We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another enjoyable stay in westport!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Castlecourt Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my partner for one night in mid June. We got a very reasonable rate through booking.com and the hotel was excellent value for the money.

The rooms and decor are a little dated and the furniture a little scuffed but the room was clean and had the basic amenities. The first room we were shown was overlooking the kitchen fans and we requested to be moved and were given a quieter room overlooking the carpark. The next morning when housekeeping had alot of the room doors open it appeared alot of the rooms may be overlooking the kitchen top so it may be worth clarifying what room you want are checking into prior to arrival. Also other roomswill face onto the busy street.

The hotel is in a good location with it being less than a five minute walk to the main bars and eateries.

I had stayed in the Westport plaza in may. The castlecourt is the more worn of the two sister hotels and lacks the modern open feel of the plaza. There is no minibar or larger spa baths as in the plaza and the communal areas arent as open and decor is much more dated. However this is reflected in the price difference! If its a friendly hotel to put your head down then the castlecourt will more than suffice! Breakfast was almost identical in both hotels.
Would recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaydiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

833 - 839 of 1,712 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights while attending a wedding. Our room was very disappointing , dull & extremely small , very tight , with not much room to move around the room also the window looked out over a roof towards a wall , not great !!!! We were located close to the lift but some rooms have a good walk to & from lift/reception area beware if you have walking issues. Both our room & hotel was very clean & the staff were extremely friendly. We ate in the bar, toasted sandwich & soup grand. The second night in the bistro the menu wasn't overly inviting , food was bland & atmosphere dull it felt like i was eating in a school/work canteen . Breakfast was great , good choice & quick efficient service , staff very helpful Spa was fine with an outdoor hydro-pool nice place to relax. The girls in the on-site hairdressers were so friendly & professional great if you want a nice up-do for a wedding , highly recommend . The best thing about this hotel is it's location just a short stroll into the main street.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank procus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 midweek nights with 2 dinners included.

On the positive side:
The location is great. The hotel's just on the edge of town, only about a 2 minute walk to the main street.
The leisure centre is also a big plus - a good swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. The restaurant and front desk staff were friendly and there's lots of car parking space.

A couple of drawbacks:
The food was pretty underwhelming and had a very 1980s feel to it - prawn cocktail, melon balls, bacon and cabbage, black forest gateau, rice pudding, etc. It was all very edible but a boring menu.
The room was a bit on the small side and the bathroom cramped (toilet right up against the wall). Also, the room didn't have air con. In fairness, this usually wouldn't be a problem in Ireland but the nights we stayed were very warm so the lack of AC made it a bit uncomfortable.
There isn't a lift that goes straight from the ground floor to the 3rd floor. For some reason, you need to get off on the 2nd floor and go on a bit of a walk to another lift that goes from the 2nd to 3rd floor. It wasn't a big deal for us (just annoying) but it might be a bigger inconvenience if you're in any way immobile.

Overall, the positives far outweight the few negatives so we would stay here again. We'd probably not include dinner next time though.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SF3415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have stayed in this hotel twice, most recently in June 2014, it's very central and a short stroll has you in the lovely town of Westport. The hotel itself is very clean and welcoming and the staff are just brilliant, so helpful and friendly. I will definitely stay here next time I visit Westport.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed for two nights. Hotel is clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms not as plush as I was expecting. No little extras that you would expect in a four star. The birthday lady was 80 and we had a room quite a distance from reception. Even from the lift the walk was quite exhausting. Found steps to the Leisure facilities which made the journey in and out of the hotel easier. Plenty of tea and coffee in room. Would stay again. The service is of a very high standard and should be commended. However there are a lot of people with disabilities and while the staff are considerate the hotel itself is not overly user friendly. The big pluses are the staff, the parking and the proximity to the centre of Westport. You can also make use of the leisure facilities and the pool looked great.

Room Tip: Make sure the hotel know if there are any requirements regarding disabilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mise17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Castlecourt hotel is situated in the centre of Westport town, very convenient. My husband & I have stayed in this hotel several time, we find the hotel staff are very friendly, they make you feel welcome. The food is good & the staff in the dining room are very efficient, room is quite spacious too. Will we go back to stay again? Certainly, we will!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jentze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a stag weekend and it was absolutely fine for this purpose. This hotel is a sister and adjoining property to the Westport Plaza and therefore the complex is BIG with all the facilities that you may need - big bar, restaurants, swimming pool etc. I used the Spa for a thermal session costing €15 - a little bit of paradise and luxury for an hour and a half. I had the place to myself on a Saturday evening at 5.30 and felt very privileged !! It also soothed my body after climbing Croagh Patrick.

Westport is a GREAT town and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Strongly recommend the Spa. My room was at the front and was triple glazed so have no real suggestio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivanpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.0 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Westport
2,121 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,007 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Westport
1,462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 13 in Westport
1,101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 13 in Westport
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlecourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlecourt Hotel

Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Westport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#5 Family Hotel in Westport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range: £74 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castlecourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Castlecourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecourt Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing