We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good, well managed hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Castlecourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Castlecourt Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A very good, well managed hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a stag weekend and it was absolutely fine for this purpose. This hotel is a sister and adjoining property to the Westport Plaza and therefore the complex is BIG with all the facilities that you may need - big bar, restaurants, swimming pool etc. I used the Spa for a thermal session costing €15 - a little bit of paradise and luxury for an hour and a half. I had the place to myself on a Saturday evening at 5.30 and felt very privileged !! It also soothed my body after climbing Croagh Patrick.

Westport is a GREAT town and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Strongly recommend the Spa. My room was at the front and was triple glazed so have no real suggestio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivanpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    971
    356
    127
    49
    27
See reviews for
398
531
23
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was part of our tour of the west and holidaying at home – very nice hotel.

Everything from check in to, dining, bar service and food was of a very high standard.

It is linked with the plaza next door to it but I prefer the older style hotel and this was equally as nice...

Westport is a beautiful town and the hotel is only a few minutes stroll into the main area. A popular area for hen parties by the look of it!

There is a nightclub belonging to the hotel – on check in we thought this might cause noise but we never heard a sound – had a great nights sleep!

Thanks to all the staff who do a great job!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed here a few years ago with my husband and we loved it. I returned this year with a group and it had only improved. Great hotel, lovely rooms and staff. Food was gorgeous and we dined in every night. Good entertainment on nightly and considering there was a busy conference on the same time we were there, there was no sense of rush or pressure. Really enjoyed our break - so much so the group all asked to return their next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buffy051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for one night dinner bed and breakfast. The receptionist at check in was very friendly and informative although we were there slightly early the rooms were ready. The leisure centre pool is huge and very clean couldn't fault, had a drink in bar very friendly service and got served almost straight away even though it was quite busy.
We had an inclusive meal in the orchard restaurant what an amazing meal the lamb was to die for and dessert was amazing. The breakfast was first class fresh fruit plenty of fresh bread and cooked to order breakfast and tea and toast bought out to you(no toaster machine here)
The only disappointment was that we only had one night here, will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 70beckyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayo
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

13 of us stayed in the hotel. Rooms very comfortable and clean.
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fresh and loved the way it was table service and not a buffet. Lovely hotel and central to the town. Very expressed

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gragruaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Having had a wonderful 3-day break in the Castlecourt Hotel last year with a group of older people, many with mobility disability, and their carers, we decided to return again in June of this year. The decision did not disappoint and we had an excellent stay. Check-in was smooth and hassle-free and rooms were clean, spacious and several were specially adapted for people with disabilities.
Food was excellent, especially the freshly cooked breakfasts which were a delight. All the staff were very helpful, courteous and patient with everyone.
The atmosphere throughout was lively and the evening entertainment varied and much enjoyed.
I would highly recommend this hotel as an ideal venue for a relaxing break with a group, with high quality facilities and service, and great value for money

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarkLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

16 of us stayed at the castlecourt hotel on the June bank holiday weekend. We had a fantastic time. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food excellent and those of us who had treatments can't say enough about the staff. Overall a great place to stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breege50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.0 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#6 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 15 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlecourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlecourt Hotel

Property: The Castlecourt Hotel
Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Westport
#5 Family Hotel in Westport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castlecourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Castlecourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecourt Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing