We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Linden Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Linden Hall
Ranked #4 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2007

Iwish I had known about tripadvisor before booking Linden Hall. I spent 4 nights sharing a double room on the second floor of this House which in fact has 8 or 9 rooms available for booking. The bedroom allocated to me was located on the second floor.There was barely enough room to walk around the bed, we had only a very small narrow single wardrobe for our clothing . The presence of pieces of fluff and a dead fly on the floor incicated that the room had not been cleaned. The en-suite combined toilet, handbasin and toilet was the smallest I have ever seen,
with no selves for placing toilet items. Bath towels supplied were stacked on the toilet cistern and those with holes or marks we did not use. The breakfast was not too bad but when we noticed that the forks were dirty, the cups were chipped or cracked and the milk had turned we lost our morning apetite. In general the house is. in desperate need of care and attention and I know that I paid far too much for what we recieved,

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — Accommodation was not clean
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
We the owners (Maria and Steve) would like to say that during this customer's stay (in 2007) the B&B was under different management and not ours. We would like to say that since January 2012 those very small rooms and en-suites have been renovated are now a respectable B&B standard. Please check our recent reviews as they are all very positive.

We look forward to welcoming you to Linden Hall in the near future.

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    43
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
151
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2007

Linden Hall was a great choice for our one night stay in Westport. The location was perfect for walking around town, to pubs and shopping. The decor is a bit mismatched or dated, and there's some street noise if you're in one of the front room. However, it was all very clean, was a good value for the money, the breakfast was well done, and the hostess was extremely helpful and offered many excellent suggestions. Make sure to go to Matt Malloy's while in town (flautist for the Chieftains).

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alltravellvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2007

We had read the previous reviews and although put off by the negative reviews decided to gave Linden Hall a chance based on the positive reviews and booked three nights. We were a couple traveling on vouchers from Aer Lingus and I do not know if that was a factor but were assigned a very small room on the second floor with barely space to walk around the bed. It was clean and tidy. But what was intolerable was the size of the bathroom. When you sat on the toliet, the sink was in your lap. When you bent over the sink, your backside was into the room if you had the door open, which you had to do to be able to bend. The shower was one of the smallest I have ever seen. We thought we would be able to manage and decided to stay. In the morning, my husband took a short shower and no hot water was left for me. That was the last straw. We checked out early and hunted down a more spacious place. On the positive side, the location is fantastic right in town within walking distance of the town pubs and stores and the breakfast was very good. The manager was very friendly on arrival and recommended good restaurants for us.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Size of room/bathroom
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IntrepidTraveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
We the owners (Maria and Steve) would like to say that during this customer's stay (in 2007) the B&B was under different management and not ours. We would like to say that since January 2012 those very small rooms and en-suites have been renovated are now a respectable B&B standard. Please check our recent reviews as they are all very positive.

We look forward to welcoming you to Linden Hall in the near future.

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2007

Stayed here in June 07. Rooms clean and reasonably well equiped, en suite, TV, etc. however, perhaps in need of a little TLC. The single room booked was very small and looked like a converted bathroom. Staff excellent and very friendly. Breakfast enjoyable. Perhaps a little pricy for what we got.
Westport is a lovely town with lots of nice pubs and restaurants.

  • Liked — Breakfast and staff friendlyness
  • Disliked — Quality of rooms & facilties
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derrywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2007

Myself and my family spent three nights there and had a great time. The rooms were spotless and spacious, the food was great and the owners and staff couldn't have been more helpful. There is a lovely family-friendly atmosphere and the location is absolutely brilliant. I would certainly go back for another visit and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Liked — the friendliness of the people.
  • Disliked — could not find a fault!
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EBDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2006

Just returned from 6 days in Ireland and this was the worst place we stayed. We were on the third floor and the room was shabby with the smallest bathroom I think I have ever seen. The breakfast was not interesting and the scrambled eggs were inedible.

  • Liked — town was interesting
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
We would like to say that since January 2012 those very small rooms and en-suites have been renovated are now a respectable B&B standard. Please check our recent reviews as they are all very positive.

We look forward to welcoming you to Linden Hall in the near future.

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2006

We (4 of us) were planning to stay there for 2 night but instead just one because we were not happy. On arrival the place was in a mess and no towels in our room.

The room was clean but the toilet was extemely small. The dining room was in need of repair as the wallpaper was peeling off the wall and the ceiling.

The staff were friendly but it was not enough. We checked out the follwing morning.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hotel_Inspector38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
We would like to say that since January 2012 those very small rooms and en-suites have been renovated are now a respectable B&B standard. Please check our recent reviews as they are all very positive.

We look forward to welcoming you to Linden Hall in the near future.

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.4 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.8 mi away
Augusta Lodge
Augusta Lodge
#1 of 70 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.2 mi away
St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Hall

Property: Linden Hall
Address: Linden Hall Altamount Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcomes, good humor and a relaxed atmosphere in our period style town house in the centre of Westport. We have an excellent location in the centre of Westport and are easy walking distance to Matt Molloys, Traditional Music Pubs, Restaurants, Hotels, leisure centers, train station, bus stops. All bedrooms have high ceilings with a touch of old world elegance and each has en-suite, TV & Tea/Coffee facilities. We are a non-smoking house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Linden Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing