We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Castlecourt Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Just home from a few days at the hotel and have to say this is def not a 4* hotel. We had to move rooms because the first room was musty, small and curtains had cigarette burns. The second room was ok except for the bathroom which was so old fashioned! The staff were lovely though. The breakfast wasnt very nice and we were kept awake on fri night by drunken stags and noise from the nightclub very close by! Definitely a pretty negative experience, and one that we will not be repeating, so disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deediddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlecourt1, Manager at The Castlecourt Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay with us in the Castlecourt Hotel.

I deeply regret that your stay was interrupted by other loud guests which unfortunately can happen on rare occasions in any hotel. We normally have staff or security on duty who monitor and check the corridors to ensure a peaceful nights rest.

I was most concerned to learn of the problems you experienced with your room, as this is not the normal feedback which we receive and I deeply regret that the standard of the room did not reach your expectations.

I would like to thank you for your favorable comments about the staff .

I deeply regret that I did not have the opportunity to speak to you in person at the time however I would greatly welcome the opportunity to restore your faith in The Castlecourt Hotel and would be most grateful if you would contact myself personally or any member of our management team as we would like to have the opportunity to make it up to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    361
    128
    49
    28
See reviews for
406
541
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Just come back from a two night stay at Castlecourt Hotel. The hotel is clean and comfortable and in a very good location. This hotel has all amenities that you would think would make the perfect weekend break - apart from the stag parties! We were rudely interrupted on saturday night whilst sitting in the lounge by one of the stags that was soooo drunk he could barely speak - but could speak enough to be rude and aggressive we had to call on staff to help us remove him from our party. Then there was the sleepless night yes we paid this hotel a lot of money so that we could be awakened at 04.00hrs by constant door slamming and door banging and general rowdyness! When we checked out this morning and complained we were told that we were not alone and that staff had to take/escort some of the stags to there room due to there poor drunken condition!
The Castlecourt hotel needs to decide what type of hotel it wants to be one that caters for familys and couple weekend breaks or one thats caters for hens and stags - Castlecourt you cannot do both decide where your future lies as we will not be staying again!!!!!

Room Tip: ask to be put away from any large groups of people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jologirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlecourt1, Manager at The Castlecourt Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay with us in the Castlecourt Hotel.

I was most disappointed to read of the problems which you experienced during your stay and I would like to take this opportunity to apologise. I deeply regret that your stay was interrupted by other rude guests which unfortunately can happen on rare occasions in hotels. We normally have staff or security on duty who monitor and check the corridors to ensure a peaceful nights rest.

I would like to thank you for your favorable comments about the hotel and I am delighted that you found the hotel clean and comfortable and were happy with its location.

I deeply regret that I did not have the opportunity to speak to you in person at the time however I would greatly welcome the opportunity to restore your faith in The Castlecourt Hotel and would be most grateful if you would contact myself personally or any member of our management team as we would like to have the opportunity to make it up to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Had a brillant few days stay in this hotel. Staff were brillant, as we had sick child and they were so helpful even helped us get a doctor. Room was brillant size to cater for our family and
clean and tidy. Colouring packs on arrival for kids were a lovely touch. Would recomend to our family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in July, lovely hotel, great location, very plesant staff, nice room and breakfast was plentyful! Spa is a must! Food in the bar was nice for lunch!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rio0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

Just returned from midweek deal for 3 nights b@b and dinner on 2 evenings. The whole experience was great. We arrived on the 8th of july with our 3 young children, 5 , 4 and 2. We had been a little bit aprehensive in relation to comments regarding noice throughout the night but throughout our 3 night stay we all slept very well with no noice in a very comfortable and spacious family room. Throughout the hotel all staff seemed to be very highly trained and so friendly.
The kids club is excellent with a bar just outside whuch allows the parents to relax while the children are enterained. The staff in the kids club are great with the kids and i have to say its the best run kids club i have come accross over the last couple of years.
We had dinner in the orchard on two evenings and the food was excellent along with the service. The breakfast is not a buffet so it makes such a difference compared to other 4 star hotels to have a fresh breakfas compared to breakfast lying around for hours. The plaza which is the sister hotel is just accross the yard and is great for lunch.
The leisure centre is ok but meets the needs for the children in relation to the swimming pool.
We had such a great experience we ended up staying for a forth night and hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Great Location,Handy Parking, Good Food, Well Trained Staff and Terrific Value for Money....
The Best in Westport for all Travellers!

Room Tip: At the Back of the Hotel off the Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Castlecourt Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments.
I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit to The Castlecourt Hotel and in particular that you found the Food Good, parking handy and that overall you found the hotel to be terrific value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

Had a night stopover, nice place, but dodge the buses, as it becomes chaos. We chose to eat in the " Fine Dining" restaurant which was not good - to the credit of the Hotel when asked of our experience I advised of the substandard meal the receptionist insisted we would not pay for the meals. Perhaps we were there on a busy night.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Castlecourt Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review The Castlecourt Hotel following your recent stay.
I was truly disappointed to learn of your dining experience as it is not the usual feed back which we receive and I would like to take this opportunity to offer my sincere apology. I also regret that you experienced difficulty in the car park due to the arrival of a coach Tour.
Once again Thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlecourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlecourt Hotel

Property: The Castlecourt Hotel
Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Westport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#5 Family Hotel in Westport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castlecourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Castlecourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecourt Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing