We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place for group of friends or family re-union”
Review of Rosturk Woods

Rosturk Woods
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rosturk Woods
Ranked #47 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Spent the June bank holiday in this fabulous spacious but homely 6 bed house. The photos don't do any justice to the house or the garden or the games room or the beach at the bottom of the garden. The best equipped kitchen of any rental house which makes it ideal for cooking in. Wood provided for lighting fires in the very spacious and cosy sittingroom. The bedrooms are of a very high standard with lovely views. So much to do in the area including the Greenway, spending time in Mulranny or day tripping to Achill Island. Would love to go back again and to spend more time in this house and the area.
Eileen

Room Tip: The house is deceptively spacious.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EileenRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
There are newer reviews for Rosturk Woods
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for the perfect self catering holiday in Ireland this is the place to go. The house is just fabulous. Everything you need is here and of the highest standard. The setting is unbelievable, just a short walk through the woods (private walkway) with a waterfall to a fabulous beach. The owners are so helpful and make you feel at home. I would highly recommend Rosturk Woods for your holiday and I am looking forward to another holiday there in 2013.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank luvfood721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Rosturk Woods provided a peaceful haven at the end of each day. We wanted to stay near to where our family lived in the 1800s. Hosts Alan and Louisa were wonderful hosts and even introduced us to neighbors who provided wonderful family stories. We walked the ground where our great grand parents lived and relaxed in the pleasant three-bedroom self-catering home. The home was comfortably furnished, spotlessly clean, and full of books on Ireland and of general interest. We enjoyed the view of the bay and took long walks each day and around to the near-by castle, ignoring the "private" posted sign to take a peak. A small grocery store is available three miles away and good eating in near-by bars. We never traveled more than an hour from our home base as we wanted to really delve into the culture. I'd recommend Rosturk Woods to anyone who wants to stay in one place while visiting Ireland. It is a 3.5 hr. drive from Dublin Airport.

Room Tip: One has a small balcony overlooking the Clew's Bay
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy_Roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I need to be upfront here and say I have stayed many times in Alan and Louisa's beautiful self catering houses on the edge of Clew Bay as Louisa is an old friend of mine. (is this allowed TripAdvisor?!) But having just stayed all around Clare and Connemara, arriving back to Rosturk Woods made me appreciate even more just how lovely and comfortable a place it is. Every detail has been considered, so whether choosing a good book from the huge array available and tucking yourself up in a armchair beside the open fire, cooking a huge meal for the family in the completely equipped pretty kitchen, or doing something more energetic its difficult to better this place in this wonderful location. That's why I am far from the only person to come back year after year!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMHDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2007

This place is an absolute haven, a place to go to unwind and relax in total comfort with a very high standard of self catering accommodation.
It would be perfect for a group to share and cook together and also perfect for couples.
We were blessed with sunshine when we visited, the house is just a short walk through woods to the beach, which we had almost to ourselves. And what a lovely beach with an impossibly romantic castle perched on the rocks nearby.
The nearby village of Mulranny is very nice and there is a lovely hotel here too, and the views over the beach from the village are stunning.

The hosts Alan and Louisa are helpful and charming. they have thought of everything to make this place perfect to stay in.
We loved it and hope to visit again.
Mirtha

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mirtha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
0.3 mi away
Hotel Newport
Hotel Newport
#1 of 2 in Newport
204 reviews
6.2 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
578 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
975 reviews
0.4 mi away
Greenway Bed & Breakfast
Greenway Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 7 in Newport
5 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anchor House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosturk Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosturk Woods

Address: Mulranny Road, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: £80 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing