We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I was here on the first weekend in February and it was Fabulous. The staff at this hotel are amazing and really help you out if you have any queries. We did a Murder Mystery weekend and it was so well organised. The staff that took part where also hilarious and really added to our night. Rooms were spacious and beds were comfy. Bathroom was quiet big and the shower was fine. Breakfast was delicious. I can't compliment this hotel enough and will certainly be back to take advantage of the spa the next time!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuperGirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,286 - 1,292 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

I would totally recommand this hotel.a group of 28 of us went there on a hen at the end of jan,not one of us have a bad report to made. we picked the girlie escape,which was fab.choc and champagne in rooms,spa treatment,dinner and breakfast all included. from the dinner being lovely, to the rooms being spotless,to our treatments in lir spa being lovely and bang on time,which is important when there is so many of us to keep happy!everything was so well organisied and the staff are very friendly and willing to help.even the bar staff when you want one more late drink!i would highly recommand this hotel for whatever reason you may need to have a nice break away!


happy.also

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jo20092011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Spa excellent. Massage excellent. Staff excellent, and very friendly. We didn't see any kids, but it was midweek. Restaurant menu and food was delicious, and the bar food was as good. we were very happy with our mid week break. And the rooms are lovely and modern. Definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed here with my family in December for a special occasion. I have stayed here before and the service is still great! the staff are very friendly and helpful, the hotel itself is lovely and the rooms are modern, spacious and clean. My mum ordered me a bottle of champagne and chocolates to my room and they were delicious! as was the Champagne! We also had dinner in the restaurant, to which the only downside was my main course which was a vegetarian tartlet which wasn't nice, but apart from that my family enjoyed our meal, the portions are a good size, and breakfast was good also. Thanks for a wonderful stay, will return again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayFreakxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This hotel looks amazing on the website and it really does have some great features. It has kids club where the team play pool games with them and then have a bouncy castle. Great service - but watch out ... it is only on in school holidays from what we were told.

The Spa is fantastic with pool, outdoor hot tub, steam and sauna... but take your flip flops and swim hat as they charge you for them and won't let you in the pool without them.

The bar - PK's is a little average. Again, great kids menu and service for the kids. But the wine is in little bottles and the selection small. We ordered a bottle of champagne and they gave us a magnum of low alcohol sparkling wine. They said people just don't drink champagne in there. So if you are after nice wine and champagne this bar isn't great.

Also, make sure you ask for a non-smoking room. We were put in a smoking family room and it smelt terrible. they were good about changing us to another room but said that we hadn't specified non smoking. I felt that they should have asked before placing us in this room. apparently 50% of people want smoking rooms and it's not un-common for families to smoke in the room. So if you are a family of smokers this hotel is good for you. The family rooms are good and the hotel is very friendly to kids. You don't feel like they shouldn't be there - in fact they gave pencils in the bar etc to help make them happy.

The family rooms are fine, two single beds and a queen. All clean and a nice view of the cathedral (which is amazing) from some rooms.

All in all, if you have kids I think you will like this place.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking if you don't smoke and a view of the cathedral. Also, some rooms have a wide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The title is true - its an exceptionally kid friendly hotel and thats probably a plus to most but to me i would need to look elsewhere .....

And i am not sure if the decor is done with these children in mind but i found the purple overpowering and not at all conducive to relaxation which i think is the main objective of a hotel stay.

As per some of my other review i do want to point out that i did not stay here , simply visited , ate and drank here and the food was fine but the bar service lacked that extra finess i would expect from a hotel bar anywhere in the world.

The location is fine with commanding view should the weather offer

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I really enjoyed staying in the Hillgrove. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable and the facilities were great. I also thought the staff were very friendly and helpful. Myself and my colleague ate dinner in the hotel every night we were there. The food was lovely and was good value.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Niamh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
229 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
77 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Address: Old Armagh Road, Monaghan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range: £86 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Majestically Magical' 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa is the ideal location for fabulous break away. Less than an hour's drive from Belfast and Dublin the Hotel boasts 87 beautifully decorated bedrooms, including Suites with Jacuzzis. Enjoy their fabulous Leisure Club with Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Gym & Outdoor Hot Tub. You will love their luxurious Lir Spa & Wellness Centre and Hair at Hillgrove Hair Salon. The Hotel also has a superb Restaurant, Bistro, Bars, Banqueting Suites & Conference Centre. Specialising in Girlie Breaks, Murder Mysteries, Spa Packages and Family Breaks. 7 hours Free Kids Club every weekend and daily during school holidays. Bouncy Castle, Games Room, Play Areas & Outdoor Playground. Walking distance from Monaghan Town. The Hillgrove Hotel has been Awarded as the Number One Family Hotel in Ireland, Ulster's Best Wedding Venue, is Tripadvisor's Number 1 Hotel in Monaghan and in Top 25 Hotels in Ireland. Indulge and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure Hotel Monaghan
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure And Spa
Hillgrove Hotel Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing