We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Paul and his team were fantastic. The rooms were perfectly furnished and extremely clean. In addition, the breakfast was one of the best we had while staying in Ireland (with a number of different choices). Great place with a great staff! If we stay in Westport again, we are staying here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexGorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Called in on the off chance of accommodation for the night after deciding not to camp- what a result. Lovely room, friendly staff and central. A lovely B&B that we would highly recommend if you find yourself in Westport.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterQuinn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Unfortunately we only had one night at St Anthony's but enjoyed every minute of it. The location is terrific, the rooms pretty and clean, the internet connection awesome and the breakfast very good and traditionally Irish. David was very helpful with directions and recommendations in Westport and cooked a mean breakfast. I highly recommend this establishment, you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the back of the inn to avoid the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

It's been a while since my stay in St. Anthony's, but not long enough for me to forget the charm and natural comfort this one-of-a-kind B&B provided.

The location was excellent, just a few minutes' walk from the city center of Westport, a lovely bustling town with great music every night in various pubs oozing with Guinness. St. Anthony's is tucked down a slower side street along a peaceful river which almost causes you to forget you're located in a city at all. The rooms were spotless and luxurious in a homey way--there is nothing sterile about this atmosphere--it looks and feels like a summer home that's developed character over ages, always filled with light and warmth. Many pancakes were eaten, many freshly squeezed orange juices savored while the morning's rise flooded the dining room with gold sunshine and soft shadows. What really stands out about this particular bed and breakfast, though, was the service that didn't feel like service, but rather extended family welcoming you into their home. There was the charming bearded owner, Paul, dipping in and out throughout the day to check in on things, often accompanied by his young son, Rory, an adorable and endearing menace. Donny, too, (the manager ? ) was exceptionally good fun, carrying on lighthearted, witty banter with us from the moment we stepped in the door to the moment we left. The rest of the staff was a combination of university-age students (who seemed much beyond their years in terms of maturity, service skills, and overall gracefulness), and other seemingly long term staff who were never short of unfailing advice on where to eat, drink, play, or visit. I've never been made to feel more at home than I was by this incredible staff.

Overall, I couldn't dream of a better, more comfortable time spent in a bed and breakfast than that I experienced in St. Anthony's. I will recommend this place to every single person I hear mention Ireland at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annalicelucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

St. Anthony's is located in easy walking distance to Westport City Center, which we found a definite plus. The accommodations and breakfasts were very good and the owners/staff very friendly and helpful when it came to seeking good places to dine. Off street parking is limited, which would be my only "complaint."

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A group of us decided to visit Westport in an attempt to climb Croagh Patrick on Saturday 2 November and we wanted something cheap and cheerful as we didn't plan to spend much time in our accommodation. My sister picked St Anthony's having read good reviews online. It's in a great location with most of the pubs and restaurants in the area about a 5 minute walk away. For the 5 of us it only cost €200, which was more than reasonable and well worth it when we saw the rooms we were given, We had a twin room in the attic with a huge bathroom with separate shower and jacuzzi bath, and a triple room, which turned out to be in an out building behind the house. These were great as it was a two bed and bath apartment, only thing missing was some kitchen equipment!!!! (Obviously they provided a kettle with tea/coffee etc) There's also parking available at the back of the house.

The man that greeted us on arrival was really nice, my sisters had a chat with him about Croagh Patrick and the restaurant we had booked for that evening. He was really friendly and more than accommodating. The woman that served breakfast was quite nice too.

Everything was spotlessly clean, decor in the dining room was a bit crazy, fringe lamps and little china cups, that sort of thing! Curtains were a bit crazy too, I only mention this because I know some people will have an issue with that kind of thing, but didn't bother us in the slightest. The beds were lovely and comfortable, bed linen was sparkling white, not like some of the awful stuff you'd see elsewhere. The one issue we did have was the room out the back was a bit cold, however the heating was on for the entire time we were there so at least they were trying their best to heat the place, also having attempted Croagh Patrick in freezing cold winds probably made it harder for us to warm up, later on in the evening the place was toasty warm! Just bring warm pjs incase! ;)

You can book breakfast for any time between 8 and 10, and fill in a form when you arrive so they know what you would like the next morning. I had assumed it would be the usual cereal and fruit on offer and the obligatory fry up!! How wrong was I!!!! There was loads on offer, french toast with bacon, pancakes, eggs cooked anyway you want, fry up, with unlimited amounts of tea/coffee and toast! I thought the breakfast was as good as you'd get in any hotel and we left happy and stuffed!

Westport is a great little town, only wished we had some more time to have a look around, St Anthony's made it even better! We all agreed that it's a place we'd love to return to, maybe in better weather and St Anthony's will definitely be on the top of our list!

If visiting Croagh Patrick bring some walking sticks and if interested in staying for something to eat afterwards head to the visitor centre at the front of the carpark, we went to the one closer to the start of the walk and it was absolutely freezing inside, stopped off at the other one on the way out and it looked much better.

The clock tavern was a really nice pub we had a few drinks in, and La Bella Vita restaurant is just across the road, great Italian restaurant, reasonably priced too!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilyLoughman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A group of us stayed here on a saturday nght, the location is perfect for a stroll home from the castlecourt hotel (1 min) or a stroll up the town. Off Street parking.The accommodation is lovely, jaccuzzi baths, wifi, well maintained and cosy. The owner greeted us on arrival couldn't have been nicer, very friendly and went over and above the required and was very helpful in directing us with eateries etc in the area!! Breakfast though was adequate, eggs weren't half cooked and the 'lady' that served breakfast was not bordering on rude she was downright rude. We stayed here previously and an older lady was in charge of the breakfast and she was brilliant, its a pity she had a day off!! Over all though it is a lovely b&b, good value for money and the surroundings are fab.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary4116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Anthonys_BB, Manager at St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Hi thank you for your review of our B&B. We are sorry you felt that breakfast was only "adequate" We serve freshly squezzed orange juice (which is hard to get even in hotels) We also have a buffet and a selection of cooked breakfasts, we only use award winning butchers Kelly's of Newport for our meat and we serve homemade brown bread as well as toast. So we were surprised at your review. I believe you were asked if you were unhappy with the way your eggs were done and you said they were fine, so we believed they were. Also in relation to the lady serving you breakfast being rude, I believe that the behaviour of your table was not exactly charming. She has worked with us for many years and is a valuable asset to our team, your review caused great upset and it is unfortunate that you would pass such unkind comment about someone you do not know on an online forum. It would have been appreciated if you could have come to us directly if you felt strongly about some one who worked with us instead of running them down online. We try hard to ensure that our guests are well looked after and have an enjoyable stay with us, previous reviews suggest that we do so with success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
920 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,692 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
990 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast

Address: 8 Distillery Road | Carrowbeg, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: £70 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Anthonys is a charming characterful B&B situated in its own oasis in heart of Westport Town, Co. Mayo, Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing