We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, cosy and a great central Westport location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 69 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly, cosy and a great central Westport location”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I can find no faults with this B&B. The location is excellent, the owners are friendly, helpful and more than accomodating. It has recently been refurbished and the rooms we stayed in were clean, spacious with comfortable beds and came with our own private bathroom with a jacuzzi bath and views of the river. The choice of breakfast is excellent, there is the usual cereal, 'full irish' and fruit aswell as some other options which you don't usually get in irish B&Bs including porriage with a selection of toppings and French toast, both of which were excellent. After staying in St Anthony's for 2 nights we stayed in The Wyatt Hotel for 1 night and we wished that we were able to stay on at St Anthony's instead as it was quiter, cleaner and the breakfasts were far superior, I would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    46
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
29
123
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We came to Westport in mid July with a group of 7 of us. The city is very attractive and very fun. We were really happy with our 3 nights at St. Anthony's. The rooms were all very nice. The location was great, with just a very short walk to the town. As we stayed out pretty late every night, that was a nice feature (plus we didn't have a car). The owner was very helpful to us, making recommendations and arranging for a taxi at one point. It was the first stay in a B & B for some of our group and they were all impressed with the accommodations and the breakfasts.
We hope to get back to Westport some day and if we do, we will stay again at St. Anthony's.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights last week, very clean comfortable rooms which I assume are newly decorated, or if not are kept up to spec really well.. A clean house and the owner (I presume he was the owner! :) gave us some recommendations for the next day and carried our cases up the top floor - which was much appreciated after a long drive!

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackyGDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Recently stayed for two nights at this b&b and had a great time. The rooms are average in size with a decent bathroom and tv. Breakfast is well organised and was very good. The location of the place is great, only a short stroll to the main pubs and bars of Westport. The hosts are very helpful and took the time to recommend sites, pubs and restaurants. The beds were comfortable enough but not the best they could've been.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I decided to add this review to balance the feedback and be a little more realistic as I don't agree with the two current reviews. First, the positives.....location is great, an easy stroll into town. There is safe parking and the rooms are clean and decorated nicely. The shower was lovely too. However, I did not find the staff in any way welcoming or friendly. The breakfasts (We tried 3 different types were ok, but nothing special due to the poor quality bacon and Sausage. Didnt see these famous scones anywhere when we stayed recently! The fruit and yogurt was nice. The TV in the bedroom only had 3 channels, and in this day and age that is unforgiveable!! If was going back to Westport I would try another B&B but mainly because of the coldness of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sindisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This B&B exceeded my expectations. We were a couple traveling with a friend, and we got room number 9, which has a shared bathroom. The tub is roomy and includes a wonderful whirlpool-our friend actually stayed in and took a hot bath while we went to see Westport. There's plenty of privacy though. There's a nice garden area behind the B and B, which we didn't hang out in because of the rainy weather. Even better, the river was right outside my window. Literally. I found that very interesting; I don't think I've ever stayed anywhere where the river was almost the height hof my window. It gave it a surreal quality. I was offered a wide choice of breakfast, and chose French toast, which was nice. There's no French toast where I live.
West port is a lovely town anyway. We would go there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GEM1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This gem in Westport is not to be missed. A small B&B just a few blocks off the city center, it is perfectly located to restaurants, shops and venues but manages also to be quiet and tranquil. Rooms are either in the main house or in an out building along the river. The more rustic riverside rooms are perched on the river and front onto a beautiful stone wall enclosed lawn. Each room is unique and has a different combination of amenities (so be specific about what you want). Tubs, rocking chairs, multiple beds, writing tables, flat screen TV's are all available but not in the same rooms. We stayed in the (riverside) room 10 for 8 days and would have happily stayed longer. Next time we come, it will be in room 6! (or 10, or...).
Linda and Paul, who built and manage the B&B, are wonderful; a perfect combination of available and helpful but not doting. As importantly, the weekend coverage is as good. Breakfast is perfect...lots of flavors, lots of options, fresh local food expertly cooked with a willingness to serve what is wanted. The B&B is a few short blocks to the greenway, 42km of off road walking/biking trail. A bike rental is a block away. For no additional fee they will drop you 42 (or whatever you want) km away and pick you up at any time you get tired, bored or rained out. This B&B is a labor of love and not to be missed.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are quiet but a bit more rustic; rooms in the house are a bit more polished but also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EstelleC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
1,432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,616 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
895 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast

Property: St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Address: 8 Distillery Road | Carrowbeg, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Anthonys is a charming characterful B&B situated in its own oasis in heart of Westport Town, Co. Mayo, Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing