We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
County Westmeath, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Brillant hotel for families, our 3 kids 5,10,11 loved it here, was loads to do for kids, kids club was safe & staff at it were lovely, pool was spotless kids loved it, very funky hotel, games room a great idea for kids, food at bar was fab but too expensive kids menu was good value though € 8.50 for main course, dessert & drink plus menu had good choice kids could get half portions of adults menu, not much to do in monaghan but armagh was just 20 mins drive...we enjoyed our stay, ideal spot for families who want a relaxing break with kids enterrained in a safe kids club with lots to do...would stay again for sure..staff at reception were very friendly and helpfull,

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doolans2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    890
    278
    92
    54
    36
See reviews for
445
405
27
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

On arrival I found the hotels decor rather chavy and cheap. The hotel itself was clean and bedroom to a good standard. I was very disappointed that restaurant was not opened, staff said this was due to not being busy but yet the bar was packed and we couldn't get a seat to have a bite to eat. Breakfast brought even more disappointment, as it took staff so long to bring tea that breakfast was finished, my cutlery and cups were dirty and I had to ask for a clean seat! I do not know wot qualifies a hotel in receiving its star rating but I do not agree with this hotels star rating and as wonderful as Monaghan is as a town I will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 06harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Owner at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Harry

Thank you for your review. Regarding your comment on our decor, "cheap and chavvy", I would like to point out that one month ago, we completed a refurbishment of our reception and lobby, costing over quarter of a million euro, using some of Ireland's top designers. I was very surprised to read that the restaurant was dirty at breakfast time, as this is certainly not the norm. I can only assume that as we welcome a lot of families to the hotel, that the people who were in your seat previously, were perhaps children. But I assure you that each area is cleaned thoroughly after use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I would like to take this opportunity to acknowledge the excellant customer service provided by DIANE O'REILLY at all times.
She is a pleasure to deal with, very enthusiastic, competent and dedicated to her work.
An excellant ambassador for the hotel.
Well done and thank you
ELAINE O DOHERTY

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrickodoherty1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyrone
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed here for a friends wedding and I was very plesently surprised!! The food was delicious the decor was great the whole hotel oozed class and sophistication. The bedrooms were a great size and beds very comfy also very tastfully decorated. Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noplacelikehome61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I am home from California to attend a family wedding and Attended the hen party last weekend in the Hillgrove Hotel and I was delighted at the over all experience. The rooms are modern and very spacious, and the spa service was a real treat. On returning home to my family's house in Co Derry I realised I had forgot my purse in the room safe with some very very important personal belongs. However after calling the Hotel my immediate feelings of fear and panic were quickly changed to that of reassurance, by an amazing young man called mike. He quickly located my belonging and assured me that he would personally organise their return. Mike personally travelled across the border to Armagh to reduce the risk of my items getting lost in the post, and posted them first class to my parents home. I received my purse the next day, safe and sound. I was completely blown away by the kindness of a stranger. The flowing day I received a call from Mike just checking that I had received my package. Mike's quick actions have saved me a lot of heart ache. It is this type of kindness that makes you miss Irish people. Thank you Mike from the bottom of my heart. I will be returning to this hotel the first chance I get.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mairead O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

After checking in we went straight to the pool which was very clean there is a playground outside from the pool so the girls couldn't wait to get outside to try it out. Overall I'd say the hotel is perfect for a family break good value, clean, modern and comfortable very family friendly :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YvonneAva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I was invited to a wedding in the Hillgrove hotel and was very impressed overall. The location is beautiful, as is the decor. Everything is very modern and clean. I did not stay over so I cant comment on the rooms but if they are anything like their function rooms/ reception area then im sure they would be great. When we initially arrived we spent time in the bar which had nice unique furniture and staff were friendly. When the function room was ready and dinner was served I was pleased to see how professional the waiting staff were. Everything arrived and was cleaned promptly. We had two starters which were delicious. My only complaint is that the main course portions are so small! Two pieces of meat accompanied by two scoops of mash and one spoon of vegetables, I honestly dont understand how they could expect this to fill anyone. The gravy also was very watery and didnt taste like gravy at all! That is my only complaint and apart from that everything else was perfect. From reading previous reviews I have noticed that management become quite defensive when they receive any criticism so with all respect please realise this is constructive criticism and not intended to offend! The hotel is excellent apart from this and I had a very enjoyable evening here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Monaghan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
0.5 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
14.0 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Property: Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Address: Old Armagh Road, Monaghan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Majestically Magical' 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa is the ideal location for fabulous break away. Less than an hour's drive from Belfast and Dublin the Hotel boasts 87 beautifully decorated bedrooms, including Suites with Jacuzzis. Enjoy their fabulous Leisure Club with Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Gym & Outdoor Hot Tub. You will love their luxurious Lir Spa & Wellness Centre and Hair at Hillgrove Hair Salon. The Hotel also has a superb Restaurant, Bistro, Bars, Banqueting Suites & Conference Centre. Specialising in Girlie Breaks, Murder Mysteries, Spa Packages and Family Breaks. 7 hours Free Kids Club every weekend and daily during school holidays. Bouncy Castle, Games Room, Play Areas & Outdoor Playground. Walking distance from Monaghan Town. The Hillgrove Hotel has been Awarded as the Number One Family Hotel in Ireland, Ulster's Best Wedding Venue, is Tripadvisor's Number 1 Hotel in Monaghan and in Top 25 Hotels in Ireland. Indulge and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure And Spa
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure Hotel Monaghan
Hillgrove Hotel Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing