We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home of My Heart Warmed All of Our Hearts”
other travellers have booked this property
Dine Alfresco on the sunlit patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dine Alfresco on the sunlit patio
Through the gates of Teach Mo Chroi' Drive through the canopy of trees on Cartronbower Boreen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Dine Alfresco on the sunlit patio
Through the gates of Teach Mo Chroi'
Drive through the canopy of trees on Cartronbower Boreen
Welcoming wide hallway entrance
Living Room solid fuel stove
Open plan Living Area
Living Room with Reading Library
Comfortable seating for 6 adults
Hearth Fireplace in the kitchen gathering space
Seating for 10 at the Table & Breakfast Bar
Master Bedroom w/Ensuite Bathroom & Walk-in Closet
Bedroom with Queen Bed & Single Bed sleeps 3
Large Bedroom with 2 Queen Beds, TV, DVD, & VCR
Whimsical Butterfly Bedroom with a Queen Bed & Single Pull Out Trundle Bed
Friends drop by for a Snack
Donkey Soccer - Game On!!
Our Summer Window Boxes
Inside Ballintubber Abbey, Home to Celebrity Weddings like Pierce Brosnan of '007' Fame!
Historical 12th Century Ballintubber Abbey our parish church
Close up view of Croagh Patrick from our Patio
Snow blanketed Croagh Patrick
Climbing the Holy Mountain Croagh Patrick
A view from the top of Croagh Patrick of Clew Bay & the mouth of the Atlantic
Descending Croagh Patrick
Breathtakingly Beautiful Kylemore Abbey
Keem Strand  One of the many beautiful beaches of  Achill Island
Surfing on Achill Island
Strolling in Galway City
A Typical intersection in Clifden Town
Roundstone Pier, Co Galway
Map of the West of Ireland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Westport, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CynthiaFi...
Scotts Valley, California
2 reviews
“Home of My Heart Warmed All of Our Hearts”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

On Saturday afternoon we arrived to settle in before friends and family began to join us to celebrate our 40th Anniversary. Everything in every room was so nicely arranged that I only needed to unpack and open windows to let in the sunshine and fresh air. We had a delightful time gathering on the patio and enjoying the spectacular view of Croagh Patrick (The Reek), playing on the pitch and the swings, and relaxing together around the kitchen at dinner time with the mackerel we'd caught with our grandson in Clew Bay. Each bedroom suited guests perfectly, and the additional modern features such as the booster for extra hot water with a full house helped everyone to feel comfortable. As charming as the photos are, the reality of the house is even better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious for everyone to have time together and privacy
Liked least: A bit of a windy trip to go to and from Westport
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chilin5
Pearl River, New York
1 review
“Great Home base for Family vacation”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

“Teach moi chroi” was an absolutely perfect home base for our family trip to Ireland. This was are second visit and all our memories were justified. The house is lovely and spacious, plenty of sleeping and playing space for the kids and grandkids. It was the perfect place for the kids to let off steam and the parents to unwind after the busy days of exploring. The large kitchen was a great gathering (planning) space and fully loaded, making “at home” meals easy. The adjacent outdoor space provided everything for outdoor eating, playing and relaxing. And the view is tremendous, especially with Croagh Patrick as its centerpiece. We spent many an evening on the swing, kicking back and stargazing too. Love the flower boxes! The “boreen” surrounding the house provided a quiet place to stroll and explore the flora and fauna and yet being close to a main artery made striking out for sightseeing quite easy. The liveliness of nearby Westport was an easy trip for restaurants and nightlife.
Your wonderful home provided the perfect balance to a busy, active vacation and with a one year old in tow, it was the saving grace. Can’t wait to return. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the house and beauty of its location
Liked least: Can't think of anything, honestly.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary W
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My Father and I travelled to Ireland to see my Mother's cousins. This trip for us was long overdue. The house was perfect for us, nephew and some extended family travelled over as well, and my Irish cousins stayed with us. The house was more than large enough to accommodate all of us and fairly close to some of my relatives, I was able to prepare 2 large family dinners there, the kitchen was well appointed with every convenience needed. The house was also handicapped accessible with a walk in shower in the ensuite for my Dad and we were both able to use our CPAP machines w/o adapters because there is a step down transformer! The house was spotlessly clean, and Karla was kind enough to let my local cousins view the home to be sure it met our needs. She also allowed them to stock up the refrig with the basics the day before we arrived! We are already planning to return in the future, I was thinking not next year, but the year after, although my Dad is already talking about next year! I heartily recommend this beautiful home and its scenic location. In fact, I have already given contact info to a few of my friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, just a wonderful home in a perfect location for us
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springer7...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Charming and delightful house with all the amenities of home. Clean and well maintained with fabulous view of Croagh Patrick. Easy to drive to nearby areas. Nice patio, lots of space both externally for kids to play and run around and spacious rooms interior. Has games, movies etc. for a rainy. Great for a large family but quaint enough for a two travelers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonopase
Dublin Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed in this house with extended family to cycle the Green Way which I've reviewed separately. The house was beautifully decorated with a wonderful kitchen and plenty of room for our group of 8. Great communication from the owner since the booking including great directions which brought us to the front door of the house and the very friendly Maura who told us all we needed to know about staying In this lovely home. First night we used the barbecue and had a lovely dinner on the patio watching the sun set over Croagh Patrick. Saturday we cycled the Green Way and spent the early evening in Westport. The house was great, giant bed in the master bedroom, at 5'2" I nearly needed a boost to get in the bed but all in all it was very enjoyable and our group aged 18 to 81 had a great time. Will definitely come back some day to climb Croagh Patrick and chill out in the quiet countryside of western Ireland. There was a pub at the end of the lane way to the house and it was a pity it was closed for renovation at the time of our visit but I assume it opened shortly after July 2014 and looking forward to a pint in a country pub next time.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H
Wrightstown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This house exceeded our expectations. The house was very clean upon arrival. Little notes though out the house explained everything we needed to know about the operation of things in the house. The kitchen was equipped with everything need to prepare as simple or complex a meal as needed. The view from the kitchen was something we could not get enough of. Satellite TV and internet allowed us to keep in touch with home. Phone was available to receive calls or make calls with a calling card which can be purchased in one of the towns. We were so comfortable we hated to leave. Shopping and restaurants were not far away. We were amazed how every thing was well thought out in the house to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We would recommend to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean
Liked least: We had to leave.=
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing