We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey hotel, outside the town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westport Coast Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pricey hotel, outside the town”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I stayed here as part of (one of several) stag groups over a weekend. There were several hen parties staying here too so don't come looking for a quiet getaway. Reception staff were adequate, without being welcoming or friendly. Breakfast was all self service and standard fare. The view from the top floor breakfast room is fantastic with Clew Bay and Croagh Patrick both prominent.
The hotel was very pricey for a standard 3 star hotel, especially given how far it is (about 2km/25 mins walk) from the centre of town - however, it was a Saturday night in August.
Parking is free and the resident's bar was open till about 3.30am.
No wifi in rooms and no O2 reception in a lot of the rooms - apparently it's a known issue.
On the plus side, though it is outside the town, it is in a lovely scenic spot and there are several bars, shops, restaurants on it's doorstep and the hotel is largely modern and clean.
Love Westport - wouldn't be mad on this hotel again unless the price came down about 50%.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    244
    94
    20
    7
See reviews for
234
386
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Married my daughter at Lecanvey church along the coastal road to Louisburg. Reception was at Westport Coast hotel. Sinead and the staff were fantastic. The tables were laid out beautifully. Nothing was too much. While we were waiting for the car to take the daughter and I to church, the receptionists offered us both a glass of wine to calm our nerves! Food was amazing. Four fabulous courses. Their organization was top notch. Value for money second to none. The charm and hospitality of the people from this beautiful town vindicated my decision to marry my daughter here. Highly recommended

Room Tip: If you can get a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel has obviously been recently upgraded to keep the standard of the group and is very comfortable.
While the bar is quiet, it is very pleasant and has good bar menu. Rooms are comfortable and modern with what you'd expect and staff are knowledgeable and friendly.
Would recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Declan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our large party of 19, made up mostly of visitors from the USA,were really well taken care of and thoroughly enjoyed the food and the pleasant ,helpful approach of all the staff.
The location is great for a group with diverse interests and hobbies -cycling from Achill, golf, Westport House, walking and visiting local pubs.
Thanks to Emma and the staff group for their attentiveness-we will be back.

Room Tip: Harbour -facing and if possible on 3rd floor-as with open windows in the June air, outside conversat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

First time in Westport, the hotel is in a good location, nice setting, little bit far to walk into town with two small kids. Staff were excellent very pleasant and the bar food and service was good. The spa treatments are fab and the kids loved the pool, would definitely recommend the hotel for family break.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolores O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We were delighted with our harbour front room. Originally we were only going to stay 1 night but on seeing our room decided to extend our stay to 3 nights. It was clean and well presented. Staff pleasant and helpful. Meals in restaurant lovely and staff friendly. Overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tairua73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 night b&b deal with a spa treatment and dinner at waterfront restaurant. Breakfasts and dinner were very good. Staff were good and friendly. Had a great massage at the spa. Room was very clean and comfortable bed however twice I found medications on the floor from previous guests which I was lucky to spot before my crawling baby did! Large TV and good shower. Pool and kiddies pool were cold though- much too cold for the baby. Overall was excellent value for 3 nights b&b, dinner and spa treatment. Was a really nice stay :)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SHowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
3.7 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Coast Hotel

Property: Westport Coast Hotel
Address: The Quay, Westport, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Atlantic Coast Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Westport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#6 Family Hotel in Westport
#7 Business Hotel in Westport
#9 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westport Coast Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westport Coast Hotel is Westport’s Waterfront Hotel located on the shores of Clew Bay. This superb family run hotel is located in the stunning harbour area and within walking distance of Westport Town, via the award winning Greenway. With 85 newly refurbished bright and spacious bedrooms, you have a choice of Waterfront View rooms and suites. Enjoy breakfast and dinner in our rooftop Waterfront Restaurant while taking in breathtaking views of Clewbay and Croagh Patrick. Relax in our Coast Bar which overlooks Westport Harbour and enjoy music and dancing on selected nights. Unwind in our brand new Spa Veda, Irelands premier Ayurveda Spa complete with Thermal Suite, Swimming Pool and Jacuzzi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westport Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Atlantic Coast Westport
Hotel Carlton Atlantic Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing