We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, clean and modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westport Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Cant fault this hotel, clean, comfortable and very relaxed. We stayed over the Easter break and chose a silver experience room for an extra treat.. To be honest, the only main difference is the addition of bathrobes but even so it was a large bright room overlooking a bustling courtyard. We ate in the bar one evening which was really nice and then headed across the courtyard to the sister hotel bar which had live music and much more atmosphere. If you are looking for a relaxing break in a beautiful town then this would be a great choice! Staff were also extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sargea123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,017 - 1,023 of 2,145 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Positives:
Junior suite very family friendly.
Separate sitting and bedroom.
Small fully equipt kitchenette.
High chair.
Large bathroom with seperate shower and jacuzzi bath.
Comfortable bed.
Two balconies (for the smokers)
Delicious tuna melt bap, very tasty.

Negatives:
The overall standard of cleanliness really falls short.
Hair from last guest in shower drain.
Nearly all of the glass areas where dirty and smudged.
Pool very over crowded.
Staff not overly friendly.
Movie services in room not working even after erection was informed.
Very dirty high chairs!
Breakfast a total let down and very bad.
Huge water stains on ceilings.

Have stayed here a number of times in the past and have always been happy with the rooms we were given. This time however although happy with the size if the room and how well equipt it was the poor cleanliness is what really let it down.
Also the pillows are quiet uncomfortable but the bed it's self is very comfortable. The child cot was also very dirty.
Breakfast was not nice. Burnt cheap sausages dry scrambled egg and rock hard bacon. ALL pre cooked and obviously left sitting in the ban Marie. French toast was coated in egg not soaked and fried in old grease. Pity.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silenone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnClesham, Manager at Westport Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us recently.

We are sorry that you were a little disappointed. I will look into the areas for improvement that you mentioned regarding general housekeeping and also our breakfast. On the other hand thank you for your comments on our rooms and beds.

I note that you have stayed on other occasions and have been happy. I would welcome an opportunity to ensure that you enjoy your next visit an invite you to contact me personally in advance so that we can restore your confidence in our hotel.

Yours sincerely

John Clesham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I meant to put this review up earlier. I booked the hotel for a group of 19 to celebrate both our parents 70th birthdays. I have to say the hotel could not have been better, the staff, the food, the upgrades everything was top class. We had a meal in the restaurant on the saturday night and the staff decorated the table and presented bday desert plates and sang to our parents. Highly recomend the hotel and definately will all be back. Some of the group even ended up staying a 3rd night which says alot.
thanks again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Room the wife away for the night
Booked the gold experience which gave us bed breakfast evening meal, and a visit to the thermal spa
There were other bits thrown in as well it was the best break we had the hotel was great , the staff were friendly and the food was great .
My only gripe was a bus pulled in at about 8 am and it left its engine running outside the entrance to the hotel next door which woke us both up.
But well done Westport plaza and the staff

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank quo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel exceeded expectations with brilliant service , good food and the facilities were excellent. Definitely worth the extra money over its sister hotel the Castlecourt. Centrally located as well which means no car is really required if you're planning a relaxing weekend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank simon_p_mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Everything about our visit was perfect hotel, staff, food excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel. Deserves 5 stars! It's a hard act to follow find myself comparing other hotels to it and they never measure up.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Great value room booked for two nights, with the luxury of a jacuzzi bath (unexpected but much appreciated). Location is handy for easy access to the town and all it's amenities.Fantastic hotel restaurant is most definitely worth a visit - the food and service were exquisite. Rooms are well presented and maintained and contain extremely comfortable beds. Would most definitely recommend for a stay in Westport.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherybou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.2 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,025 reviews
0 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#5 of 13 in Westport
1,734 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Westport
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
981 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 13 in Westport
1,149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 13 in Westport
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Plaza Hotel

Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Westport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#2 Business Hotel in Westport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Westport
Price Range: £68 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westport Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish 4 **** standard Westport Plaza Hotel elevates the hotel experience in the West of Ireland to a new level. Comprising of 88 deluxe rooms, including the silver, gold and presidential experience, with king size beds as standard and a selection of rooms with balconies overlooking the roof garden, the Westport Plaza Hotel is a haven of contemporary luxury. Our Resort Spa, Spa Sula is a spacious, tranquil sanctuary which is designed for you to relax and luxuriate in and includes 12 spacious treatment rooms and Thermal Suite with outdoor heated Jacuzzi Rockpool. In our Resort Leisure Centre, The C Club you’ll find a range of facilities to help you unwind. Why not take a leisurely swim in the indoor heated pool or let the jacuzzi bubbles ease those aches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Westport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing