We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easter break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westport Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Carrickmore, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“easter break”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Fantasic hotel ,friendly staff food delicious wonderful presentation,rooms large and luxurious great atmosphere in the entire resort with the added bonus that it is located so central to town would definately recommend it

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoinette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,509
    389
    99
    30
    10
See reviews for
422
974
33
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lusk, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had the best family Easter ever thanks to the Westport Plaza Hotel - the staff are super organised, friendly & accommodating. With organised Easter Egg hunts, Kids Clubs - this family friendly hotel ticks all the boxes. It has a SPA area - which is peaceful and tranquil, the food and surroundings are second to none. Give this place an excellent rating Thank you!!!
5 star! Think this may be our 'Easter' family tradition!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geraldine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We have just arrived home after a lovely stay at the Plaza in wonderful Westport. From our first entrance with a welcoming recepionist who gave our eldest daughter a bag of arts and craft and explained about the kids club and Easter egg hunt. The rooms were very spacious, we had a family room with a double and single and cot for our youngest. The rooms and bathroom were spotless and turned over daily. The leisure centre was handy with a great pool, we went every day. We also had a christening meal in the walnut suite which was very well decorated by Joshua and John (manager) did a great job of making sure all went to plan. Julie and Alfred who served our meals were great and again no request was too much. Overall a faboulus stay, which won't be our last. Check out at noon is very family friendly and allowed one last swim. A special mention for Fiona the lovely receptionist.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Selina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I've just returned to Dublin after spending a magnificent weekend staying at the luxurious Westport Plaza Hotel.

Myself & a number of family members travelled to Westport from various parts of the UK & Ireland.

From the moment we arrived the welcoming staff ensured that our stay would be relaxed, enjoyable & ultimately fun!

Our group ranged in aged from 70+ down to our youngest member who is 6 months old.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff in the Westport Plaza, & the facilities in both the Plaza & the Castlecourt were fantastic (guests can use the facilities in both hotels). Spa, swimming pool, kids club, etc.

The food in the bar & the restaurant is just delicious - Freshly made, locally sourced ingredients results in very happy diners.

I would most definitely recommend this hotel to couples of families alike. The hotel & staff cater for everyone.

The central location means that you are within walking distance of the town, which is buzzing with wonderful shops, bars & restaurants.

5* service, accommodation & dining - I love this hotel, & I can't wait to return!

Thank you to all of the lovely staff, you made our stay so memorable! xxx

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend recently stayed in this hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted with very friendly staff at reception. Our room was exactly what you expect for a 4star. But shortly after arriving I had a very embarresing moment when I emerged from the bathroom after a shower to find a member of staff in my room . In his defence he was bringing up an easter egg as a welcome gift from the hotel .. when this matter was brought to the attention of the management they were very apologetic and insisted on giving us complimentry dinner,and also included all drinks and room service free of charge. I was very satisfied with their swift response to this rather embaressing incident.

Everybody makes mistakes but its how you recover from your mistake that matters most . John and the staff of the Plaza could not have done more to make our stay any better . We will be back and thank you !

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnClesham, Manager at Westport Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying with us recently. I am sorry for what happened. Our porter was delivering Easter gifts to everyone and he had instructions to knock on the doors and not to enter any room with a " Do not disturb sign". There was no "Do not disturb" sign on the door and he did knock but must not have been heard.

I am grateful that you brought the matter to my attention while you were still here and afforded me an opportunity to make you happy which thankfully turned out to be the case.

Thank you also for your kind words regarding our staff and the hotel in general

We look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future,

Yours sincerely

John Clesham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed recently and had a fabulous time, but wanted to highlight a few niggles, not for the want of knocking the hotel but to maybe point out a few things which would make this hotel fantastic! We arrived...lovely lobby...friendly receptionsist...who did explain everything to us re breakfast, kids club, leisure centre etc. we went to our room...very very spacious even as we had kids in the same room. Very very clean and comfortable. Pillows were a little hard and high for kids...but I didnt ask for an alternative..just an observation.

Leisure centre
Towels provided for residents, liked the machine which rinses your swimwear! Pool was really warm so the kids really could stay in for as long as they wanted. Lifeguards on duty which was great to have an extra set of eyes in a busy area. Only negative was waki g back through the ladies changing room....really not a nice feeling trudging through hair ridden floor....which really needs more regular attention. Showers were good. Changing room a little tight on space when busy.

Bar
I didnt actually find the staff to be that friendly, certainly not the two bar en we dealt with. No chit chat...didnt seem to be the happiest of chappies in their workplace..unlike Theo, if I may give him a mention who had a smile on his face even dealing with numerous request after request for cordial from the kids. He really was lovely.

Bar Food
Ok...so I am a major foodie...and was disapppointed in the watery chowder, my husbands curry was really not up to scratch...and it feels a bit samey to have the same garnishes served in the evening as at lunchtime...so to be honest...we felt we needed to break out of there and sample something a bit more exciting. Sorry!

All in all....this is a great hotel, so clean and well maintained. The kids club was enjoyed by the kids...but we were disappointed that not all nights were supervised...felt a tad misled by this, and we didnt feel comfortable leaving the kids that night...we rarely get a break together so we had been looking forward to a quiet drink after an action packed day with the kids.

We would definitely stay again...the kids loved the free movie, loved the area and this hotel really has the potential to be nearly perfect!! Thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We visited the hotel for my birthday, I have been before and wanted to come back because we had such a pleasant experience. The rooms were immaculate we went for an upgrade to a silver experience which I would thoroughly recommend. The food in the restaurant was excellent, my partner had a fillet steak and it was literally melt in the mouth. There was also a great selection at breakfast with second coffees and more toast offered. We also visited the spa which is really nicely designed with a thermal suite and outdoor hot tub! The staff were really efficient and booked both of us in for appointments at the same time and we met up in the thermal suite afterwards. I was so relaxed after the 2 days away!! I would definitely recommend it :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.2 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
916 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,634 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,057 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Plaza Hotel

Property: Westport Plaza Hotel
Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Westport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#2 Business Hotel in Westport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westport Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish 4 **** standard Westport Plaza Hotel elevates the hotel experience in the West of Ireland to a new level. Comprising of 88 deluxe rooms, including the silver, gold and presidential experience, with king size beds as standard and a selection of rooms with balconies overlooking the roof garden, the Westport Plaza Hotel is a haven of contemporary luxury. Our Resort Spa, Spa Sula is a spacious, tranquil sanctuary which is designed for you to relax and luxuriate in and includes 12 spacious treatment rooms and Thermal Suite with outdoor heated Jacuzzi Rockpool. In our Resort Leisure Centre, The C Club you’ll find a range of facilities to help you unwind. Why not take a leisurely swim in the indoor heated pool or let the jacuzzi bubbles ease those aches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Westport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing