We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel can recomend it to anyone.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Castlecourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Castlecourt Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel can recomend it to anyone.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here from April 27th for five nights.The hotel was excellent and staff very professional and friendly. The food in the Orchard Restaurant was first class as was the service.Every night live entertainment. In the bar.We are looking forward to going back in the near future.
Edward Co Tyrone

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwardKathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    356
    127
    49
    27
See reviews for
398
532
23
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Worst experience ever in regard to checking in and checking out. We were kept waiting for 10 minutes while the receptionist informed us - at least three times - that she had just come on duty and that was why she couldn't check us in. (Sunday 4 May at around 3pm)
She then proceeded to ask the completely un-necessary and extremely intrusive 'did we share the same surname?' Have stayed in hotels all over the world and never ever been asked that...
Checking out was just a complete farce - the hotel managed to lose our check-in documents -they had either been misfiled, or taken by someone - the form included credit card details and the hotel was then unable to close our account. Meaning that - whoever had taken the document had access to credit card details and could have run any bill up. The fact that - she had worked there for 16 years and that it had never happened before and that it would 'be fine' didn't really cut it with us. Having worked in the hotel industry for many years made us aware that this situation is precisely how scams happen - and also that the check in document should be kept - an audit of the hotel would require sight of those documents. Took some 30 minutes to sort this out - and while one receptionist did apologise profusely - the other - who had actually lost the document in the first place never said a word.
Eventually the transaction was cancelled and another done with the promise that the bank would refund the original transaction within 2 days - watch this space!
This whole experience spoilt our stay in what was a lovely hotel in Westport which is one of the nicest small towns in Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Castlecourt is wonderful destination to go to. The hotel room was very comfortable and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel itself is a 2 minute walk from the main street in Westport which is an added bonus. I would have no hesitation in coming back to the Castlecourt Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I booked a hen party for 12 girls and we were very well looked after. The booking process was simple and everything flowed perfectly. We enjoyed the spa and had a lovely dinner in the Orchard Restaurant. Rooms were great and the staff couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The rooms were nice and spacious, the beds were extremely comfortable, like sleeping on a cloud! There was a great selection at breakfast, something to please everyone.
The leisure centre changing rooms were messy, and the pool was crowded, but I imagine that was due to the very busy easter holidays. I'm sure they would have been cleaner at a quieter time.We reserved three triple rooms, but the hotel didn't locate them together. There was also a small mix up and one of our rooms had a double and a single bed, instead of three separate beds. The receptionist was very apologetic so I was happy with how the hotel handled it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
226 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights (Friday and Sunday) over the Easter break while cycling the Greenway to Achill. Both rooms we had were large and clean and had everything we needed. There was some road noise from the front facing rooms and when we changed to a back facing room on Sunday night, had a much better rest. We used the facilities of the leisure centre to ease our aching muscles after the long cycle which was a nice treat and not too busy at 6pm in the evening. We ate in the bistro on the Friday night, food was just ok, too much butter used in the cooking for my liking especially the mash. Friendly staff and good spread at breakfast, would have no problem staying again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and spent two nights here over Easter. Upon arrival we parked and the first thing I noticed while walking through the courtyard was take away bags among the shrubbery. We arrived at the reception desk and checked in, got out room cards and proceeded to the room. We entered the room and discovered that there was no electricity in the room, called reception who advised that there was a tripped switch somewhere and that it would be seen to straight away. 20 mins later still no power so I called reception again and was told that someone would see to it straight away. 10 mins later we finally had power. We were staying in one of the deluxe rooms and to be honest it was a very dated standard room with a four poster bed. The bathroom was very dated and the tiles were in bad need of updating. It was a very busy weekend in the hotel and at any time you could hear kids running around and screaming but the most horrendous thing was on our first night a fire alarm was set off and we could hear the porter arguing in the corridor with a group of girls AT 4AM because one of them decided to smoke in the room... Stay well clear!!!!!!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Leinsterlass212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.0 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#6 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 15 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlecourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlecourt Hotel

Property: The Castlecourt Hotel
Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Westport
#5 Family Hotel in Westport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castlecourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Castlecourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecourt Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing