We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hotel with great Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westport Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Ards
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel with great Spa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

An absolutely delightful place to stay in the heart of the beautiful and charming town of Westport.

Great, friendly and discreet service. Sumptuous rooms to enjoy, treat yourself to an hour in the luxurious Spa Sula. The outdoor hot pool is magical. Bliss...

The Plaza bar provided excellent food at reasonable prices and the breakfasts were delicious and with a mouth watering array of choice.

Perfectly situated, seconds from the thriving and colourful town centre, this makes for a stress free stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheMayorofNantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,430
    377
    95
    29
    10
See reviews for
401
928
33
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meath
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was our third time to stay in this hotel in the past 7 years. This time there were five of us- 2 adults and 3 children(7,4 & 21months). We booked a suite that had interconnecting bedrooms and a little kitchenette and sitting room so that we would have some space. Rooms were perfect, very quiet and clean. Beds were extremely comfortable and self controlled air conditioning in every room. Top films available to watch- one free every day which the boys loved at bedtime. The only issue I had was that the showers were not strong in either bathrooms. Staff were fantastic, especially in the dining room when it came to dinner. No ask was too big.
The hotel is perfectly located within a stroll of the town.
Whilst The Plaza is still one of my favourite hotels to stay in in Ireland, I feel that the decor has lost a little of the luxurious gloss I remember; bedroom carpets look very worn and a little shoddy. However, this is purely an aesthetic criticism that is easily rectified. We'll be back again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a strong shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankyMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I are just back from a weekend in the Westport Plaza and it was good but not great .there are lots of positives like the restaurant for dinner at night was superb both for food and the ambience.The cooked breakfasts on both mornings however were over cooked and the plates were so hot that my husband is still nursing a burnt finger.I observed a few not finishing their fries this morning!!The reception we received from the front desk was brilliant at all times...lovely ladies and so helpful.The room we stayed in overlooked the roof top garden and it had a balcony which had its own problems.the smell of stale smoke that drifted in from the ashtray was horrible.the ash trays are attached to the outside of the windows so that smokers are able to go outside but I'd say the smokers don't even bother ....just stick their heads out the window.At five o clock this morning I was wakened to awful noise .when I looked out their were four people out on their balcony smoking and talking very loudly...not so good when I'm paying a lot for a good nights sleep.Was disappointed in the bedroom as it wasn't half as fancy as the photos on the website.Could do with updating.Only a small thing but I'd have thought there would be face flannels in a hotel of this standard.Also the duvets felt very synthetic.Im used to feather and down but on the other hand the beds are very comfortable so as you can see I had mixed views on the hotel Heard great things about it but overall felt disappointed.We also paid for silver experience which was an extra 40euro and all it meant extra was two small bottles of water nightly and dressing gowns.Was it worth that ...no way Would I go back ...don't know.Good hotel but not great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnClesham, Manager at Westport Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank your for staying with us. recently. We are sorry that you were not entirely happy and will look into all the points that you made.

Just to clarify that our Gold upgrade includes a larger than standard room with a balcony , bathrobes , slippers , handmade chocolates , wine and mineral water and a pass for the Thermal suite in Spa Sula. It is unfortunate that you were disturbed by other hotel guests. If our security were made aware we would have stopped this. Our breakfast are individually prepared to order with the breakfast meats being cooked medium to well done as we find that most people prefer to have their bacon and sausages well cooked. The plates are hot to keep the food hot but I am sorry that your husband found his plate to be too hot. I will keep an eye on this and hope that he is ok. We do have facecloths and provide them on request.

I do hope you will decide to return as you gave some very positive feedback regarding our reception people and our restaurant. I would like you to contact me personally if considering returning so that I can make sure that your next stay fully meets your expectations.

Yours sincerely


John Clesham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Celebrating our friends 40th in Westport. Hotel was great for our pub crawl base, room was clean & spacious, breakfast was fab! Only complaint was that our room was not ready when we arrived & we didn't get access to it until 6pm, however plenty of pubs nearby to entertain us. Would definitely stay again

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Our 5 days in Westport was crowned by staying in this superb hotel and a few sunny days.
The Plaza is a real gem, well situated in town and still one of the quietest hotel rooms I've stayed in. Excellent comfortable beds made it for me.
Really nice and helpful staff and a gourmet restaurant - what more can you ask for ?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Privatedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

A lovely hotel in the Centre of Westport. Walking/strolling distance to shops, cafes, restaurants and bars. Staff very friendly and helpful during our 3 night stay. The Westport Plaza Hotel seems the quieter option compared to the Castlecourt Hotel, although this may be just because of the dates we chose to stay???

The family room was spacious, with very comfortable beds. Large shower, but not a particularly powerful shower, with a very small fixed wall unit. If you like a great shower, then this will disappoint. The room was quiet, with a vending machine at the end of the corridor - great for bottles of water and midnight snacks!!

We ate in the restaurant on the 1st night. Nice meal - not great meal, but after the long drive was satisfactory with attentive staff. Great breakfast, with plenty of choice. Bar for casual dining was the only area that needs improvement.

Great pool and gym onsite. Bear in mind that the pool only allows kids to swim until 6:30. 1-1 swimming lessons availalbe.

Overall, I would recommend this Hotel for a family break. Nearest kids activiities at Westport House. If your kids enjoy watersports then head to Achill Island, other wise this drive not recommended for little ones. Too long, with not much to do at the end of the drive.

Croagh Patrick closeby. This will take you approx 2 hrs to climb and about 1 hr to descend. Picnic area at the bottom.

Best family friendly meals on our trips was the Helm and Torinos.

Westport is beautiful. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barravore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just stayed for a week at The Westport Plaza, went for the five night break including dinner each night; not having stayed there before, didn't really know what to expect, but can say that everything was superb! Staff, welcoming, helpful, accommodating and very professional in every department, breakfasts were just great, room clean and comfortable, all essentials and could definitely recommend this hotel. The hidden gem was The Merlot Restaurant, menu was changed every night with fine food, cooked and presented to an extremely high standard, seafood was amazing, as were the lamb, pork, and duck....good job they have a gym and leisure complex on site....! Will definitely be back, thanks to everyone, especially Alex and the staff in the restaurant for their attentiveness and approach, five star service without exception. A great place to be based for the experience of Westport, look forward to our next visit, sad to be going home, could get used to this lifestyle!

Room Tip: Go for an upgrade room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarkieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.2 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Plaza Hotel

Property: Westport Plaza Hotel
Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#1 Family Hotel in Westport
#2 Business Hotel in Westport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westport Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish 4 **** standard Westport Plaza Hotel elevates the hotel experience in the West of Ireland to a new level. Comprising of 88 deluxe rooms, including the silver, gold and presidential experience, with king size beds as standard and a selection of rooms with balconies overlooking the roof garden, the Westport Plaza Hotel is a haven of contemporary luxury. Our Resort Spa, Spa Sula is a spacious, tranquil sanctuary which is designed for you to relax and luxuriate in and includes 12 spacious treatment rooms and Thermal Suite with outdoor heated Jacuzzi Rockpool. In our Resort Leisure Centre, The C Club you’ll find a range of facilities to help you unwind. Why not take a leisurely swim in the indoor heated pool or let the jacuzzi bubbles ease those aches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Westport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing