We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great craic in the evening”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westport Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great craic in the evening”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights as part of our Irish trip. First time at this hotel though we have stayed in Westport on two previous occasions some years ago.

Comfortable beds, food good.
Crossed the courtyard to the sister hotel, The Courtyard, on one evening as there was a group playing. A very mixed age grouping of guests but as the evening wore on and the black stuff flowed people were up dancing and singing along with the group. A lot of fun had by all.

Breakfast was the usual hearty Irish breakfast, well cooked and tasty.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,532
    391
    102
    30
    11
See reviews for
434
984
34
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Recently stayed at the Westport Plaza everything about this hotel is excellent, great food, nice bar area, rooms are great with super comfy beds, but above all else the staff are exceptional. This was my third visit to the Plaza and the welcome every time is warm, friendly and pleasant, they certainly go the extra mile to make your stay a great one.....Well done to all

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Went to Westport Plaza with three friends for the weekend, an early treat for my 60th birthday.Everything about the hotel was great, we had a meal in the restaurant which was lovely and the staff were very nice,all rooms are non smoking but each room has a balcony with an ashtray on the wall which I thought was a great idea, hotel very central to the town, would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Westport

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Plaza Hotel is one of two hotels in the same group located side by side in Westport with a courtyard/car park dividing them. Very central to everything in Westport town, all within walking distance. Both hotels sharing the Leisure Centre. Westport Plaza has excellent bedrooms, with all the facilities, free wi-fi, in room safe, tea/coffee, newspaper etc., Room we stayed in had a jacuzzi bath, a nice surprise and very enjoyable. Service and food very good, breakfast is to order and not a buffet. Leisure Centre does not live up to the rest of the Plaza, very old and tired and you have to go outside to get to it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Arrived at the Westport Plaza on a Saturday afternoon of the October Bank Holiday weekend. It was very much a last minute decision to head to Westport having only booked on the Thursday! Upon arrival (having also received a courtesy call to ask what time we would arrive at) we were warmly greeted at the front desk and from there, the weekend just got more pleasant, more relaxing and more enjoyable as the hours passed.

I really cannot say enough about how informative, helpful and friendly the staff all are here. It really does make a difference and allows guests to relax even more than you would anyway in the Westport Plaza. The reason that you will relax regardless is due to - an amazingly comortable bed (massive too, legs didn't even come close to sticking out over the edge), a nice big bar to relax and a beautiful restaurant (Merlot) that really serves up some amazing food, both day and night. The Chefs here know what they're doing. Fantastic hearty, tasty and beautifully presented food. We had dinner with friends on the Saturday evening and all four of us were amazed at the standard of culinary delights served in front of us. Gorgeous.

Then, if you fancy, there is a lovely pool, gym, sauna and steam room in their leisure centre to work off any excesses consumed during your stay.

Also, whilst we were there the hotel was naturally busy anyway due to it being a Bank Holiday weekend and school mid term, but the hotel was also hosting Weddings. At no time were you cramped for space or feel like you were not a priority to staff. They have time for all guests. Refreshing to see in this day and age.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinUncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed in The Plaza last week for three nights midweek. This was our second visit to this hotel and it was fantastic. We had the gold experience room and they are lovely, large and extremeful comfortable with a small balcony. The staff on check in were very polite and helpful as were all the staff in the hotel. We had breakfast each morning and the service was quick even though the hotel was very busy. We also used Spa Sula on one of the days and this was a lovely experience, sitting outdoors in the hot tub as the rain mists down is brilliant. Westport and surrounding areas are really beautiful and this hotel is a great base from which to explore it all. But if sightseeing is not on your agenda it's also a fantastic place to just relax and unwind. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: The gold experience rooms are really lovely, with complimentary wine and movies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire0040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyrone
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed in the Westport Plaza from 28th to 30th Oct with our two Kids, from the moment we arrived we were met with a friendly welcoming manner from all Staff. Despite arriving early we were booked in with out a fuss. The room was fantastic great size and such a splendid welcome with Wine, Chocolates, and lots more laid out. Free Movies for the Children each night another great touch. Food in the Restaurant absolutely Fab and Breakfast was top drawer. Couldn't really complain about much. The Bed very comfortable and spacious room.
We have stayed in many Hotels throughout Ireland and the Westport Plaza must rank right up there as one of the Best.
One possible slight gripe was the changing area in the Leisure Centre it was on the small side and could be fairly cramped due to the high demand on using the facilities.Kids Club had great variety of events to suit all the Children.
Over all has to be a Nine out of Ten, Well Done to all, this is the first btime I have sat down to write a comment but I felt I had to because of the great experience we had during our stay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMac189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.2 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
955 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
875 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,071 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,077 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Plaza Hotel

Property: Westport Plaza Hotel
Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Westport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#2 Business Hotel in Westport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westport Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish 4 **** standard Westport Plaza Hotel elevates the hotel experience in the West of Ireland to a new level. Comprising of 88 deluxe rooms, including the silver, gold and presidential experience, with king size beds as standard and a selection of rooms with balconies overlooking the roof garden, the Westport Plaza Hotel is a haven of contemporary luxury. Our Resort Spa, Spa Sula is a spacious, tranquil sanctuary which is designed for you to relax and luxuriate in and includes 12 spacious treatment rooms and Thermal Suite with outdoor heated Jacuzzi Rockpool. In our Resort Leisure Centre, The C Club you’ll find a range of facilities to help you unwind. Why not take a leisurely swim in the indoor heated pool or let the jacuzzi bubbles ease those aches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Westport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing