We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always good”
Review of Mocha Beans

Mocha Beans
Ranked #5 of 6 Coffee & Tea in Westport
Cuisines: Irish
Restaurant details
Westport, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“always good”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

the food and coffee are always good if sometimes a little more pricey than similar places. Service a bit disorganised but coffee worth waiting for.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scalliwag25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    0
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Brunch”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is a great addition to the Westport circuit. Lovely menu, nice comfy booths. I had smoked salmon egg bagel with a latte both were excellent and service with a smile.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mcsorley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlebar, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great cafe”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

was in mocha beans with family for lunch food was excellent they do a variety of different food great place to eat

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gracie4409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure!”
Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

As you head out towards the railway station, stop at the shopping centre & sample the delights of mocha beans! It's a lovely place for coffee, scones, breakfast or lunch. The salads are large & very tasty. The wraps, paninis & sandwiches are delicious & filling. The warmed scones are a treat & the coffee is superb. There is always ample staff on hand to serve you with your food & a welcoming smile. I always make a stop here on my frequent visits to Westport, you should too!

Helpful?
2 Thank raidy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
526 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
“Great Snacks - but NOTHING beats "Mocha Beans" Coffee”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Recipient of several "Tidy Towns" awards, and voted "Ireland's Best Place to Live 2012", Westport, County Mayo is also blessed with many attractive restaurants and cafes. Most of these are dotted around the Town Centre, but a short trip out the Galway Road (towards the Railway Station) brought us to another excellent venue : "Mocha Beans" at the "Westpoint Shopping Centre". This daytime cafe serves great Snacks, but we thought its coffee was absolutely "Best in the West" !
Years ago, we hugely enjoyed a "Mocha Beans" outlet in Galway City and the Owner (Cathal Keogh) has now apparently opened a number of franchised units, including the Westport cafe. As fans of REAL coffee (made from the Mocha Chain's own specially roasted beans, we are told) we were delighted with the move.
While the cafe interior is a bit dull, service (visibly led by local Owners Ronan & Siobhan) + food / drink quality more than compensated. "Mocha Beans" Food Menu includes Melts & Wraps (from around Eur 7.20) and Salads (priced up to Eur 8.50). Other offerings include an "All Day Breakfast" (Eur 7.50), a Kids Menu (Baked Beans on Toast, Spaghetti on Toast, etc. : Eur 3 approx.) and a selection of mainly homemade scones, croissants, muffins, cakes etc.
At the risk of being repetitive : the centrepiece is definitely COFFEE - Eur 3 for a large Americano and Eur 3 - 30 for a large Cappucino. Delicious ! (If you're so inclined, you could of course pick from their large selection of Teas)
For eats we had a simple Toasted Ham & Cheese Sandwich & a tasty Chicken and Bacon Salad (beware the generous "Mayo Portion")
High on our "Mocha Beans Coffee Hit" we cheerfully paid the very reasonable Eur 18 - 40 Bill and also bought a bag of their Coffee Beans to take home. Yes - you might have guessed - we will certainly be back !

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gooner10_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mocha Beans also viewed

Westport, County Mayo
Westport, County Mayo
 
Westport, County Mayo
Westport, County Mayo
 

Been to Mocha Beans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing