We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westport Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a fantastic room, very clean, spacious and comfortable, with a very nice bathroom. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Evening meal was the only disappointment but the receptionist apologised and took off the price of our drinks bill from our bill at checkout. I would definitely stay here again when next in Westport and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,531
    391
    102
    30
    11
See reviews for
434
983
34
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on the May bank
Holiday for a romantic weekend away. First impressions from the main road, the hotel doesn't look anything special but don't be fooled.

The hotel itself is spotless and the hotel staff are friendly, warm and welcoming.

We were given a lovely king size room with a jacuzzi bath, lovely size and bed was comfortable also, not too soft and not to hard.

Had a meal included in our package, it was nice and tasty but nothing to special. Breakfast was good aswell, your usual fry and continental breakfast but staff were quick for bringing out tea, toast etc.

My only critique for my stay is not about the hotel but more so the location of wesport, for a romantic break maybe stay away as it's full of loud stags and hens.

I personally thought though for the price I paid for the May weekend, I expected better but saying that, if you get a cheap deal it's worth the stay

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wuggybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

All round fantastic experience at this hotel from booking to departure. I recently organised my sisters hen party at the Westport Plaza Hotel. We were a group of 19. Welcoming, friendly staff ensured our rooms, which were spacious and comortable were available as soon as possible, the room previously booked for our hen activity was ready for us etc Even the activityfacilitator commented on how friendly and helpful the staff were to her in helping set up the room. Great, lunch in the bar, dinner in the hotel restaurant and breakfast to send us on our way the following morning. Great location.I even received a follow up call from the hotel afterwards to check to see how our stay went.
I will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorr_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altdorf, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Westport Plaza is located within the center of Westport. The Hotel is clean and the staff friendly and helpful. We we booked a Junior Suite but were disappointed with the room. We got a relatively small bedroom with a dark separate living room - furnished with a worn dark brown sofa and an kitchenette. Lots of room that was not really inviting to spend time in. We would not book this room again. We also used the SPA and that was an equally disappointing experience. Parts of the saunas were out of order and the relaxation room closed for a private party. After that event was over nobody bothered to clean it up and make it available again. We had one dinner at the hotel and that was ok. The breakfast is very average as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murgman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Fantastic staff who, from booking to departure, ensured that our visit was hassle-free and most enjoyable. I went here for my hen party and they could not have done enough for us. The rooms were lovely and spacious and the Jacuzzi bath is such an amazing treat!! I'll definitely be visiting the Westport Plaza again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I am just after coming back from organising my sister’s hen party in the Westport Plaza. The hotel could not have done more for us and went above and beyond to ensure we all enjoyed our stay. There were a total of 19 in our group and everyone thoroughly enjoyed it.

We arrived early Saturday, the hotel knew we were arriving early and had as many rooms organised for us as they could. The rooms were clean, large and spacious. There were little treats left in the bride’s suite and in my room also since I was organising the party - a real nice treat. They held the remaining luggage in storage when we went around Westport town. The hens bought nice bits and pieces and we also got our bridesmaid shoes so it was a successful little shopping trip.

We arrived back to the hotel at 2:30 for Afternoon Tea and everyone else had been checked into their rooms. The Afternoon Tea was amazing lovely scones, little pastries, sandwiches etc. They kept bringing more of everything out and if people had any special request they also catered for it. The cups and everything was really girly - perfect for ladies who lunch :)

After Afternoon Tea I had a room reserved for Hen Party games. The hotel had champagne glass and ice buckets as I requested for the lemonades and champagne I brought with me. While the other bridesmaids got the room ready for games one of the staff brought me to all the rooms to put a gift bag I organised for everyone in each room. After the games we all went back to our rooms to get ready for dinner in Restaurant Merlot.

The meal in the Merlot was fabulous, such a good selection....really top class food. After food and group photos we decided to head to some of the pubs in Westport before we went to C2 Mojos (nightclub beside the hotel). We had an area reserved in the adjoining nightclub via the hotel. They had champagne and little cards with photos of bride (which they got through me) at the reserved area. There are a few floors in the nightclub - I would definitely recommend the 1st floor - all 90's music. Everyone had a great time dancing the night away.

After the nightclub ended we went to the residence bar in the Castlecourt Hotel (adjoining hotel and same owners). One or two had the munchies so they got sandwiches made. Before we headed off for bed at the early hours of the morning we had a sing along which was great fun.

Breakfast was served up until 11 (I think). There was a huge choice on the menu. I had a full Irish and it was really delicious. After breakfast we went back to rooms to get ready to head back home and check out.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough – not just for hen parties! When you book and advise them it’s for a hen they advise that they don't allow hen dress entire in the restaurant. This suited us perfect - we weren't in to all dressing up and novelty hen party stuff that comes with hens. This is also great for other people on weekend breaks in the hotel. A few of us are already planning another girly spa weekend in the Westport Plaza before the wedding – really looking forward to it. Westport Plaza #A1.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have been visiting the westport Plaza for about 6 years every january. we couldn't get there this january but decided to take a break last week and stayed for 3 nights with our daughter and her army boyfriend who is on leave before going to cyprus on duty for 3 years. nothing has changed in this lovely hotel, always the same warm welcome on arrival, fabulous rooms, the only hotel where i adjust to the bed on the first night and always get a wonderful nights slepp , relaxing spa and wonderful food in the merlot restaurant, thought we has missed our favourite member of staff - alex - but managed to catch up with her on our last day. its a credit to the management of the hotel to keep their staff for many years, they are obviously good to work for . looking forward to a visit next year. thank you westport plaza.

Room Tip: if you can go for the gold package.... well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepsi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.2 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
954 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
874 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,071 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,077 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Plaza Hotel

Property: Westport Plaza Hotel
Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Westport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#2 Business Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westport Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish 4 **** standard Westport Plaza Hotel elevates the hotel experience in the West of Ireland to a new level. Comprising of 88 deluxe rooms, including the silver, gold and presidential experience, with king size beds as standard and a selection of rooms with balconies overlooking the roof garden, the Westport Plaza Hotel is a haven of contemporary luxury. Our Resort Spa, Spa Sula is a spacious, tranquil sanctuary which is designed for you to relax and luxuriate in and includes 12 spacious treatment rooms and Thermal Suite with outdoor heated Jacuzzi Rockpool. In our Resort Leisure Centre, The C Club you’ll find a range of facilities to help you unwind. Why not take a leisurely swim in the indoor heated pool or let the jacuzzi bubbles ease those aches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Westport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing