We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westport Coast Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Killyleagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Relax”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Return visit to Westport, pleased to see that this hotel remains as good as under its previous ownership. Food as good as ever, decor and furnishings updated and still comfortable, staff friendly & helpful as ever.
Disregard the previous complaints about noise, this hotel is just as quiet as almost any other you choose to mention. We had no disturbance from the street outside or from the corridors, and I'm a very light sleeper.
Go with an open mind and enjoy yourself! Life's too short to spend it looking for faults everywhere.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead C, General Manager at Westport Coast Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Westport Coast with other trip advisor users.

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and to read your comments in relation to the changes we have made. Its always rewarding to learn that a guest has been able to relax and enjoyed the food, found the staff friendly and the updated furnishings comfortable. We greatly look forward to welcoming you back

Kindest Regards
Sinead Conway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    251
    96
    20
    7
See reviews for
241
398
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here and were a little disappointed. Our room was the main problem. The lid on the toilet seat was broken with only a little bit left attached. It was replaced when reported but this should have been dealt with before we checked in. We also had to re-make the beds. My daughter found her bottom sheet all scrunched up at the end of the bed when she got in and our quilts were all bunched up inside the covers (which were also very tattered at the ends). We also found €2 on the floor by the bed!!

For breakfast we were put into an "overflow" room to sit at trest
le like tables and had to take cutlery, butter etc from other empty tables as no one came to check if we needed anything.

We had dinner one night and the food was fabulous. Fantastic flavour and nice choices. Would recommend a visit and ask for a table with a view of the mountains and Clew Bay.

We enjoyed our visit to Westport and especially the Greenway cycle. Got bikes from Clew Bay Bike Hire as we had used them before and were very happy with their great service.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead C, General Manager at Westport Coast Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. I was most disappointed to read your comments about the maintenance and housekeeping issues which you experienced and I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologise. I can assure you that this is certainly not in keeping with our usual high standards and for this we are truly sorry.

I would also like to thank you for sharing your experience of The Waterfront Restaurant, its always rewarding to learn when someone has had a fabulous experience and it will give me great pleasure to pass on your comments to all involved.

We greatly look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future
Kindest Regards
Sinead Conway
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

The Coast bar and bistro restaurant is part of the Coast Hotel complex and is situated at Westport harbour.. We have stopped here on many occasions and have never been disappointed at the quality of food we received. Fish lovers are well catered for but a full menu is available to satisfy all tastes. Friendly staff,good food and spotless facilities make this venue well worth a visit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead C, General Manager at Westport Coast Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to read your kind review and I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely thank you for sharing your experience with others. We have recently introduced new menus and increased the choices available so we now feel that there is something to suite all tastes.

I would also like to thank you for your kind comments about our staff who we are truly proud off.

We greatly look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards
Sinead Conway
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dromahair
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel for two nights this week, bedrooms very comfortable and clean, food both breakfast and dinner were first class, the staff could not do enough to make our stay more pleasant, wifi connection a bit weak on the third floor, would definitely recommend this hotel, and will be back. One of the jewels in west ports crown!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerrygs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I stayed here as part of (one of several) stag groups over a weekend. There were several hen parties staying here too so don't come looking for a quiet getaway. Reception staff were adequate, without being welcoming or friendly. Breakfast was all self service and standard fare. The view from the top floor breakfast room is fantastic with Clew Bay and Croagh Patrick both prominent.
The hotel was very pricey for a standard 3 star hotel, especially given how far it is (about 2km/25 mins walk) from the centre of town - however, it was a Saturday night in August.
Parking is free and the resident's bar was open till about 3.30am.
No wifi in rooms and no O2 reception in a lot of the rooms - apparently it's a known issue.
On the plus side, though it is outside the town, it is in a lovely scenic spot and there are several bars, shops, restaurants on it's doorstep and the hotel is largely modern and clean.
Love Westport - wouldn't be mad on this hotel again unless the price came down about 50%.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Married my daughter at Lecanvey church along the coastal road to Louisburg. Reception was at Westport Coast hotel. Sinead and the staff were fantastic. The tables were laid out beautifully. Nothing was too much. While we were waiting for the car to take the daughter and I to church, the receptionists offered us both a glass of wine to calm our nerves! Food was amazing. Four fabulous courses. Their organization was top notch. Value for money second to none. The charm and hospitality of the people from this beautiful town vindicated my decision to marry my daughter here. Highly recommended

Room Tip: If you can get a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel has obviously been recently upgraded to keep the standard of the group and is very comfortable.
While the bar is quiet, it is very pleasant and has good bar menu. Rooms are comfortable and modern with what you'd expect and staff are knowledgeable and friendly.
Would recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Declan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,001 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
1,428 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,043 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,029 reviews
3.7 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Coast Hotel

Property: Westport Coast Hotel
Address: The Quay, Westport, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Atlantic Coast Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Westport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#6 Family Hotel in Westport
#7 Business Hotel in Westport
#9 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westport Coast Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westport Coast Hotel is Westport’s Waterfront Hotel located on the shores of Clew Bay. This superb family run hotel is located in the stunning harbour area and within walking distance of Westport Town, via the award winning Greenway. With 85 newly refurbished bright and spacious bedrooms, you have a choice of Waterfront View rooms and suites. Enjoy breakfast and dinner in our rooftop Waterfront Restaurant while taking in breathtaking views of Clewbay and Croagh Patrick. Relax in our Coast Bar which overlooks Westport Harbour and enjoy music and dancing on selected nights. Unwind in our brand new Spa Veda, Irelands premier Ayurveda Spa complete with Thermal Suite, Swimming Pool and Jacuzzi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Westport Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Atlantic Coast Westport
Hotel Carlton Atlantic Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing