We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this local hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Monaghan, Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love this local hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great hotel for everything. They really look after everybody. Especially the kids. The food is delicious and you can relax and know that the kids are having a great time. I go regularly and just love it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamielee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    278
    92
    54
    36
See reviews for
444
404
27
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Hillgrove Hotel is such a lovely hotel, we stayed in a family room it was so comfortably and so clean. We had dinner in the bar, the food was really good and the staff were so friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel we are planning on going back very soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Hillgrove many times and it never disappoints! It's the only hotel I know that actually welcomes children and staff go out of their way to assist. I can't wait to see new decor. I have been for a hen night and family occasions and have received amazing customer service at all times.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHunter1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Hotel had been recommended by friends and it did not disappoint. From driving into hotel and seeing 'funky' pink chair just thought this is my cup of tea. There was some work being carried out but we had been warned of this and it certainly did not interfere with our stay. The staff were extremely kind and helpful in all areas and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were lovely and had lovely view overlooking Monaghan cathedral although be warned if ur a light sleeper the sound if the bells may wake you early but I certainly enjoyed the room we were in. Breakfast was amazing and again staff very helpful and friendly.
If there us one negative, the mattress in our room was quite hard and 'lumpy' but thankfully there was a single bed which I had a great nights sleep. But overall lovely relaxing stay and shall be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 881MaureenW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were welcomed most warmly, was given a sumptuous bedroom with every need met.
Had extremely well cooked and satisfying meals ( the mashed potatoes were amazing).
Free wine,on the second evening
The church was beautiful....well worth a visit, open 9 am til about 4.30pm....but you may catch the lady still there later ,if you're lucky
Old Irish Bars in the town
There's a Museum too.......Five stars and more.....reception being re carpeted and refurbished whist we were there.....no problems

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgetfortyniner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently for one night. The hotel has undergone some extensive renovations and this has resulted in the most amazing job. The place is beautiful and the foyer is a place of calmness and enjoyment. It excels in comfort.
The service from the staff in the bar/lounge when we ordered our food was second to none. In all the places I have stayed I have to say the Hillgrove's staff are the best. The staff obviously enjoy working there and that seems to be reflected in their mannerism and the attentiveness that they give to the customers. I watched the young bar man polish the glasses with pride. He was a pleasure to talk too and extremely friendly.
The food was really really good, hot and tasty.... good enough to want to go back!
The reception staff were extremely helpful and again, happy to deal with us. The room was lovely and extremely clean.
Overall, this hotel is a pleasure to visit, a pleasure to eat in and a pleasure to stay in. Only a few minutes walk from the centre of Monaghan town. They can only be very proud of what they have achieved!....... I can only look forward to our next visit!.... Love it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiobhanConway1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Lovely hotel, attended a wedding there recently. But Skimpy on meat. Not the usual standard. I don't know if these their normal bar prices - Pint Carlsberg €4.90 and G & T €7.40 & Receipts not given out in bar in Ballroom. Perhaps if one asked but I don't know. The décor is grand but cost cutting seemed to be wholesale

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathT272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear KathT272
Many thanks for your lovely comments about our hotel. I am disappointed to read your comments about the hotel being skimpy on the meat as this is certainly not the case. Our banqueting team serve the food and then go around each table to ask if anyone would like seconds. To clarify the cost of your drink in the function room was Pint of Carlsberg €4.85, Gin & tonic €7.10. Your comment about cost cutting is very unfair. This year the hotel has undergone a major renovation costing the proprietors in excess of €250,000. We do hope that you will consider returning to the hotel.
Kind regards
Sharon Mcmahon
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Monaghan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
0.5 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Property: Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Address: Old Armagh Road, Monaghan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Majestically Magical' 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa is the ideal location for fabulous break away. Less than an hour's drive from Belfast and Dublin the Hotel boasts 87 beautifully decorated bedrooms, including Suites with Jacuzzis. Enjoy their fabulous Leisure Club with Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Gym & Outdoor Hot Tub. You will love their luxurious Lir Spa & Wellness Centre and Hair at Hillgrove Hair Salon. The Hotel also has a superb Restaurant, Bistro, Bars, Banqueting Suites & Conference Centre. Specialising in Girlie Breaks, Murder Mysteries, Spa Packages and Family Breaks. 7 hours Free Kids Club every weekend and daily during school holidays. Bouncy Castle, Games Room, Play Areas & Outdoor Playground. Walking distance from Monaghan Town. The Hillgrove Hotel has been Awarded as the Number One Family Hotel in Ireland, Ulster's Best Wedding Venue, is Tripadvisor's Number 1 Hotel in Monaghan and in Top 25 Hotels in Ireland. Indulge and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure And Spa
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure Hotel Monaghan
Hillgrove Hotel Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing