We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate Hotel - Couldn't recommend more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westport Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I stayed here on business and, although I wasn't picking up the bill, it certainly seemed to be great value for money and I wouldn't have any problems paying myself.

The location is only a few minutes walk from the main pubs and restaurants of Westport, although there is a choice of the bar or restaurant if you want to eat in, depending on your budget. We ate in the bar on one of the evenings and the food was excellent and good value.

The rooms are large and spacious with free broadband (although I would have preferred wifi which was only available in the lobby area), jacuzzi bath and large shower in the standard rooms.

Breakfast was first rate and I have been informed by my work colleagues that the self service Irish breakfast was delicious.

Staff were friendly and helpful at all times and service couldn't be faulted. I had a room at the back of the hotel which was quiet allowing a fantastic night's sleep.

All in all, there is nothing I can find to fault about the hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,621 - 1,627 of 2,123 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

Booked room on the spot when driving through Westport and deciding to stay the night. Room was updated, clean and very nicely appointed, even with a functioning balcony. Bathroom was very spacious with a large walk in shower and separate jacuzzi tub.

Dinner in the hotel lounge was also very nice and relaxed. Food was excellent (try the warm banana pudding!).

Overall a lovely stay, would have enjoyed booking a second and third night here if time permitted! Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayJay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed at The Plaza as a family in adjoining rooms for last year's Autumn break. We have stayed in so many unwelcoming hotels, that the Plaza stood out for us. From our very first moment in Reception, we were greeted and had a chat with a friendly staff member, who asked if we needed help with our bags and had a chat with us. The rooms were lovely and spacious with warm contemporary decor. The only negative was that there was a power failure on one evening and we were told that the hotel had no back-up generator, so many guests were re-directed to their sister hotel The Castlecourt for dinner. While this wasn't a problem for us, it might have been for people with young children or the elderly, as it happened in the evening and was dark. Of course, as ever, staff dealt with everyone in a courteous and caring manner, so we will be returning in the next couple of weeks and judging by other recent reviews, nothing has changed, it's still a fantastic hotel. We're soooooo looking forward to it!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I'm livng close to Westport so I get to use the spa as often as I can..Love it ive been to lots of different spas but this by far is amazing...Staff are great and do an amazing job - treatments are always 100% +

Would suggest if you have some free time to visit this spa...do :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mags2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I stay in hotels all over Ireland and
Europe on business the only one I look forward to returning to is the plaza the hotel,location,and staff are
5 star if you want the best you found it

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthonywicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I wanted to write this review to share my experience of the Plaza Hotel. I stayed here with my extended family to celeberate a 50th wedding anniversary in Sep 2011. We had ages ranging from 1 yr old to 72 yrs old and one and all enjoyed it enormously. The accommodation is fabulous and the entertainment excellent. We ate in both the bar and the restaurant and found both to be of an extremely high standard. The staff were so warm, friendly and inviting. The children really enjoyed the hotel pool and some of our party tried out the spa and would highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GerardineGantly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed here a few weeks ago on a one night getaway with my husband. Overall we found the hotel interior to be lovely with high 4 star standards. Check in was good with very helpful staff. We ate in the bar for lunch and found the food to be ok. Nothing special. We also ate in the restaurant for dinner and this exceeded our expectations. Service and food were both excellent and we thouroughly enjoyed our evening. However breakfast was disappointing, we ate breakfast at 10.10am, it finishes at 11 and many items were gone and both the beans and eggs were cold. Checkout was good, however the receptionist was on the phone the whole time and we found this annoying as we had some questions. Overall it was satisfactory and i would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask for room located at back of hotel as street is very noisy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shellyclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.2 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,009 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#5 of 13 in Westport
1,713 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Westport
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 13 in Westport
1,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
952 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 13 in Westport
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Plaza Hotel

Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#1 Family Hotel in Westport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#2 Business Hotel in Westport
Price Range: £66 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westport Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish 4 **** standard Westport Plaza Hotel elevates the hotel experience in the West of Ireland to a new level. Comprising of 88 deluxe rooms, including the silver, gold and presidential experience, with king size beds as standard and a selection of rooms with balconies overlooking the roof garden, the Westport Plaza Hotel is a haven of contemporary luxury. Our Resort Spa, Spa Sula is a spacious, tranquil sanctuary which is designed for you to relax and luxuriate in and includes 12 spacious treatment rooms and Thermal Suite with outdoor heated Jacuzzi Rockpool. In our Resort Leisure Centre, The C Club you’ll find a range of facilities to help you unwind. Why not take a leisurely swim in the indoor heated pool or let the jacuzzi bubbles ease those aches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your Westport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing