We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel, very helpful, friendly staff and great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Castlecourt Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely hotel, very helpful, friendly staff and great food!”
Reviewed 25 November 2010

We stayed at the Castlecourt as part of a large group of adults and children. We booked a family room for two adults and two teenagers. The room was really nice and the beds were extremely comfortable. The room was also nice and warm. The staff on reception were friendly and efficient and dealt with a large amount of bookings calmly and politely. The staff in the restaurent were top class and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. The food was lovely. Myself and my friend are both vegetarians and we were really impressed with what we chose. Our teenagers really enjoyed the swimming pool. Finally, I loved all the artwork on display.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seahag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    376
    131
    51
    29
See reviews for
431
573
23
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Myself and my partner stayed for a night in the Castlecourt this August.

We received a lovely welcome from the lady on reception, who explained about the hotel facilities including the free use of the swimming pool.

Our room was was on a corner, so very large in size. The room itself included a huge bed, arm chairs, desk, wardrobe, flat screen TV, Iron and Ironing board etc. It was well decorated and extremely clean. The bathroom was also impressive and included a jacuzzi bath tub.

We ate in the restaurant that evening and enjoyed the food very much. Top quality food and excellent service. Would highly recommend dining here.

The location is fantastic and we ventured out that evening for a few drinks in the local pubs. The hotel is literally a short stroll from the heart of Westport. It felt great to be able to walk back to the hotel instead of worrying about taxi's etc.

We had a few drinks in the hotel bar before bed and there was a brilliant atmosphere in the place. Very pleasant staff and great local crowd.

We enjoyed a great nights sleep, followed by an all inclusive breakfast in the morning. The breakfast was without doubt, the best I have ever had in a hotel. Wide variety and even a hot fry up served to you (beats a buffet style one any day).

We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough to our friends and family. The main cause of this hotels success is the fantastic staff, please keep up the high standard!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MolMurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

I came to this hotel with friends for a wedding. All of the previously noted superlatives are true...great location, delicious food, fun pub, comfortable clean rooms and lovely grounds. Here's what I can add. I lost my sketch book and watercolors, with all the memories of my trip. I sent an e-mail to the staff when I got home and received a kind response from reception & housekeeping, saying they would look for my book. To my absolute surprise, my book arrive in the mail today, with a thoughtful note from the staff. It's people who make the difference, when you are having an adventure and far from home. The people at Castlecourt are top notch and will make the difference for you too!

Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank springsBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Even though the first impression over the phone was not great, we still booked an online break as hotels were booking out fast. Met the same person on check in who was very nice and very helpful.
Rooms are lovely but Staff are fantastic, from reception to dining (young waiter with long hair so nice & professional). Great location to wander around westport from and have a few in the local pubs. we had meal included, food and service excellent, also breakfast very generous & combined buffet but main breakfast served to you which makes nice change from usual buffet fry.
Really loved the atmosphere of the hotel, sat having some wine one night in one of the conservatory style hallways with lovely seating & really relaxing aspect, very chilled out. The hotel bar also lovely and had music entertainment night we were there. Bar staff are really really helpful & nice.
Only downside was the outdoor spa plunge pool is advertised a lot ( between castlecourt & westport plaza websites) but was disappointed that one can only use for free when getting a treatment or pay €15.00 per hour to use. Having said that, there were many reasonable treatments & very helpful girl on spa reception & i spose this helps to eliminate too many going to the plunge pool together but I felt 10€ or less would have been enough and may put people off using it.
Would definetly recommend this hotel and definetly planning on returning.
Free parking is also very stress free & just near the hotel.
Also caters very well for children which results in very happy, well behaved children in hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogiehaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2010

its very hard to suggest any tips or guidlines as everything is so well done.maybe one night of karioke instead of live music,just to get everyone involved and a bit of a laugh.otherwise excellent.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tucker95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayo
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Having decided to go to Westport for my hen night, I decided to book the Castlecourt for it's good location and the great deal that they offered us.I found the staff to be extremely pleasant and helpful.
The rooms were lovely. We had a fabulous meal in the restaurant they had a great choice which catered for the needs of everyone. We then explored the local nightlife as everything was in walking distance from the hotel.
We ended our night in the night club which has two floors playing music to cater for all tastes. didn't leave the dance floor all night.
Had a brilliant time and will definately be returning there again .

Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank galwaygirlatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

The reception area is designed in a way that is quite small and welcoming. The rooms are well decorated and quiet. The staff are friendly and very efficient. The food was excellent and well presented.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2elephants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
926 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
855 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,059 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlecourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlecourt Hotel

Property: The Castlecourt Hotel
Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Westport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#5 Family Hotel in Westport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castlecourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Castlecourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecourt Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing