We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Castlecourt Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just returned from a fantastic Golden Years break in this fabulous hotel. Where great food, fantastic accommodation and excellent customer service is the norm for all the staff. From our first point of contact with Donna in the RDS,through our booking and eventual stay the hotel team could not have been more friendly. Thanks for a fantastic break and we will be back.
Paddy & Joan
Dublin

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade with the 4 poster bed and your own jacuzzi bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinireland186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    989
    361
    127
    49
    28
See reviews for
406
540
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We’ve stayed at the Castlecourt Hotel on numerous occasions in the past 6 years. My wife and I held our wedding reception there and quite recently our baby boy’s Christening party as well and attended many banquets and other events in between. Every time we go there we find the experience one to be remembered . Firstly ‘the home from home’ atmosphere that is so poignant in the castlecourt , you just feel like you are home again. The outstanding service from check in till check out is so evident. It’s just not us - people who have experienced the Castlecourt tend to go back for more.
It’s hard to explain what makes it so special – could it be the great service you get at the check-in and check-out and everything in between, could it be the freshly cooked breakfast at your leisure, the luxurious comfortable rooms, could it be the great session in the evening at Petie Joe’s bar or the impromptu chats with other guests while sitting in the lobby relaxing with a hot toddy. The Staff and management are extremely efficient, kind, caring, very customer focused and they cant do enough to make your stay pleasant and memorable. And what’s more they make it so effortless that no matter who you are you would think that your are the only one special guest in the hotel.!!!! Rest assured, you will go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ge0rge4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

A bit if confusion with my spa appointment but was sorted eventually.. dinner service was a bit slow.got our starters quickly but were left with our empty plates for a bit too long while waiting for our main. .
Breakfast was very busy our waiter was josh and he was fantastic even though the room was packed our service was fantastic and very quick!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcd89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Had a great time in Westport when we stayed at the Castlecourt. We could easily walk to the shops and pubs, and a quick ride to the harbor. Jonathan at the bar is a great resource for local historical info. Did I mention that they make the best Irish coffees?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlecourt1, Manager at The Castlecourt Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to post your review. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Situated in the heart of the town and just a short distance from the harbor we are ideally located for availing of the many amenities which the town has to offer. It was great to learn that you enjoyed the Irish coffee also.
Looking forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards
Liz Conway
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Hard to know what to say about this hotel without being unfair to it. We stayed for two nights mid week and the deal we got was excellent value. The hotel is clean and well looked after and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The room (we had a deluxe) was spotless, as were the towels and the bed was the most comfortable I've slept in for a long time. The location is excellent, right in the town of Westport. There is a but..... The clientèle for the most part were over 60 and the hotel seems to cater for this age group. The music in the bar was awful and the one night we ate in the restaurant they were setting up for breakfast around us from 9pm. We were the only people left there at 9.30pm (our table was booked for 8.30). The food was okay, but definitely nothing special. Breakfast was nice and served very quickly. The hotel gives the impression that it is used to catering for large groups, as everything is set down and cleared a little too "efficiently" to sit back and enjoy. We ate in the Plaza (attached hotel) on the second night and the restaurant there was excellent. The Castlecourt was definitely not for us, but at a function or as part of a larger group (maybe a tour), I'm sure it would suit fine

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe Room. Ask for the second floor as the lift does not go directly to the third and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinMouseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We visited the hotel for a weekend break. The hotel was very busy, but everything was excellant, food, room, staff and spa. Seems to be a popular spot for younger people but we enjoyed our stay. We plan to visit the hotel again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vincent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlecourt1, Manager at The Castlecourt Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience of The Castlecourt Hotel with others. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your weekend break with us and that you found the food, room, staff and spa excellent we greatly look forward to welcoming you back

Kindest Regards
Liz Conway
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Staff to me were very unhelpful and uninviting. Wifi was decent. We stayed on the 3rd floor, where there was no direct way to, we had to leave one elevator to then walk the length of the hotel to get to the next in the end we ended up taking the stairs with our bags. Room was clean but furniture was worn looking. Breakfast was disappointing, range was in buffet was poor and I ordered the full Irish off the menu which was very small and not a lot in it. Overall very disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for room on first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelGeoghegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlecourt1, Manager at The Castlecourt Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest
I was most disappointed to read your review and I deeply regret that your stay with us did not meet with your expectations and for this I would like to apologise. I also regret that you did not bring your disappointment to my attention at the time as i would have welcomed the opportunity to meet with you to discuss in person the matters which you have raised.

Once again thank you for your comments and I hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to The Castlecourt Hotel in the not too distant future

Kindest Regards
Liz Conway
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlecourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlecourt Hotel

Property: The Castlecourt Hotel
Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Westport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#5 Family Hotel in Westport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castlecourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Castlecourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecourt Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing