We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, nice spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Castlecourt Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, nice spa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

Very friendly staff. The hotel staff went out of their way to help when we had a problem with the mattress on the bed being too soft (all the mattresses are new!). The Spa is nice, bit small, but the treatment rooms are very relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katyd95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    361
    128
    49
    28
See reviews for
406
541
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

Have been going to this hotel complex for around eleven years now for Bowling breaks.
Where do I start, food is excellent, service excellent, staff excellent.
Well as you can gather I am a big fan of this hotel.
This hotel is owned by brother and sister Joe and Ann Cochrane. Do not be surprised if you are served in any part of the hotels by either Joe or Ann as they are hands on owners.
This hotel I have noticed has kept a lot of the same staff for years and therefore you are guaranteed first class service. Go there once and I am sure if you go back the reception staff will remembre your name on sight.
We had just arrived home on a Friday after a great week when one of the group I was with received a phone call to say he had left his camera behind, It arrived first class post Monday morning. Small personal touches make this hotel outstanding.
I have no hesitation at all in recommending this hotel to everyone, should they be from Ireland or visitors to Ireland, you will be treated special in the Castlecourt hotel complex.
We have already booked in for November 2011 and February 2012.
Gerard Devlin
Armagh City

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerardDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

Having stayed in many hotels in Ireland,this hotel has got to be the best,it has the combination of class and comfort in just the right measure,from the warmth and comfort of the bar and bedrooms to the intimate and relaxing dining experiences in the restaurants to the several relaxed seating areas around the hotel.We were so impressed we put together a few verses of a poem about the hotel called " The Castlecourt Hotel",,each line of the poem begins with each letter of the name;

This is a story i just had to tell,
Heers! to the staff for doing their jobs so well,
Everyone out there just give them a bell,
Clearly,i'm referring to The Castlecourt Hotel,

Always greeted by staff with a smile,
Spa sula makes it so worth while,
Treatments done with exceptional style,
Leisure facilities that go the extra mile,

Evening entertainment galore,
Courtyard Bistro,who could ask for more,
Orchard Restaurant,a dining experience you'll adore,
USA,UK and Europeans all know whats in store,

Rosaleen Joyce,one outstanding member of staff,
Thanks to everyone for Not doing their jobs by half,
Here they will swap your worries for a laugh,
Oh,how you hate to return to your own gaff

Thermal Suite where calming effects are their aim,
Even guaranteed to help lift every pain,
Last but not least weddings and Petie Joe's Bar are part of its fame.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenwood9828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

Stayed in one the rooms with four poster bed - great room with complimentary wine and water. Comfortable, huge bed and very quiet. Pleased to note that hotel have placed reminders around the hotel that other guests are resting which I had never seen in any other hotel and it is a nice reminder for everyone to keep the noise down. Great staff, great food, music in bar and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oakwood-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

Brilliant hotel! Staff very friendly! We'd the best craic ever in the hotel's bar both nights of our stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous44186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

The service in this hotel is wonderful.Very well managed with the best staff we have ever encountered.The food, the rooms, the amenities are just excellent.We have stayed here on many occasions and always find it a wonderful experience.We have no hesitation in recommending it highly.It is a credit yo the family, the management and all the staff. It gives great value for money.

Vera and Vincent from Dublin.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincent186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

Found hotel with ease, excellent directions on website. Parked car in the underground car park (no charge) and checked in, within 5 minutes. Room was clean and warm, one double bed and one single. Sheets new and spotless, bathroom was clean and had a small supply of soap, shower gel, shampoo and moisturiser, plenty of clean towels too. No complaints about either the hotel or staff. They are all friendly and welcoming - but we found this to be the case of all the people in Westport - lovely folk!! We booked for 3 nights b&b to include 2 dinners, our daughter was b&b only (her dinner was of 9 Euro, starter, main and sweet! Couldn't beat that!! Breakfast was a buffet, plus a cooked breakfast as you liked. The dinners changed every night and the service was excellent.

The bar in our hotel was "old style" but not "old fashioned" and the prices were good too. They had nightly entertainment, if you fancied a dance, we went to our room early (have a child aged 10) after a hard days site seeing we were all tired. So just chilled out in the room - it has coffee making facilities and a TV - but no fridge or mini bar.

We used the swimming pool every morning which was great (you need a swimming hat, 3 Euro at the swimming pool reception). There is a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna all of which you can use at no extra cost. However the Spa facilities are additional. We didn't try the Spa, on this visit.

We have no complaints about this hotel, wonderful Westport or Croagh Patrick (which we climbed). Great spot!!

Enjoy your stay ..... lucky you!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NornIron123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlecourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlecourt Hotel

Property: The Castlecourt Hotel
Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Westport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#5 Family Hotel in Westport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castlecourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Castlecourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecourt Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing