We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is a wonderful, superbly equipped house and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Dine Alfresco on the sunlit patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dine Alfresco on the sunlit patio
Through the gates of Teach Mo Chroi' Drive through the canopy of trees on Cartronbower Boreen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Dine Alfresco on the sunlit patio
Through the gates of Teach Mo Chroi'
Drive through the canopy of trees on Cartronbower Boreen
Welcoming wide hallway entrance
Living Room solid fuel stove
Open plan Living Area
Living Room with Reading Library
Comfortable seating for 6 adults
Hearth Fireplace in the kitchen gathering space
Seating for 10 at the Table & Breakfast Bar
Master Bedroom w/Ensuite Bathroom & Walk-in Closet
Bedroom with Queen Bed & Single Bed sleeps 3
Large Bedroom with 2 Queen Beds, TV, DVD, & VCR
Whimsical Butterfly Bedroom with a Queen Bed & Single Pull Out Trundle Bed
Friends drop by for a Snack
Donkey Soccer - Game On!!
Our Summer Window Boxes
Inside Ballintubber Abbey, Home to Celebrity Weddings like Pierce Brosnan of '007' Fame!
Historical 12th Century Ballintubber Abbey our parish church
Close up view of Croagh Patrick from our Patio
Snow blanketed Croagh Patrick
Climbing the Holy Mountain Croagh Patrick
A view from the top of Croagh Patrick of Clew Bay & the mouth of the Atlantic
Descending Croagh Patrick
Breathtakingly Beautiful Kylemore Abbey
Keem Strand  One of the many beautiful beaches of  Achill Island
Surfing on Achill Island
Strolling in Galway City
A Typical intersection in Clifden Town
Roundstone Pier, Co Galway
Map of the West of Ireland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Westport, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie M
Dromore, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a wonderful, superbly equipped house and garden”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed in this house in the first week of August, having been welcomed by a friendly & helpful lady. There were 12 of us having a family get-togethers & the house was well maintained & deceptively spacious so it never once felt crowded. It is exceptionally well equipped with a lovely bright kitchen. Outside the garden is equally spacious & well equipped with a mini football pitch (complete with nets), a basketball area, swings and a barbeque. There are also lovely window boxes and quaint little birdhouses placed here and there. We really enjoyed our stay and made full use of the marvelous facilities. Hope to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful amenities
Liked least: The property is slightly remote but this was expected and is clear from the advertisement. No pets are allowed.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mcw162
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family house in lovely pastoral setting”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our large group enjoyed the views of the countryside, the spacious house (particularly the kitchen), the large yard (perfect for kids), the quiet country roads and sheep fields, and the relaxed atmosphere. The location is convenient to the coast, Westport, and the attractions in Co Mayo. We especially liked trips to Achill Island, Croag Patrick,and Ashford Castle. The house layout works well for a large group. The washer, dryer and dishwasher were pluses. The homeowner was easy to work with and promptly refunded our deposit when we returned home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryinmd
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love This House”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We truly enjoyed our stay here. As charming as the B&Bs were, by the second week of our trip our family of six was ready to spread out and this was the perfect spot for us. The children loved the activities and games indoors and out. The whole house, especially the kitchen, was well stocked with anything a guest could need. Both Karla and Maura were friendly hosts and we would gladly stay here again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CynthiaFi...
Scotts Valley, California
2 reviews
“Home of My Heart Warmed All of Our Hearts”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

On Saturday afternoon we arrived to settle in before friends and family began to join us to celebrate our 40th Anniversary. Everything in every room was so nicely arranged that I only needed to unpack and open windows to let in the sunshine and fresh air. We had a delightful time gathering on the patio and enjoying the spectacular view of Croagh Patrick (The Reek), playing on the pitch and the swings, and relaxing together around the kitchen at dinner time with the mackerel we'd caught with our grandson in Clew Bay. Each bedroom suited guests perfectly, and the additional modern features such as the booster for extra hot water with a full house helped everyone to feel comfortable. As charming as the photos are, the reality of the house is even better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious for everyone to have time together and privacy
Liked least: A bit of a windy trip to go to and from Westport
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chilin5
Pearl River, New York
1 review
“Great Home base for Family vacation”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

“Teach moi chroi” was an absolutely perfect home base for our family trip to Ireland. This was are second visit and all our memories were justified. The house is lovely and spacious, plenty of sleeping and playing space for the kids and grandkids. It was the perfect place for the kids to let off steam and the parents to unwind after the busy days of exploring. The large kitchen was a great gathering (planning) space and fully loaded, making “at home” meals easy. The adjacent outdoor space provided everything for outdoor eating, playing and relaxing. And the view is tremendous, especially with Croagh Patrick as its centerpiece. We spent many an evening on the swing, kicking back and stargazing too. Love the flower boxes! The “boreen” surrounding the house provided a quiet place to stroll and explore the flora and fauna and yet being close to a main artery made striking out for sightseeing quite easy. The liveliness of nearby Westport was an easy trip for restaurants and nightlife.
Your wonderful home provided the perfect balance to a busy, active vacation and with a one year old in tow, it was the saving grace. Can’t wait to return. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the house and beauty of its location
Liked least: Can't think of anything, honestly.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary W
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My Father and I travelled to Ireland to see my Mother's cousins. This trip for us was long overdue. The house was perfect for us, nephew and some extended family travelled over as well, and my Irish cousins stayed with us. The house was more than large enough to accommodate all of us and fairly close to some of my relatives, I was able to prepare 2 large family dinners there, the kitchen was well appointed with every convenience needed. The house was also handicapped accessible with a walk in shower in the ensuite for my Dad and we were both able to use our CPAP machines w/o adapters because there is a step down transformer! The house was spotlessly clean, and Karla was kind enough to let my local cousins view the home to be sure it met our needs. She also allowed them to stock up the refrig with the basics the day before we arrived! We are already planning to return in the future, I was thinking not next year, but the year after, although my Dad is already talking about next year! I heartily recommend this beautiful home and its scenic location. In fact, I have already given contact info to a few of my friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, just a wonderful home in a perfect location for us
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springer7...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Charming and delightful house with all the amenities of home. Clean and well maintained with fabulous view of Croagh Patrick. Easy to drive to nearby areas. Nice patio, lots of space both externally for kids to play and run around and spacious rooms interior. Has games, movies etc. for a rainy. Great for a large family but quaint enough for a two travelers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing