We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely one night in Westport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westport Coast Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Crossmolina, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely one night in Westport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Had a one night stopover in Westport and arrived at this hotel. Very friendly and efficient check in, spotlessly clean room and bathroom. Went out to eat at the nearby Helm and returned to the hotel for a nightcap, comfortable bar with some very good live music. The breakfast in the morning was excellent, good effort made with fresh fruit, bread, croissants etc as well as the good hot buffet, and the coffee was good. Would return. (But please oil your squeakly lift!)

Room Tip: We were not there to admire the scenery, and had a room overlooking the car park which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkelly096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, Manager at Westport Coast Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It was a delight to read that had such an enjoyable experience. We appreciate you feedback and hope to welcome you back to the Carlton Atlantic Coast in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Patrick Shields,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    239
    92
    20
    7
See reviews for
227
381
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunleer, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

I wouldnt go back in the setting of 4*. Definately did not meet the standard of same. Bar man and night porter made us feel welcome and livened the atmosphere. Ayurveda treatments amazing. .highly recommended. Other than thst nothing vreat to report. Make dure to visit The Tower bar &restsurant across the road. Food great as well as service.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The hotel is not very well signposted and can be easily missed being part of a terrace of shops facing an uninteresting pond/lake near a pretty ugly fishing port. The car park is again easily missed. The welcome from the receptionist was cold and disappointing although efficient and fast. The room was clean, comfortable and fairly run-of-the-mill. The view was non-existent as we looked out on to a cliff face above a carpark. The Pool is great for kids and well kept, though the changing facilities could be bigger. The staff in the spa were very friendly and efficient and I had a fantastic massage there. The food is very good both for breakfast and dinner. Overall , despite some negatives, the Atlantic Coast is a good hotel which could be a great hotel with a little extra effort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We are just back from this lovely hotel in clew bay! it really was excellent but i do have some views i would like to shar eor suggest to make it even better:

Our only minor tiny weeny flaws

1. Beans is a must at breakfast, also the availablility of a paper at breakfast is nice also
2. The pool sauna is class but the jacuzzi was cold and lacked any bubbles...not so relaxing as wud be ideal
3. The rooms are very clean and tidy, however for a four star i would suggest the decor could do with an update or modernisation.
4. The evening entertainment could have been better

The positives

1. The complimentary bike hire from the hotle was excellent! saved a few £ too in times of budget hol
2. Very impressed they did not charge for swimming pool hat either (most hotels do, so pleasant surprise)
3. Excellent staff
4. Very clean
5. Great breakfast
6. Excellent fish cafe

Room Tip: Ask for bay view, we didnt and i wish wwe had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

visited family last weekend, stayed here by chance, we had a good night of sleep, good breakfast, very well looked after but our dinner in Blue Wave Restaurant on the top floor was the one to remember - very different, very tasty, just amazing - 5 stars to the Chef, we'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalwayAllmighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

From the moment we arrived it was the perfect experience. The hotel was spotless, warm and welcoming. We enjoyed a fabulous dinner and breakfast in the Blue Wave Restaurant on the 4th floor. The hotel is ideally located. The staff were amazing, they could not do enough for us, a special thanks to Ann Collins for all her help in making our holiday possible.....
We cant wait to go back again. At the foot of Croagh Patrick on the Shores of Clew Bay could not be more apt. There was no noise at all and we slept really well. There is so much to do in Westport and surrounding area. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eithneog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
346 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights and had a full Irish breakfast every morning. We also had two evening meals downstairs in the bar which I'd recommend over the hotel's Blue Wave Restaurant on the 4th Floor. Food wise there's not much to choose between the two but the atmosphere is better in the bar and there's plenty of choice seating wise. The hotel is on the Quay at Westport which is a good mile or so from the main town centre but there other facilities on the Quay in an evening. The spa pool was ruined by the water temperature being too warm to swim in. Great if you just wanted a soak.

Room Tip: Only a limited number of rooms face on to the Quay/front so ask before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_Of_The_North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
3.7 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Coast Hotel

Property: Westport Coast Hotel
Address: The Quay, Westport, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Atlantic Coast Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Westport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#6 Family Hotel in Westport
#7 Business Hotel in Westport
#9 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westport Coast Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westport Coast Hotel is Westport’s Waterfront Hotel located on the shores of Clew Bay. This superb family run hotel is located in the stunning harbour area and within walking distance of Westport Town, via the award winning Greenway. With 85 newly refurbished bright and spacious bedrooms, you have a choice of Waterfront View rooms and suites. Enjoy breakfast and dinner in our rooftop Waterfront Restaurant while taking in breathtaking views of Clewbay and Croagh Patrick. Relax in our Coast Bar which overlooks Westport Harbour and enjoy music and dancing on selected nights. Unwind in our brand new Spa Veda, Irelands premier Ayurveda Spa complete with Thermal Suite, Swimming Pool and Jacuzzi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westport Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Atlantic Coast Westport
Hotel Carlton Atlantic Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing