We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel Westport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Westport
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Two nights on family break with one dinner included.
Reception/Staff- Helpful, except the personnel from Bistro.
Food - You can find around muck better places for quality and price.
Room - Old and poor equipped (old TV set, old bathroom, no good duvets or pillows)
Leisure/Pool - The only good thing in the hotel.
Internet access - Poor Wi-Fi quality in the room, OK in the lobby/reception.
Unfortunately, will never come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sandiebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

940 - 946 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

Loved the location of this hotel, quiet and secluded, but within a short stroll of the town centre and Westport House. The staff were fantastic, couldn't do enough for us to make our stay enjoyable. We upgraded our room as we were travelling with two small children and it was well worth it as the rooms were spacious and well appointed. The breakfast was ok, it kept the hunger from the door, but I think the quality and standard is something this hotel can look into to really compete with the other Westport hotels.Sleep quality was a factor, the beds were very soft, the pillows very hard and the duvet cover was far too big for the duvet....seemingly a small niggle but surprisingly annoying at 3am!!! I was also irritated by the fact that the children had to be out of the pool by 6pm. I felt this was unreasonably early for a 'family' hotel meaning if we wanted to avail of the pool we had to be back in the hotel before 5pm and this was not practical and clashed with swimming lessons held in the pool as well. I think the hotel should consider extending this to 7pm for the summer months, which I would consider acceptable, still allowing the adults 'child free' time for three hours. Other than that little gripe, we loved the seperate toddlers pool, our little lady took her first strokes without a supporting hand....and the 'bubble pool' as our son christened it. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay and will keep it in mind if we return to Westport again.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can, we felt it was worth the small premium for the modern, extra comforts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Attended a family wedding at the hotel on Friday of the bank holiday weekend and have to say that the whole experience was fantastic and this is down to the wonderful staff. From Noreen at Reception who checked us in to the Accommodation supervisor who sorted us out with a sewing kit for emergency repairs to a dress hem, the amazing Panda Club staff who kept the kids entertained, serving staff at the wedding and restaurant staff at breakfast, especially the young trainee manager with long dark hair ( sorry I can't remember your name ).
Only small piece of constructive criticism is that while the food at the reception was piping hot, plentiful and tasty the service was disjointed with no manager seeming to take control of the room and direct staff, Obviously this was managed from the pass but the instruction seemed lost when staff hit the floor.
Hotel was spotless with rooms having all of the usual amenties with the added bonus that the function room is located to the opposite side of the hotel to the bedroom block meaning no music or smokers outside disrupting non wedding guests.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snudge73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My wife and I and our 2 kids stayed for 2 nights and from first greeting everything was absolutely first class. Our room was great size and absolutely spotless. We had lunch in the bar on both days and the food was excellent but the service provided by colleen was exceptional,she is a great asset to the hotel. The bar manager John is a very warm and welcoming person willing to help with any query. Overall we had a great stay and hope to be back soon !!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b00b0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Beautiful,quiet,in the town yet in a secluded location, lovely hotel by the riverside.
Nice pool with this hotel & always seems to be quiet so you can relax.We have been here 3 times & cannot say anything wrong about it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fran-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I cannot recommend this Hotel enough. The staff - all the staff - are wonderful and that includes the restaurant staff.
About the restaurant - we purchased the meal plan with our 3 day reservation. We expected the usual meal plan - pick beef or chicken, etc. Unbelievably, every menu, every night was a 3 to 4 course meal with 8 or 10 special chef creations for each course - and each meal, each course, was exceptional.
The reason we chose the Hotel Westport was its location to town - a 100 yard walk - so you were away from town but did not have to drive to enjoy a pint at Matt Malloy's. But the hotel was so much more than that.

What a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maithgoleor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

had a great midweek stay here last month. fantastic hotel. staff friendly and nothing was a problem for them, what ever you needed. food was lovely i had the steak. the room was also nice. shower and decor of room upto date and nothing looking worn. will be back for another stay here soon i hope.

Room Tip: just book this place you will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEILMCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.9 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,040 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Westport
2,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 13 in Westport
1,122 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#5 of 13 in Westport
1,764 reviews
0.8 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Westport
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westport

Address: Newport Road | Newport Road, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Westport
Price Range: £103 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westport 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Westport is secluded in 7 acres of beautiful woodland in the heart of Westport, Co. Mayo. They are renowned for their theme breaks, Golden Years, Golf, Walking, Murder Mystery, Bridge, Indoor Bowling, Theatre Breaks and Family Holidays.The Hotel has 129 bedrooms including 6 Suites and 48 newly extended and refurbished Premier Rooms, offering guests a more luxury and stylish sophistication. Other facilities include their Award Winning Ocean Spirit Spa & Leisure, Hair Salon, Maple Bar and Islands Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Stayforlong S.L., Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing