We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel but could be a lot better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westport Coast Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Easy to find at Westport Quay, we arrived early evening & had difficulty at first in getting a space in the hotel’s free (& very tight) car park but we persisted & eventually, after several minutes, a space became available & we got parked up. Check in was quick, friendly & informative & we were quickly in our non smoking room.
The room was adequate & functional without having any exceptional qualities. A comfortable bed, tv, tea/coffee, wardrobe, dining table, smoke alarm, full length mirror, trouser press. No air con which meant that the room was very much on the too warm side. No issues with noise from inside or outside of the hotel.
Our bathroom was clean & ok, size wise, with bath, fixed head shower with good pressure & enough hot water, shaving socket, hairdryer, toiletries & towels.
Breakfast was good, served by attentive staff with full fry, cereals, toast, croissants, yoghurt, fresh fruit, cheese, cold meats, tea, coffee & fruit juice.
We ate in a local restaurant & didn’t use the hotel bar so, I can’t comment on food & drink. We didn’t use the leisure centre but we did go for a look at it & it seemed to be quite impressive, not overly busy, very clean, a pool, kids pool, sauna & steam room. Towels were provided.
In a nice location, approx 1 mile from the centre of Westport & 200 metres from the entrance to Westport House & 10 to 15 minutes drive from Croagh Patrick & the National famine monument.
A decent hotel without being anything special, I can’t put my finger on what it was that made it feel, to me, more like a good 3 star than a quality 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Gaildorfblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead C, General Manager at Westport Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. As new owners/management we greatly appreciate your feedback on the various aspects of your stay. We have undergone many changes and improvements since taking ownership of The Westport Coast Hotel and we have many more improvements planned. I would like to thank you for your comments in relation to your check in, room, breakfast, Leisure Centre, and location and I greatly look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not to distant future

Kindest Regards
Sinead Conway
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,012)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

853 - 859 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Me and my partner visited the Westport coast hotel in Mid-April and enjoyed it.
The hotel is in a quiet area over looking the quay witch was a bonus.
The food was amazing and im still raving about it.
Few small bad points was I requested a FF room and this was not done? I wasn't even told about no availability and therefor are room was looking out at a car park. I personally thought attention to detail was poor.
Other than that the breakfast had a wide selection of everything.
We will return again as we did enjoy it but will be requesting a FF room again.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room as if you get a back facing room you will be over looking a dull car par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick-K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead C, General Manager at Westport Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you fro choosing to stay in The Westport Coast and for taking the time to share your experience with others, I and truly sorry to learn that having requested a front facing room you were allocated a rear facing one and without explanation or apology and I deeply regret that as a result you were left disappointed and felt our attention to detail was lacking. On a positive note I was delighted to learn that you found our food amazing and that you will be returning in the not too distant future.
We greatly look forward to welcoming you back

Kindest Regards
Sinead Conway
General Mnager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay at the the Westport Coast Hotel.The staff were very friendly, food was excellent.Great view from the restaurant. Room was comfortable. Nice leisure center.. Would recommend ,looking forward to staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead C, Manager at Westport Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience of The Westport Coast hotel with others, I was delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found our staff friendly, food excellent and rooms comfortable we greatly look forward to welcoming you back again in the future
Kind Regards
Sinead Conway
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed a three night two dinner package at this hotel, friendly, helpful staff, excellent room and facilities and first class food, I cannot fault any aspect of this excellent hotel. Strongly recommend to all.

Room Tip: Book a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 141ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead C, General Manager at Westport Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your 3 night break with us here in The Westport Coast hotel and I would like to thank you for recommending us to others who may be looking at Westport as their holiday destination. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future

Kind Regards
Sinead Conway
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We paid a visit to this hotel while staying in Westport as we had heard the food was really good and we certainly were not disappointed in fact we returned the following evening for more ! We were waited on by Chris on the first evening and Chloe on the second both of whom were very friendly and returned to our table at various stages to ensure all was in order. The restaurant was full on both occasions which was good to see but we didn't have to wait too long for a table and our food was served very quickly . The food itself was fantastic from the pasta with spinach and cream the paninis and the gourmet burger but the roasted red pepper and mango soup topped it all. We all agreed it was probably the best soup we ever had, and even are nine year old son said the soup was "EPIC" so what more can you say ! Well done to all involved and keep the standards up as we will definitely be returning on our next visit to westport !

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank DOD65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead C, General Manager at Westport Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your dining experience at The Westport Coast Hotel with others. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed the food and service and in particular to learn that your son described our soup as EPIC. As a parent myself I know how important it is to have a menu that not just appeals to adults but also to children so I am delighted with his comments. It will give me great pleasure to pass on your kind comments to all involved in making your dining experience a memorable occasion
Kindest regards
Sinead Conway
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Very satisfied with my stay at this hotel. The food was excellent and the hotel staff couldn't have been better. The seafood chowder in the bar was the best I've had and the room was very comfortable. Thanks to all the staff at the Westport Coast hotel. See you again very soon

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DannyMalone80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead C, General Manager at Westport Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review and for sharing your experience with other tripadvisor users. I would like to thank you for your kind comments in relation to our staff and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments about our food and in particular the seafood chowder to our head chef and his dedicated team.
We greatly look forward to your return.

Kind Regards
Sinead Conway
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

great family hotel in good location for young children. park across street & Westport House a short walk away. lovely breakfast. friendly staff. poor wifi service. no ac in rooms. would recommend & would stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Funmummy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Westport
2,127 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#5 of 13 in Westport
1,716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 13 in Westport
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
964 reviews
1.7 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Westport
1,468 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 13 in Westport
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Coast Hotel

Address: The Quay, Westport, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Atlantic Coast Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Westport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#6 Family Hotel in Westport
#7 Business Hotel in Westport
#9 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range: £63 - £521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westport Coast Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westport Coast Hotel is Westport’s Waterfront Hotel located on the shores of Clew Bay. This superb family run hotel is located in the stunning harbour area and within walking distance of Westport Town, via the award winning Greenway. With 85 newly refurbished bright and spacious bedrooms, you have a choice of Waterfront View rooms and suites. Enjoy breakfast and dinner in our rooftop Waterfront Restaurant while taking in breathtaking views of Clewbay and Croagh Patrick. Relax in our Coast Bar which overlooks Westport Harbour and enjoy music and dancing on selected nights. Unwind in our brand new Spa Veda, Irelands premier Ayurveda Spa complete with Thermal Suite, Swimming Pool and Jacuzzi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Westport Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Atlantic Coast Westport
Hotel Carlton Atlantic Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing