We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel”
Review of Hotel Westport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Westport
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
london . united kindom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

we stayed their just a week ago,july 23 2014, but have stayed their many many time before and its almost like coming home, the reception saying welcome back, and then when we got our very big rooms , relaxed for a while till it was time for our evening meal which was delightful as usual, then the entertainment was so exciting, and with a few cocktails . had a very good night's sleep. then we went for a full english breakfast which was wonderful did not need lunch , but in Westport town we did have tea and scones which went down a treat, Stayed 4 nights and tried to get 2 night more but they were fully booked, So will be back soon to meet you all again,,,

Room Tip: All of the ones i have stayed were quite as it toke away in the the woods and away from the town, on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    328
    118
    56
    27
See reviews for
312
409
24
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ennis , Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Family stay with interconnecting rooms; good acomodation finished to a good standard, have stayed here a number of times but not for a few years, premium rooms are of a good quality with seperate bath and shower, kids club available, staff in bar especially friendly.

Negative - Pool/leisure centre has seen better days - no towels available on our visit, leisure centre staff had a very curt attitude.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEAWAVES1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel, very nice hotel with good location and easy walking distance of westport town centre. Staff were friendly and helpful.
The breakfast selection was good but have had better and also you had to queue at the toaster and make your own toast.
The bar food is excellent and very well priced.
The decor in the bedroom was a bit dated and there was a big box of a tv (thought all hotels would have flat screen tv's)
We had a pleasant stay but a little over priced. A few adjustments required to bring hotel up to 4 star quality and service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0ses123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights over a busy weekend very friendly staff excellent food in the restaurant at night and lovely pool facility's
Only downside was the breakfast selection was not the greatest compared to other hotels I have stayed in

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tripmember0615201623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were comfortable and clean, our room had a balcony with a table and chairs which we were delighted with because the weather was so warm.Hotel is a nice stroll into town centre.

The highlight of our holiday was the Legend of Grainne Mhaol show which is on in the hotel every Wednesday night. It was absolutely brilliant. I have never before seen so many talented people together on stage. I would really recomend the show to anyone making a trip to westport.Well done to Pierce for production of the show. Wish we could be there to see the show again.

Room Tip: Our room with balcony was good because we could leave the door open while in the room but otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stayatit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I can really echo the previous reviewer's comments about this hotel, ie it is ideal for families, but not really great for couples who are looking for a quiet break. However, it does have some very positive points, particularly the location - it's a short 5 minute stroll along the river into the lovely town of Westport which has lively cafes and interesting shops. The hotel is modern and the room was clean, fairly spacious and well-appointed. The bathroom had a walk-in shower and looked as if it had been updated fairly recently.

The pool was heated to just the right temperature - always a bonus, and the sauna and steam room were perfect. The hot tub has an annoying feature which is that you have to wait for 10 minutes between each session. There is a small section of the pool reserved for lane swimming, so it is possible to swim without being interrupted by children, but the pool area is very busy and noisy.

Breakfast is chaotic and not at all peaceful, but the quality of the food is good. It's true that you might have to wait to be seated, although if you go earlier, you can avoid this. We ate dinner in the restaurant for the first night we were there - it was OK, mercifully quiet(!) but limited in choice. The second night we ate in the bar - a much more pleasurable experience as there was more choice and a livelier, more comfortable atmosphere.

Would I stay here again - not if I wanted a peaceful, romantic break. But it's a really great place for families.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJaneUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

There is nothing wrong with this hotel, however there is nothing to get excited about. It caters very well for families with young children, and as a young married couple who wanted a chilled out weekend, it didn't really suit us. The comments about waiting for a breakfast table are right, although we didn't care but I could see other residents getting pretty wound up by this. My main gripe was I couldn't order a bottle of wine at the bar, I could only order from a small selection by the glass!! This was bizarre and resulted in us spending loads of euro on wine as each glass was nearly 8 euro. We didn't eat in hotel apart from breakfast; quality of breakfast food was fine. Spa and pool area was ok, again kids everywhere which wasn't ideal as they took over the pool. We escaped into the jacuzzi as they weren't allowed in there. When changing though there were loads of kids flying in and out of the changing rooms half naked, meaning when you were trying to get your own wet clothes off you were often exposed to a few dads peeking in at you! Not ideal. Also was told I couldn't use spin bikes without getting gym managers permission? Bizarre. Anyway, in short, if you have a young family and aren't looking for anywhere posh, this is the place for you in Westport

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loveholliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.9 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
916 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
846 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,032 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,631 reviews
0.8 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westport

Property: Hotel Westport
Address: Newport Road, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westport 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Westport is secluded in 7 acres of beautiful woodland in the heart of Westport, Co. Mayo. They are renowned for their theme breaks, Golden Years, Golf, Walking, Murder Mystery, Bridge, Indoor Bowling, Theatre Breaks and Family Holidays.The Hotel has 129 bedrooms including 6 Suites and 48 newly extended and refurbished Premier Rooms, offering guests a more luxury and stylish sophistication. Other facilities include their Award Winning Ocean Spirit Spa & Leisure, Hair Salon, Maple Bar and Islands Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing