We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!”
Review of Linden Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Linden Hall
Ranked #8 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I stayed here for one night in August. The room was a nice space, clean and very easy to find! Paul was very helpful and gave me some great suggestions for places to go while in Westport. He helped me find my way around (which is a big deal since I have a horrible sense of direction). He also was kind enough to hold my bags for a few hours after check out so I could do some sight seeing before heading to the bus.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edonnelly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear edonnelly55,
Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts on Linden Hall. We really appreciate you taking the time to do so. Hope to meet again some time.
kind regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Not sure when Rick Steves' et al last visited, but we (party of four adults) were not impressed with the building, rooms, decor of Linden Hall. Never met Steve or Maria, but we were assisted tremendously by Paul. The building is 110 years old and has a certain amount of charm, but really needs some serious cleaning. The carpet in our room had stains on it; there was not basin water mixer so you had to keep moving your hands from left to right under the hot and cold water taps; no place in the the bathroom to hang anything, and no shelves on which to place anything. The headboard in our room was a double, yet the mattress was a king size. When we asked about a nearby laundry Paul offered to do our laundry for us - very helpful. Breakfast was OK, but entire house smelled of cooking oil all morning we were there. Not sure why this place gets such excellent recommendations, unless it's for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyCityGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear JefersonCityGrandpa,

Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback from your recent stay at Linden Hall. I was disappointed to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. Whilst our B&B is a period style townhouse and has a certain character I appreciate that your comments are based on personal preferences.

We are always striving to maintain high stands of service and cleanliness, previous reviews confirm this, and so we were very surprised by some of your comments. Also, in all our bathrooms there is a shelf over the sink (with complementary toiletries) with space for your additional personal items. We have recently upgraded this room from double bed to super king size and we did not wait for the matching headboard, as we were anxious to improve our guests comfort as quickly as possible. Most people are delighted with a super king size bed especially when they have booked a standard double room.

We’re glad that you were ‘assisted tremendously’ by our manager Paul and that you appreciated his extra effort to do your laundry when all the local laundry services were closed for the evening.

We wish you all the best,

Maria (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I would just like to say thank you to maria and Steve for looking after us the weekend. Great location very friendly staff , ,spotless clean ,i would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending it for your stay in West Port .Regards Derek

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5,444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Derek,
Thanks very much for a great review and for taking the time to do it. Delighted you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again in November and as requested I will keep you the same room again. So keep up the training and see you in a few weeks. All the best. Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed the night at Linden Hall during a driving tour of Ireland. Maria met us on arrival and was immediately very friendly and warm. She pointed us to Matt Molloys for some 'trad' which was great, and also to an Italian restaurant for dinner.

The room was really large, and the bed was comfortable. They also provide tea, water and some biscuits. Breakfast the next morning was also great!

Definitely recommend this B&B, and also Westport - which my husband and I absolutely loved.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brookster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Brooke,
Thank you so much for such a great review. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us and you enjoyed your night out in Westport. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime.
Kind regards,
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

2 minutes walk from the train station and right at the start of the Greenway this is a great location. Our room and bathroom were spotless. The breakfast was excellent and we were welcomed with tea and coffee and biscuits to our room.

Room Tip: Our room was at the top - 2 rooms joined together, would be a great family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmys152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Cmys152,
Thank you very much for such a positive review and for taking the time to share it. I am very happy you had an enjoyable stay. As you mention we have a great location in the town, only a few minutes walk to the train station and bus station. And the 'Great Western Greenway' (off road cycle and walking track) starts straight across the road from us! I am delighted you enjoyed your time here and thanks again for such a nice review. We really appreciate it.
Kind regards,
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My family stayed two nights and we enjoyed the very clean rooms and generous hospitality we received from Paul. The location is great, everything is within walking distance. Paul is very eager to help you with reservations or recommendations. A very nice place if you are visiting Westport.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretchen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenHall, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Gretchen,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience of staying at Linden Hall and thank you for such lovely comments. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay. We aim to provide good service and hospitality in a relaxed and friendly way and I am happy you experienced that. We are lucky to be in a good location in the town, walking distance to everything makes life very easy for our guests! We wish you all the best. Kind regards,
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just returned from a lovely relaxing stay in Linden Hall. Paul offered a warm welcome with tea and biscuits on arrival then brought us to our spacious pleasantly decorated room. Nothing seemed to be to much trouble including providing a full Irish breakfast at 7.30 , he is also by the way an excellent breakfast cook ! Would definitely recommend a stay at this B and B if you want to visit Westport, receive a warm welcome, stay in comfortable accommodation which is centrally located with lots of free parking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 787Cathy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenHall, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Cathy,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review here and for all your positive comments! I am delighted you had a nice stay. Thanks again, we really appreciate it.
Warm regards,
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
966 reviews
0.1 mi away
St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Augusta Lodge
Augusta Lodge
#2 of 70 in Westport
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Willow Lodge
Willow Lodge
#10 of 70 in Westport
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hazelbrook Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Mill Times Hotel Westport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Hall

Address: Linden Hall Altamount Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: £53 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcomes, good humor and a relaxed atmosphere in our period style town house in the centre of Westport. We have an excellent location in the centre of Westport and are easy walking distance to Matt Molloys, Traditional Music Pubs, Restaurants, Hotels, leisure centers, train station, bus stops. All bedrooms have high ceilings with a touch of old world elegance and each has en-suite, TV & Tea/Coffee facilities. We are a non-smoking house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Linden Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing