We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking in character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westport Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
richelieu
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lacking in character”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Last stop in our Connemara trip and in a way the hotel was disappointing after our previous
experiences.
Reception was efficient and polite, The rooms were large, quiet and clean. We ate in the restaurant one evening and found the menu to be adequate but uninteresting. The breakfast menu was good and varied.
The bar/lounge had the atmosphere of an airport terminal and did not encourage one to stay and enjoy a chat with friends. The same could be said of the reception area.
The hotel is well situated for visiting the area and has good parking facilities.Overall the hotel is functional but it lacks character. A good transit hotel but not for a vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KakaduJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,531
    391
    102
    30
    11
See reviews for
434
983
34
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mulingar
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I was very pleasantly surprised by this lovely hotel. I would grade this hotel as an extremely good 4 star experience. I love accommodation that has 'the little extras' - the Jacuzzi bath, the extremely professional and competent staff, complementary new movies, hugely comfortable beds, tasty room service and three hours' use of the spa all for the price of a treatment. As a fussy eater, I could not fault the food. Beautiful fresh ingredients, perfectly cooked steak (almost always overcooked elsewhere), presentation that would rival the best Masterchef competitors, especially the desserts, al dente veg, nothing overly buttered or greasy - just really great food which is actually hard to find these days. I was delighted to find many fantastic alternatives to the usual fry for breakfast, from French toast to omelettes. I liked that fact that the cooked breakfast food was ordered directly from the kitchen rather than being left sit out on the counter. If I had one gripe with the hotel, it's the gym area which is badly in need of a makeover. You have to press a buzzer to get into it, the treadmills (except one) don't have calorie displays which is unusual and the one that does, the headphones don't work on them. Using the gym is a big part of a hotel break for me and unfortunately I wouldn't book this hotel again on that basis. If you're after just pure relaxation though, this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Be sure to have a room with a Jacuzzi bath. It's lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nettyketchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a friends hen night. The staff especially christie were great they couldnt do enough for us and we were escorted every where we went. The rooms are stunning and the jacuzzi bath was an impressive addition although i didnt get to try it out. There was great choice on the set menu and the food was delicious

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We (2 adults and 2 small kids) stayed in Westport Plaza Hotel over the May bank holiday week end and were a bit disappointed with our experience. We had a standard family room which for me was the biggest let down. I guess after reading all the reviews and with the hotel being in the top 25 hotels in Ireland we were expecting a bit of a wow factor but in fact the room was very ordinary and a bit dated. The size of it for a family room was quiet small as well. Now, it was clean and functional but with the weather being bad we were spending a bit more time in the room than usual and found ourselves feeling a bit claustrophobic at the end of it. The bed was comfy but i was woken up few times during the night by loud behavior of numerous hen/stag parties staying in the Westport Plaza and Castlecourt Hotel. During our stay our room was cleaned only to a very average standard, dirty glasses left behind and not sure if bathroom floor was cleaned at all.
The breakfast was very ordinary as well, I found the cold food selection to be very limited: few slices of ham and cheese didnt look very appetizing, no fish, no individual pots of yogurt but 2 big bowls of it, cereals, fresh fruits and juices, tap water and a little selection of pastries; as for the hot food menu, again, it was ok, but few dishes had supplement payment which i cant justify.
The dinner, which we had as a part of the package, was good. Selection of starters was a bit strange but anything we had was delicious, we were especially impressed with both of our desserts, so five stars to the dessert chef.
All the members of staff who looked after us during our stay were very professional and overall we received an excellent service.
Location of the hotel is very good, within easy walking distance to anywhere in town, including The Westport House (which we really enjoyed).
Overall we thought that the price we paid for the week end was too high for what we received and i didnt feel the hotel being particularly child friendly but more hen/stag parties friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadiasmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnClesham, Manager at Westport Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest


Thank you for staying with us recently. We are sorry that you had mixed feelings but pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and have mentioned our friendly staff who we know are our biggest asset.

We will look into the areas that you mentioned with regard to general housekeeping and also our breakfast with a view to improving our service.

I would like to reassure you that as a hotel we are open to the public and all our guests are equally welcome whether they are part of a group , or a family , a couple, young or old. We are child friendly and welcome families at all times. Westport is a very popular and lively town and at weekends some people do travel here to enjoy themselves out late. Others prefer a quieter time. I would always encourage our guests to make contact with us if any issues arise during their stay and even in advance when making the booking to let us know the purpose of their visit so that we can act on this information.

I would welcome an opportunity to have you back with us and invite you to contact me personally if you are considering returning to Westport in the future.

Yours Sincerely

John Clesham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Donegal, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I would like to thank the staff at the Westport Plaza hotel for their kindness given to my in laws how stayed with them last week.They were celebratin 40 years of marraige and i notified the hotel. The little extra touches in the room were lovely and made their stay a trip to remember. They will be returning to your lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doherty83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Cant fault this hotel, clean, comfortable and very relaxed. We stayed over the Easter break and chose a silver experience room for an extra treat.. To be honest, the only main difference is the addition of bathrobes but even so it was a large bright room overlooking a bustling courtyard. We ate in the bar one evening which was really nice and then headed across the courtyard to the sister hotel bar which had live music and much more atmosphere. If you are looking for a relaxing break in a beautiful town then this would be a great choice! Staff were also extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sargea123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Positives:
Junior suite very family friendly.
Separate sitting and bedroom.
Small fully equipt kitchenette.
High chair.
Large bathroom with seperate shower and jacuzzi bath.
Comfortable bed.
Two balconies (for the smokers)
Delicious tuna melt bap, very tasty.

Negatives:
The overall standard of cleanliness really falls short.
Hair from last guest in shower drain.
Nearly all of the glass areas where dirty and smudged.
Pool very over crowded.
Staff not overly friendly.
Movie services in room not working even after erection was informed.
Very dirty high chairs!
Breakfast a total let down and very bad.
Huge water stains on ceilings.

Have stayed here a number of times in the past and have always been happy with the rooms we were given. This time however although happy with the size if the room and how well equipt it was the poor cleanliness is what really let it down.
Also the pillows are quiet uncomfortable but the bed it's self is very comfortable. The child cot was also very dirty.
Breakfast was not nice. Burnt cheap sausages dry scrambled egg and rock hard bacon. ALL pre cooked and obviously left sitting in the ban Marie. French toast was coated in egg not soaked and fried in old grease. Pity.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silenone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnClesham, Manager at Westport Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us recently.

We are sorry that you were a little disappointed. I will look into the areas for improvement that you mentioned regarding general housekeeping and also our breakfast. On the other hand thank you for your comments on our rooms and beds.

I note that you have stayed on other occasions and have been happy. I would welcome an opportunity to ensure that you enjoy your next visit an invite you to contact me personally in advance so that we can restore your confidence in our hotel.

Yours sincerely

John Clesham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.2 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
954 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
874 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,070 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,076 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Plaza Hotel

Property: Westport Plaza Hotel
Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Westport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#2 Business Hotel in Westport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westport Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish 4 **** standard Westport Plaza Hotel elevates the hotel experience in the West of Ireland to a new level. Comprising of 88 deluxe rooms, including the silver, gold and presidential experience, with king size beds as standard and a selection of rooms with balconies overlooking the roof garden, the Westport Plaza Hotel is a haven of contemporary luxury. Our Resort Spa, Spa Sula is a spacious, tranquil sanctuary which is designed for you to relax and luxuriate in and includes 12 spacious treatment rooms and Thermal Suite with outdoor heated Jacuzzi Rockpool. In our Resort Leisure Centre, The C Club you’ll find a range of facilities to help you unwind. Why not take a leisurely swim in the indoor heated pool or let the jacuzzi bubbles ease those aches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Westport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing