We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Location,Wonderful hospitality, delicious food, fantastic value for very competitive price.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mulranny Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mulranny Park Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick
1 review
“Gorgeous Location,Wonderful hospitality, delicious food, fantastic value for very competitive price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

Service was efficient and friendly. The food in the restaurant was gorgeous, really good and tasty breakfasts and wonderful evening dinner. The location is stunning and as the weather was wonderful during our stay so we did'nt use the leisure facilities but swam in the blue flag sea, accessable on foot across the road via a causeway. we never used the car for the duration of our 5 day stay. Our room was comfortable and quiet, as we had requested.
I loved the hotel except for the bar which I thought lacked character. I would have liked entertainment but being off season I understood the absence.You can hire a bicycle at the hotel and cycle a track on the old railway route but novices beware It is a challenge particularly coming back. A big plus was the marvellous value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LimerickLadyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    281
    92
    53
    13
See reviews for
334
374
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

We stayed there last week for 5 days. Sunday to Friday. The hotel is lovely and with a few tweeks it could be perfect.
A few things happened that in fairness to the staff were rectified straight away.
On the first night when trying to bath our little son 16months old, we discovered that we had no hot water. We rang reception and straight away they came up to have a look. At this stage the little fella was asleep. We were told that the heater was broken and that we would have to move. We suggested that we wait until the following morning, which was no problem and we were given the key to our new apartment.I had a look at it and it reeked of cigarette smoke. I am a smoker myself and for me to be able to smell it you can imagine how bad it was. Again no problem from reception we were given another apartment and this was perfect.

One thing I will say, friends of ours stayed here last year and they had to move from the exact same apartment because the heater wasn't working.!!

Our major problem was the service in the restaurant 2 out of the 4 nights we ate there. We just couldn't get our wine. Ordered it before the food, the food would come, still no wine, asked again and eventually the wine arrived. I know that this is no big deal but we do like a glass of wine before our food.
The 2 nights we ate there with no problems, there was a lady who seemed to be in charge and she ran a very good restaurant.
However she was off the 2 nights when things didn't run as smooth....food sent back, too well done, no coffee arrived,
Apart from the 2 things mentioned above, this was one of the best places we have ever stayed.. The food in the restaurant is second to none, and they really know how to treat young children
They even half a little check in desk for the the kids to check in at, which our 4 year old thought was great.

We had an all inclusive package and it has to be said it was amazing value...
We will definitely be back, maybe even this year.;

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumbo156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

We booked an upper floor apartment with 2 double bedrooms and a decent living/dining room. The kitchen was small and had only 2 hob rings ( no oven ) . We were tipped off and brought a coffee plunger and a teapot because they are not supplied. We had to buy washing up liquid also and use a handtowel as a tea towel because again there was not one supplied....however despite these items and the confusion over being there on a room only rate we had a lovely time. The weather was warm and sunny which definitely helped the mood. There was a lovely view from the apartment and we were able to have breakfast on the balcony 2 out of the 4 days we were there. We ate in the bar one of the nights ( good ) and another in the restaurant ( also good ) . There was a fabulous quick and professional reaction to a spilled glass of wine which was noted. The pool is wonderful and we spent every morning there and the changing rooms are great. The causeway walk to the beach from the hotel is stunning but not buggy friendly - it starts/stops with what seems like over 100 steps . Lastly the staff were very nice especially in the reception and pool area.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laraxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

Our stay was an overall dissappointing expierence. The room, while spacious and clean, was neither sound proof from external noise, or neighbouring rooms. The bed and shower were good. Tv was a pathetic excuse of a tv. The resturant cuisine was 'different'.
We had kayaking included in our package stay, only to be told by the hotel that they didn't offer this activity until June. This was stated nowhere on any information we recieved pre or post booking, and left us very dissappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank will7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MulrannyParkHotel, General Manager at Mulranny Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments as we appreciate all feedback. We were very sorry to learn that your experience left you disappointed. We work really hard to make sure all our guests enjoy their stay and leave great memories of the Mulranny Park Hotel.
The supervised kayak hire which was included in your prize was unfortunately unavilable as it starts over the coming weeks. We are very sorry about the confusion but we hope you enjoyed the other activites on offer.
Thank you for taking time to talk with me today and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Mulranny Park Hotel.

Kind regards,

Dermot Madigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

My husband and I had a truly marvelous time – the service at the reception was excellent and the guests are still talking about the quality of the food, which was fabulous (the offering of seconds seemed especially appreciated!). The hotel itself is in a beautiful location and provided a spectacular backdrop for the celebrations. As for Sinead, the events manager - she was so very helpful with the planning and the execution of the event and we really appreciated her personal attention from the moment we booked our reception to the toasts after the meal. All in all, a perfect wedding!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justmarried10-04-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my partner and we were both very impressed with the hotel and the staff. The staff in particular were very friendly. The hotel overlooks some beautiful scenery which can look stunning in the evening when watched from the restaurant. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom had a bath (always a plus!). We went to the restaurant 3 nights and had lovely meals on each occasion. The restaurant staff were very professional and efficient. The hotel also put on talks, demos and show films during the week which is a great idea. My only real concern is with the bicycle hire. There's a brand new off-road cycle/walking path from Mulranny to Newport which offers some lovely views of the surrounding area away from noisy traffic. It's a real attraction for staying in the area which I feel the hotel hasn't capitalised on. The bikes we hired were not very good. My one in particular was quite dangerous as the breaks were not the best and it had a buckled back wheel. It's not a huge cost for the hotel to invest in some good, solid bikes and keep them maintained. Apart from this I found the hotel to be excellent and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

We had our wedding reception in the Mulranny Park Hotel in April 2010 and we both feel we couldn't have choosen a more stunning location to have our wedding reception. The attention to detail by the hotel staff was amazing. Everyone commented on how beautiful the dining room was with its views accross Clew Bay on what was a stunningly sunny day. The food was second to none. The wedding co-ordinator Sinead was fantastic. I would highly recommend the Mulranny Park Hotel as a venue for a wedding reception or somewhere to go, to escape from the mayhem of everyday life!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greeneyezDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
12.0 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
13.3 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#6 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
13.0 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
12.0 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mulranny Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulranny Park Hotel

Property: Mulranny Park Hotel
Address: Mulranny, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Westport
#7 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#11 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mulranny Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mulranny Park Hotel Mayo is an exquiste 4* hotel overlooking the glittering waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Fining dining and quality cuisine is at the heart of the hotel. Enjoy the 20m swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, outdoor hot tub & gym. We are uniquely situated on the newly Opened Great Western Greenway. This is a 42 kilometer, almost fully off road cycle and walking track. The trail offers some of the best views and scenery in the West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS and Booking.com so you can book your Mulranny Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn Westport
Park Hotel Mulranny
Mulranny Park Inn
Mulranny Hotel Mayo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing