We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Girly escape!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I have stayed in The Hillgrove several times to date and my brother even celebrated his wedding there last year, I have to say its one of my favourite hotels in Ireland. The decor is breathtaking, rich and opulant and you really are made feel like royalty for the duration of your stay! The overall theme is art and suites are inspired by artists such as Van Gogh, Jack Vittrianno and Picasso. My friends and I have stayed here on various spa breaks and girly escapes and we keep returning as we love the spa, outdoor hotub, food, rooms and overall ambience of the hotel! The Hillgrove email me frequently with offers and deals so it also proves fantastic value for money. I cant wait for my next stay there!

Room Tip: The new rooms are much more up to date and nicer than the old rooms. We stayed in room 610-perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquiO32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,308 - 1,314 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed here for a wedding it was lovely the staff were brilliant at the wedding, the food was lovely. We couldn't fault it..

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HS20112011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Our stay in hotel was excellent really loved, check in so easy & quick dinner was outa tis world & great deals, great staff very clean & very comfortable. will defin be stayin here again, overall perfect hotel & great value :)

Room Tip: All rooms perfect :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neecee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

stayed here for 2 nights this week with my hubby.really enjoyed it ,great staff,very clean and overall great value for money:)

Room Tip: we were in room 601,,very near everything and no noise ,so a great nights sleep,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerahern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Had an enjoyable evening here. Dinner was great value and very nice as was breakfast. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and we could adjust the heating to suit ourselves which was great. TV had good variety of channels. Bathroom was very spacious. Everything was clean. The only downside was the bed, my husband found it uncomfortable and the sheet did not fit correctly so we had to keep adjusting it.

The spa charges a €40 each to use the thermal suite if your treatments are under €200 EACH so I decided against using the spa and saving my money I'd put aside to go to a hotel closer to home that doesn't charge to use the thermal suite so I will get more value for my money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodiecharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Very easy check-in, even though we were early. Our family room in the New Wing was spacious and comfortable. Bathroom was bright, large and spotless with both a bath and shower.
The leasure complex was excellant, again spotless. The staff were very fussy about children running outside the pool area insisting on them wearing flip-flops at all times if they were out of the water at all. So note -you will need flip-flops if you intend to visit the pool, adults too. They have a spa but I didn't visit it.
Food was good, there was an offer on of a 3 course evening meal for 20 euro. Bar snacks were good value too, around 6.95 for a pinini and 4.50 for soup.
A very child/ family friendly hotel, nothing was too much trouble for them.

Room Tip: The new wing is spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patreflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

recently used the Hillgrove Hotel for wedding reception.
In a word from start to finish the staff, management and all round service was second to none. I could not say enough for banqueting manager as we organised the function from long distance calling to the hotel only twice in 15 months. Alot of the guests stayed and all ate the food on the day and I never heard one complant only rave reviews. Keep up the good work..

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanefeeney42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
229 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
77 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Address: Old Armagh Road, Monaghan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range: £87 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Majestically Magical' 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa is the ideal location for fabulous break away. Less than an hour's drive from Belfast and Dublin the Hotel boasts 87 beautifully decorated bedrooms, including Suites with Jacuzzis. Enjoy their fabulous Leisure Club with Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Gym & Outdoor Hot Tub. You will love their luxurious Lir Spa & Wellness Centre and Hair at Hillgrove Hair Salon. The Hotel also has a superb Restaurant, Bistro, Bars, Banqueting Suites & Conference Centre. Specialising in Girlie Breaks, Murder Mysteries, Spa Packages and Family Breaks. 7 hours Free Kids Club every weekend and daily during school holidays. Bouncy Castle, Games Room, Play Areas & Outdoor Playground. Walking distance from Monaghan Town. The Hillgrove Hotel has been Awarded as the Number One Family Hotel in Ireland, Ulster's Best Wedding Venue, is Tripadvisor's Number 1 Hotel in Monaghan and in Top 25 Hotels in Ireland. Indulge and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure Hotel Monaghan
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure And Spa
Hillgrove Hotel Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing