We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got my mojo back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cloona Health Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I knew what to expect at Cloona as I am a return visitor yet what I experienced once again surprised and delighted me as I had forgotten how caring and dedicated Dhara and his team are to helping each visitor have the best possible experience. I returned home brimming with physical and mental energy, and am still feeling the wonderful effects.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just back from a week retreat. Cloona is perfect for anyone who needs to just detach from the normal day to day life for a while and recharge and recentre yourself. Apart from the physical benefits, the greatest benefit is the clearing of the clutter out of the mind,. I got as much from the others on the retreat as I did from the retreat itself. I can;t recommend it highly enough, Will be back. Again

Room Tip: If ensuites are available I would go for one, but standards are more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deirdre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I left Cloona this past Friday feeling better than I have in months. It's difficult to overstate the dual benefits of the physical and digital detox - I feel happier, lighter and (more superficially) look far better! Dhara and his extraordinary team - Caitriona, Rose, Gavin, Donal and Jackie - excel at what they do - and the passion they bring to Cloona is what makes it so exceptional. The warmth of the welcome never ceases to amaze... and the attention to detail in the programme and the facilities is consistently excellent. Go!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank London_Sinead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Quite simply this is the real thing. If you are serious about detox and weight loss you can't consider anywhere else in Ireland. Dhara knows his stuff and his program is fantastic.. The location lends itself to total relaxation. Turn off your phone and enjoy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryOwenAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I would recommend Cloona to anybody and everybody. The weekend was unlike any other I've had. A complete switch off from the busy world & life we all lead these days, and a chance to reflect and get back to basic living. The whole program is very well planned out - I particularly enjoyed the walks in the beautiful scenery. The back massages in the evening were most welcome also :) I'd recommend the Tibetan Singing Bowls as an additional treatment. Many thanks to Dhara and the team.... I'm looking forward to my next visit already

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank SerenDeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My first time to visit Cloona Health Centre, doing the detox/weight loss programme and it was so worth while. From the fabulous scenic walks to the yoga sessions each day, together with the optional treatments which I would highly recommend, it was all very reviving.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marie904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

FIrst week of December; my fifth visit to Cloona; this time for weight loss programme. Dhara remains a true inspiration with his gentle but firm manner and helpful hints on how to make walking a pleasure. Catriona, the yoga teacher maintains a high standard each time and Donal, deep tissue masseur is the best I've had anywhere. The expertise of the staff combined with the peaceful surroundings, excellent, healthy and freshly prepared food make Cloona very special indeed. The group size (max 12) is just about right and the evening sauna rounds off the day perfectly. This is not a spa resort folks, this is the real thing. Just try it.

Room Tip: There are only a few en-suite rooms which are quickly booked up. The rest are just as cosy but you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
2.0 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
990 reviews
2.0 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
586 reviews
2.7 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,449 reviews
4.2 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloona Health Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloona Health Retreat

Address: Cloona, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Westport
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Retreat Centre is a lovingly converted old woolen mill on three levels, with bedrooms all upstairs. The first floor bedrooms are all en-suite, the top floor bedrooms have shared facilities. The Centre is in a rural hill-side setting just three miles from the heritage town of Westport and beside Croagh Patrick, Ireland's holy mountain. The property has views over all Clew Bay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing