We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”
Review of Hotel Westport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Westport
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed here over Christmas 2012 for two night in a premier room. Room was very nice, quite spacious with a large bathroom, however the pillows were like rocks!!! Ate in restaurant our first night there & was not all that impressed with food there or indeed the service, the same applies to breakfast, not good. In fact the food in the bar was of better quality that the restaurant.

The leisure centre was adequate & I also used the spa facilities which for me were the best part of our stay in hotel. Fabulous treatments by a fantastic staff member.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank locat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    324
    110
    53
    27
See reviews for
303
396
23
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Stayed here one night with friends. We did not book nthe hotel in advance and they would not move on the price.
Our room although ok had an old fashioned TV and looked on to the rooftops.
Breakfast was ok
Dinner in bar was fine.
Hotel overpriced

Room Tip: Ask for a premier room for the prices they charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rossedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Over nighted on a work trip arrived late snd was very well looked after by the staff. Dinner in the bar was very good value and the live entertainment was fun. Breakfast was delicious and the waiter was very helpful as regards dietary requirements.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raghallaigh_ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Excellent food. Copious breakfast with quality products. Dinner was excellent. Beds were comfortable. Fabulous bathroom with Premium rooms. Staff very nice and efficient.
On the down side, the hotel was overheated and the bedroom AC difficult to get right. Synthetic quilt and pillows. Lighting in dining room was depressing.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rory O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee Co Kerry Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My wife and I booked a two-night mid-week stay at this lovely hotel and were greeted by an extremely friendly Receptionist. She provided us with all relevant info for our visit and welcomed us to the hotel. Dinner, on both nights was both very well presented and superbly cooked (Chef knew exactly how to cook the fish to a T !). An enjoyable meal each night - even if the wine was a little expensive. Really ample buffet breakfast both mornings after a good rest in comfortable bed. All-in-all a worth while stay in an hotel where everyone of the staff we met had a smile and cheery word for us. Well done, Mr Henegan, you run a great establishment!
Marjorie and Bob Whelan, Tralee.

Room Tip: Room refurbishment is, presently, ongoing...helpful staff WILL guide you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weebob1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Hotel Westport was a bit disapointing. Waited in Lobby for 30 mins to check in. Only one person checking people in. Leisure Centre very disappointing - not suitable for buggies. Steps up to leisure centre, changing rooms tiny, tiles falling off wall, showers tiny. Grubby.

Room Tip: Rooms very hot and cramped
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KayDiviney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

If you are looking for a genuinely family-friendly hotel, look no further. Our two children, ages 5 and 7, LOVED this hotel. We stayed for 3 nights, and they went to the excellent Panda Club every day. The Panda Club is ideal, with lots of fun activities throughout the day, like treasure hunts and discos. Plus the kids can go to dinner with the Panda Club, and then play for the rest of the evening, leaving mum and dad to have dinner together. All of the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful - nothing was a problem, and they made our stay so easy and enjoyable.

Its proximity to Westport House is another bonus - we got two days' admission included in the price of our stay, which itself was extremely good value.

As others have mentioned, it is definitely worth upgrading to the premium room. We did, and the room was spacious, very clean and very comfortable, even for four of us.

We will definitely go to Hotel Westport again, and recommend it very highly to families.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Premium room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KOR471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.9 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
2.9 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westport

Property: Hotel Westport
Address: Newport Road, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westport 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Westport is secluded in 7 acres of beautiful woodland in the heart of Westport, Co. Mayo. They are renowned for their theme breaks, Golden Years, Golf, Walking, Murder Mystery, Bridge, Indoor Bowling, Theatre Breaks and Family Holidays.The Hotel has 129 bedrooms including 6 Suites and 48 newly extended and refurbished Premier Rooms, offering guests a more luxury and stylish sophistication. Other facilities include their Award Winning Ocean Spirit Spa & Leisure, Hair Salon, Maple Bar and Islands Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, HRS, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing