We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury, Value for money and Great staff!”
Review of Hotel Westport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Westport
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury, Value for money and Great staff!”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Thanks Hotel Westport! Beautiful room and really friendly staff. They even made us packed lunches for our cycling trip on the greenway. Everyone of the staff were friendly and welcoming without exception. Hotel is right near the town rooms are 4 star quality. Enjoy! :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idr938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    329
    118
    56
    27
See reviews for
314
409
25
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We organised a weekend away for our parents for Christmas and then decided to go the following February. The Panda Club is very good for kids even the adults to took part in the family quiz in the evening as well !!

There was a superb level of service for such a large group. We really had an enjoyable weekend thanks to the staff of Hotel Westport !! Recommend a great relaxing weekend for all the family !!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed in Hotel Westport last Saturday night as part of a weekend away cycling. I loved this hotel. The staff were lovely from when we checked in, our room wasnt ready as we arrived early, so we waited in the bar, and they came and found us with our key when the room was ready.
The room was lovely! Really nice decor, gorgeous bathrooms, really comfortable. The only thing i think was missing was that there was no water, as a lot of hotels i have stayed in recently have a few bottles of complimentary water available in the room.
We went cycling, and when we got back the hotel stored my bike away securely until the following morning.
Ordered breakfast in bed, which was lovely, and we were a bit late checking out, but there was no knocking on the door or phone calls to the room like some hotels do. I will definitely be going back, will stay for more than one night the next time!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbellaw, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Westport is a very popular, unspoilt town for holidays and shopping, and has weathered Ireland's biting recession well. In consequence, It's often difficult to get accomodation there. We went to this busy hotel on a discount weekend break recently.
It has an unimpressive appearance at first, looking a little like a school, but things are much better once inside. It's located on the northern edge of town only a couple of minutes walk from the main street, yet is very secluded and peaceful, with no traffic or pub noise. There's abundant parking.
Our room was spacious and well decorated, with all the expected four-star facilities. Unexpectedly, there was a big balcony through french doors, as we were on the top floor.
The room had been heavily smoked in. The smell was obvious every time we came in. Due to today's smoking laws, we were unaware we had to request a non-smoking room ! Many american hotels heavily fine those who smoke indoors, and use the money to clean the room. Perhaps this should happen at Hotel Westport.
Otherwise, the room was fine ( loved the artwork - no drippy landscapes ), requiring only an update, especially to the ensuite. We could hear every word spoken next door too, so proper soundproofing of the party walls would be a good idea at the same time?.
Both food and service were good in the busy restaurant, as was the house red, from a wide wine menu. Breakfast was served quickly from a buffet, but toasting one's own bread took some of the shine off it. There were no croissants and poor scope for a continental-style breakfast, with little fruit, cheese or sliced meats on offer. The evening menu was also somewhat limited and conservative.....only one type of bread available....but the food itself was fine. Our waiter was terrific.
The dull bar also needs refubishment, with tired furniture and decor, compensated for by an excellent barman!
Overall, the hotel staff were very good - helpful, with friendly greetings and smiles. They were the same at the pool ( 20 metres), and fitness room, which was well equipped and airy.......with proper fluffy towels.

Room Tip: In this hotel, you'll need to ask for a non-smoking room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 57Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We have just returned after five wonderful days in Hotel Westport Room Lovely. Food beautiful. Staff excellent We are both in our mid 60s and we were so well looked after. See you next year.

Room Tip: Prem rooms are a little extra but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincynorthernireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We upgraded to a premier room. Well worth it..although the original rooms have been re.fitted with new bathrooms and are very nice indeed! We personally love the professional manner of this hotel and the effort taken to ensure your stay is as good as can be. We did miss the little extras like slippers and bottled water.. But overall hotel westport nailed it

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taperjeangirlDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We booked in for christmass at hotel westport and we were meet with a warm welcome from all the staff,there was many activites fo young and old people to do. The room was top class.
The food was outstanding everynight that we ate in the restaraunt ,the hotel ran a bus services from the hotel to the church for mass with was handy.
The services was brilliant and it was great to see the manager of the hotel there on christmas eve and day to wish us all a Happy Christmass.
If any one is planning on going away for christmass i would highly recomend this hotel as it runs one of the best Christmass programs ive seen in a long time

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annoymoous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.9 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
920 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
850 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,038 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,636 reviews
0.8 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westport

Property: Hotel Westport
Address: Newport Road, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westport 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Westport is secluded in 7 acres of beautiful woodland in the heart of Westport, Co. Mayo. They are renowned for their theme breaks, Golden Years, Golf, Walking, Murder Mystery, Bridge, Indoor Bowling, Theatre Breaks and Family Holidays.The Hotel has 129 bedrooms including 6 Suites and 48 newly extended and refurbished Premier Rooms, offering guests a more luxury and stylish sophistication. Other facilities include their Award Winning Ocean Spirit Spa & Leisure, Hair Salon, Maple Bar and Islands Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing