We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Food was lovely, everything was spot on, it was a large wedding and the quality and standard of the food I was very impressed it, it was done as silver service and the servers were very good. Quick and efficient and able to deal with any requests we had without any issues. I must also point out that the hotel was also dealing with another wedding, a funeral meal and also communion. Unfortunately we were unable to stay over as the entire hotel was booked out that night but from the reports of friends and family the rooms were very spacious, clean and tidy and nobody had any complaints, I look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Nikki245
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled that your family wedding lived up to your expectations. Our highly trained wedding co-ordinators and banqueting staff are certainly an asset to the hotel. We hope your next visit will include an overnight stay.
Kind regards
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

885 - 891 of 1,481 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed a night with 2 kids, best child-friendly hotel we've stayed in and very, very reasonable. Very friendly staff, spacious family room. Leisure centre was brilliant - warmest kiddie pool we've been in, best family changing room for small kids. Also multiple kiddie play area indoor and outdoor. Outdoor play area was fantastic! All in all, great experience. Thank you, Hillgrove.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YLMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Hillgrove as part of large group. The girl on reception ( pregnant girl) was so friendly and helpful, always chatty. I had single room which was nice with large bathroom. Very clean and only complaint is that the tv was old and small with a terrible picture. Breakfast was average. Dinner was very good considering such large group. The leisure facilities including the pool and outdoor hot tub are great with a superb changing room with digital lockers and swimwear drier. Staff very helpful and friendly and as we were Christian group not buying alcohol they did not seem to mind and were more than pleased yo simply sell you a coffee or cola. Other venues almost huff if not buying large amounts of drink. Quite a lot of work being done to improve the hotel. All very modern and trendy and probably appealing more to the females. Overall a decent 4 star hotel trying to keep guests happy.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

After reading other reviews here you would nearly think that I'm nearly I'm talking about a different hotel here but I'm not
To start with food lovely if a little bit on the pricey side for bar food , decor lovely , spotless clean but with the exception other a you chap Colin ( I think ) at breakfast the staff are very very unhelpful
We had asked for a few small thing ie room service and a ice bucket but everything was an effort and very unhelpful
Even when we were the only people left in the bar they wouldn't let us turn up the volume on the TV
Even though there's is good points the unhelpful staff really let down our weekend .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 370helly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear 370helly
Having read your recent review naturally we are very disappointed to read you found our staff very unhelpful as this is not the normal feedback we receive. You also mention that you found the bar food a little pricey, yet we have main courses on the menu from €11.95 which includes a choice of side dish. We have kept our prices competitive and had had very positive feedback. We will certainly take your comments on board.
Kind regards
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and my 2 children loved this hotel. We have stayed in many Irish hotels around the country and found this amongst the best around. The rooms were clean and spacious, the restaurant was comfortable and the food excellent. Staff were amazing and the leisure centre great for the kids. Lovely time here and great value. You have made customers for life out of us. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen_hampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Stephen_hamp
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and your lovely comments regarding your recent stay. Your comments certainly make us realise that all the hard work our staff and management put in are worth it as it’s really all about making our guests feel welcome. We are looking forward to seeing you again very soon.
Kind regards
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed in the hiilgrove for a one night family stay recently.Enjoyed our stay,staff were
very helpful and pleasant.It was a late check in so had dinner in the bar,food was exellent and great service. Family room was quiet large and comfortable.Good location would definitely
stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here on business many times. As it's such a nice place I decided to book for my daughters birthday break. First class service and facilities. The man serving us in the restaurant on Friday night was first class. He made both the kids with us seem like stars. Thank you very much the hillgrove for a great family break.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank NEILMCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
225 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
74 reviews
24.7 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
12.3 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Address: Old Armagh Road, Monaghan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range: £88 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Majestically Magical' 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa is the ideal location for fabulous break away. Less than an hour's drive from Belfast and Dublin the Hotel boasts 87 beautifully decorated bedrooms, including Suites with Jacuzzis. Enjoy their fabulous Leisure Club with Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Gym & Outdoor Hot Tub. You will love their luxurious Lir Spa & Wellness Centre and Hair at Hillgrove Hair Salon. The Hotel also has a superb Restaurant, Bistro, Bars, Banqueting Suites & Conference Centre. Specialising in Girlie Breaks, Murder Mysteries, Spa Packages and Family Breaks. 7 hours Free Kids Club every weekend and daily during school holidays. Bouncy Castle, Games Room, Play Areas & Outdoor Playground. Walking distance from Monaghan Town. The Hillgrove Hotel has been Awarded as the Number One Family Hotel in Ireland, Ulster's Best Wedding Venue, is Tripadvisor's Number 1 Hotel in Monaghan and in Top 25 Hotels in Ireland. Indulge and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure Hotel Monaghan
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure And Spa
Hillgrove Hotel Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing