We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Irish Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Helm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 68 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Irish Gem”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

On yet another visit to Westport we really enjoyed a fab family lunch. Pouring rain and stormy we took shelter in this most welcoming cosy Irish Pub Restaurant. Your first welcomed by the heat then very friendly staff and to top it all off the food was delicious. Its an Irish hidden gem. Thank you. from the Finns.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finnlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    44
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
51
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Outstanding service will most definitely be back, they catered for 22 girls on a football bonding weekend away and were so friendly, could not have been more helpful and they were great craic. Can't wait to visit it again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grainne_mcglade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My family have been using the helm for many years now and i think its about time i repay vinnie the owner and his staff with a revue that does this establishment the justice In over 25 years of staying at the helm not once has the service / the food or for that matter the drink been anything but first class. The restaurant is first class with an extensive menu. The accommodation well set out and comfortable. And last but certainly not least the craic in the bar is great. What more can i say if you are visiting Westport make your first call the Helm.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this pub / restaurant by a cafe owner in Westport & we certainly were not disappointed. Greeted by a cheery bar man who looked after us straight away. Our menus for dinner were handed to us while we waited for our table. The 1st table offered was stuck in a corner where I was looking at a door ! We asked to be moved & that was no problem at all & we were escorted back to the bar. Within 5 minutes we got a lovely table 'in the window'. The food ... Wow .. Crab claws with garlic butter fab. Not a skinny claw in sight but big meaty claws were served with a lovely side salad. Mains I chose the dish of the day .. Scallops with Kelly's Black Pudding. Now this Kelly guy is quite famous round these parts & I can see why .. The nicest black pudding I've ever tasted. The scallops were just gorgeous. My husband chose the Turbot. If you go for this be very hungry. Huge portion! Our waitress was very helpful with our choice of wine & certainly knew her French from her Argentinian! Great buzz in this bar & while the bar which looked like a restaurant has now transformed back in2 a bar & the band has arrived. Super friendly staff. A definite must if visiting Westport. The only downer ... Carnations on the table ! I know they last FOREVER but we are not at a funeral. Want a cheap ever lasting flower get some heather or even cut some of the yellow gorse that's everywhere. Carnations .. Tack!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SteppingOutWithMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

A group of 20 of us stayed at the helm recently for a hen party and it was ideal, the apartments were clean and convenient, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had a very tasty breakfast in the morning. I am sorry we didnt book dinner there that evening. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin,ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have stayed in the helm quite a few times. I suppose this says a lot about our feelings on the place. What we love about it is despite its changes over the years the service has never reduced. It has a feeling of of a professionally run business while treating you like a friend. It's ideal for couples and families and fishing seems to be the love of th business'

Room Tip: Just ask.they will help you best they can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darlingraymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Versailles, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed in one of the 3-bedroom appartments facing the harbour at a very reasonable price, especially for Westport. Reservation process was really easy over e-mail, all my messages / questions being answered really quickly. A very helpful and welcoming team. The appartment was nice and roomy, with sleeping for 7/8 even though there were only 5 of us. Two bathrooms, kitchen with fridge, microwave and washing machine - very useful. The breakfast down in the pub was ok, but nothing special. We really liked the location right on the water front (outside of the town centre), a great place to get out for a walk in the morning. The only downside was that after the pub closed, a group of guys stayed outside in the tables and sang at the top of their voices until 4am ... Always the risk of staying over a pub, I suppose.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
3.6 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Helm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Helm Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Helm Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Helm The Quay, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Helm Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Helm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helm b&b
The Helm Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing