We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grove Lodge B&B
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashleigh House(Monaghan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Glencarn Hotel(Castleblayney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shirley Arms Hotel(Carrickmacross)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
16
5
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
5
1
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We had a wonderful two night stay at Grove Lodge. Paula was an excellent host and helpful with lots of suggestions of where to eat in the town. Breakfast was perfect and our room was lovely and large and perfectly clean. We couldn't have asked for better.

J&J

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrequentTravellers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I did take the time to read the other reviews and the web site before submitting this review thinking we had missed something. Our stay fell short of the other reviews. The only really positive thing we can say is about the location. When we tried to use the bathroom, we found the door locked, but my husband did manage to jimmy the lock and get it open. The bed was very uncomfortable - almost like sleeping directly on the springs - it squeaked and popped when we moved, and we had to move furniture to find an electrical outlet. The room photo on the web site is not representative of the room we were in. Prior to going to our room, the hostess asked when we would be down for breakfast. We were 10 minutes late and the hostess was still in her night clothes. We really felt that we were imposing on them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank retiredperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed at Grove Lodge for one night while visiting the area where my ancestors once lived. The B&B was spotless. Our room was large and the bathroom was a good size too. Paula was helpful with restaurant suggestions and information about the area. Like many B&B's the rooms are up a flight of stairs and there is no elevator. I don't think there are any restaurants or sights within walking distance. The B&B is on a side street in a residential area and was quiet. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I stayed here for six nights while visiting the area. My room was lovely and comfortable and had a super view over the town. It was very peaceful and Paula (the proprietor) was very kind and helpful. The full Irish breakfast kept me going all day and the house was modern and spotless. I would certainly recommend it - great value!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Happytrails87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed at Grove Lodge for a wedding when the hotel next door (The Hillgrove) was booked out.

The house is lovely and spotlessly clean. The brekfast was lovely and the price was reasonable.

We would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ro2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews