We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Family Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westport Woods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westport Woods Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Great Family Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just back from a great 3 night break in Westport Woods. This is our fourth visit and it just ticks all the boxes for us. The food is really wholesome and the staff are really friendly and work really hard to keep things going. The kids club is great, our kids love it! The leisure centre is lovely too. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MayoBridie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HumanResoucesManager, Manager at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear MayoBridie,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the go!kids! club. It is our pleasure to go above and beyond for our valued guests. Our staff work hard each day in order to make our customers feel valued, and we are pleased that this was evident during your stay with us.

We look forward to your next stay, and want you to know that we truly value you as our guest!

Kind Regards,
Michelle Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    275
    125
    82
    75
See reviews for
389
287
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for two nights and felt it wasn't nearly enough. Pretty much everything gets full marks, the room, the food, the staff, the location. We had read the negative reviews and nearly cancelled but everything else we looked at was more expensive so we took a chance and were so glad we did. Far from being over-rated this hotel is, if anything, selling itself short. The location couldn't be better being walking distance from nearly every attraction in Westport. There is an entrance to the Greenway directly across the road and Westport house is just around the corner. We had no idea how beautiful the setting was and didn't know it is actually located on the lake. The only problem we encountered was the lack of bicycle racks and/or a bike shed - which could and should be quickly and easily fixed by the purchase of a bike shed similar to those many businesses now have which have combination locks that can be changed regularly. This was more than made up for by the accommodating staff who opened a locked room to the side of the hotel so that we could store the bikes overnight. Despite being up to their eyes at reception they didn't hesitate to help us out. The only other minor problem we had was that we tried a couple of times to contact the spa for a well earned massage but couldn't get through. The food was so good we thought we'd been presented with the wrong menu because we were on the family two night break offer which includes two evening meals. We couldn't believe the selection and the food was delicious and well presented. The waitresses were just lovely and so nice to the children, going well beyond the call of duty on more than one occasion. And to top it all off the sausages at breakfast were actually proper sausages that had been grilled not those horrible deep fried ones that so many hotels are doing now.The kids club is very well run and incredible value. All in all we are so glad we didn't change our booking and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms are very sound proof. Given the number of children in the hotel we were pleasantly surprised a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fcreegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HumanResoucesManager, Manager at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear frcreegan,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we really appreciate your lovely comments and feedback. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your family holiday and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We try hard each day to earn comments like these, and we will continue to do so.

We take pride in providing our guests with great, memorable family holidays and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, we appreciate your comments and we look forward to another opportunity to host you and your family at our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Michelle Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Just back from a lovely easter break with the family we all had a great time we were booked in for breakfast and dinner for 3 nights everything was lovely the even changed the menu every night which was good the staff all very friendly the kids enjoyed the kids club and the kids playroom but the playground very old and could do with revamp. We spent a great day at Westport house so much to do and so much fun make sure u visit the kids will love it and so will u
. All round we had a great break and would recommend this hotel cant understand all the bad reviews .

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HumanResoucesManager, Manager at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Patricia O,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for your positive feedback. We take pride in providing our guests with great, memorable family holidays and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, we appreciate your comments and we look forward to another opportunity to host you and your family at our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Michelle Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed in the Westport Woods last weekend with my family and we were very happy with the facilities and services on offer. We had complimentary coffee and scones on arrival with friendly service from all the staff, choice of either horse riding or a sea weed bath and a drinks voucher for each of the adults included in the deal. Fantastic value with use of the pool, steam room, sauna and gym as well. I hadn't read any reviews before we stayed but we enjoyed our stay so much I decided to put one in. I was amazed to see some of the previous reviews and would say that either there has been a total transformation or some over exaggerated reviews.
The room was well decorated with a flat screen tv and loads of channels. There was a fresh paint smell in the hallways so there has been some work carried out recently..
We had breakfast on both mornings and found a good selection of fruit, cereal's and a cooked food buffet which was refilled regularly, you might have to wait a few moments while this was done but you knew that the food was fresh.
The horse riding was a great idea which the kids and I loved. The stables were a few miles outside the town but directions from the reception staff were super and we got to see the scenery of Croagh Patrick from the other side. Overall we had a great time and really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HumanResoucesManager, Manager at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Liam O,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we really appreciate your lovely comments and feedback. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your family holiday and that you were pleased with our facilities, services and friendly staff. We try hard each day to earn comments like these, and we will continue to do so.

I was delighted to read that you and your children enjoyed horse riding with our stables, we agree that the views on these treks are absolutely panoramic!

Once again, we appreciate your comments and we look forward to another opportunity to host you and your family at our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Michelle Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful few days break in the west if Ireland this Hotel was very clean comfortable and friendly we ate in the bar as well as the restaurant and in both places were not disappointed as the food was really good. We also took a scenic drive with stunning views through mountains and beside lakes to the small town of Cliften and although this is a small town it has some nice places to eat with the Alcock and Brown Hotel named after the two men who flew the first transatlantic flight from Newfoundland and landed in Cliften. The little town of Westport has some really nice individual shops no multi stores there I had a seaweed bath in the beautiful spa and would highly recommend this so relaxing and again the staff were very friendly .

Room Tip: We had a very comfortable room on the ground floor the only drawback if I may call it that was that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edie4430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HumanResoucesManager, Manager at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Edie4430,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we really appreciate your lovely comments and feedback. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and availed of a relaxing seaweed bath in our luxurious spa.

Once again, we appreciate your comments and we look forward to another opportunity to host you at our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Michelle Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

My brother booked both our families into this hotel for a weekend break last weekend. I read some negative reviews and was worried. What are they talking about?? It was a great weekend. The staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms were modern, large and clean. The food in both restaurant and bar was great and there was a great atmosphere in the bar. We barely saw the kids, they loved the kids club and we all spent a few great hours in the amazing leisure centre. My little girl is a keen horse rider and signed up for a 2 hour beach ride on Sunday morning. We followed after her in the car to get photos - wow!! It was an amazing experience for her and great value. I think this extended family trip to this hotel is going to become a regular trip for us.

Room Tip: If you have children ask for adjoining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HumanResoucesManager, Manager at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Jamie M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we really appreciate your lovely comments and feedback. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your family holiday and that you were pleased with our facilities, services and friendly staff. We try hard each day to earn comments like these, and we will continue to do so.

I was delighted to read that you and your children enjoyed the go!kids! club, and that your daughter enjoyed horse riding with our stables, we agree that the views on these treks are absolutely panoramic!

Once again, we appreciate your comments and we look forward to another opportunity to host you and your family at our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Michelle Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel over this weekend twelve ladies in total . Having read the reviews just before I left I was very concerned. To my surprise the staff could nt have been nicer the poor english lady in reception bent herself backwards to please and accommodate us we all had treatments again girls in spa andrea and clare could nt do enough and are excellent. We only had breakfast in hotel and again it was lovely . So a big thank u to all at westport woods. Our only complaint was we did not have enough time to do everything we did the 42 k cycle startin in achill t is amazingly beautiful . If ur stuck for time or not very fit achill to newport is nicest.clewbay bike hire are just brillant so efficient nd provide an excellent service . Westport house only beautiful. We unfortunately did nt have time to do walks. We ate in the sage restaurant and the helm down at the pier one better than the other. We had such fun last night in the helm. Will definitely be goin back..

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DLally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HumanResoucesManager, Manager at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear D Lally,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we really appreciate your lovely comments and feedback. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your birthday stay with us and that you were pleased with our facilities, services and friendly staff. We try hard each day to earn comments like these, and we will continue to do so.

I was delighted to read that you and your friends enjoyed your treatments in our luxurious, relaxing spa with Claire and Andrea. It's a shame you didn't have enough time to complete all the activities you had hoped - but what a perfect excuse to come back!

Once again, we appreciate your comments and we look forward to another opportunity to host you at our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Michelle Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.4 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 15 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
3.3 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Woods Hotel

Property: Westport Woods Hotel
Address: Quay Road, Westport, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Westport
#5 Spa Hotel in Westport
#11 Family Hotel in Westport
#13 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Westport Woods Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit us at the Westport Woods Hotel and Spa for a fun and relaxing holiday in the West of Ireland. We have a range of breaks to choose from family holidays (with free go!kids! club), themed, weekend and golden years/over 50's breaks. Our guests love the Beech Club Leisure Centre with it's swimming pool and gymnasium, the teen adventure activities on the seven acres of our private woodlands looking down upon Westport House Loch and the space to relax and enjoy a great holiday or break. Everyone enjoys the regular local evening entertainment in the Bench Café Bar. Our unique location helps us specialise in romantic and memorable Wedding Receptions, created and designed especially for each individual couple. Make an appointment with our Wedding Coordinator and she will gladly show you what we have to offer you upon your Big Day. We offer one of the few approved hotel equestrian based holiday centres in Ireland, with excellent beach and mountain packages available all year round visiting areas in Clew Bay that very few visitors rarely get to see. Check out our current and best special offers on our web site. The hotel is easy to find, just a couple of minutes drive from Westport town centre on the Quay Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TravelUp so you can book your Westport Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westport Woods Hotel And Spa
Westport Woods Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing