfortable home with several family members with ages from 7 - 89. The home is well laid out, comfortable, evenly heated due to heated floors. All the amenities worked well, plenty of linens, comfortable beds and furniture. The CD collection was awesome and our 7 year old was well entertained with the selection of kids' movies. Surrounded by peaceful farmland with quiet country lanes for strolling around. It's about 15-30 minute drives to surrounding towns such as Castlebar and Westport - both those towns have full shopping and amenities; there isn't much close by except small petrol station. Sadly, the one pub that is in walking distance was closed when we were there. It's a great place to stay if you want a quiet home to retreat to after a day of sightseeing or visiting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2013
I am very happy you found our home comfortable and well equipped. Unfortunately due to the downturn in the Irish economy local pubs have taken a big hit financially. Our local has now been forced to close during the week and is only open from Thursday - Sunday. You no doubt visited on one of the closing days and because the locals are all aware there probably isn't a posting to inform you of the new operating hours. Sorry you missed out on a local drink. While a bit further away (1-1/2 miles) we do have another local just beside Ballintubber Abbey which is only 5 mins away. The drives into Castlebar and/or Westport shouldn't take more than 10-20 mins, even for an inexperienced driver, as both are only about 8 miles away.

Thank you for choosing Teach Mo Chroi'
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June A
Port Stanley, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Six Star Holiday Home”
Reviewed 1 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The property and the amenities were more comfortable and lovelier than described. It was comfortable, very clean, well-maintained and the manager did everything to make our stay perfect.

We would definitely recommend this property to others because it is a wonderful family home and also because of the easy proximity to a host of tourist sites.

From here we enjoyed visiting Ballintubber Abbey and the National Museum of Ireland - Country Life as well as our excursion to Crough Patrick and the Foxford Woollen Mills.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house had everthing we would need plus more (eg. DVD's to watch); located in quiet countryside.
Liked least: Everything was perfect.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2013
It is always wonderful to hear that our guests liked our home. I'm glad you and the ladies found it so comfortable. Maura will be pleased with your praise. Thank you for choosing us over the many other homes in the area.

Karla
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing